We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ran like clockwork” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Lanark Mill Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Lanark Mill Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Lanark Mill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mill One | New Lanark, Lanark ML11 9DB, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Attraction tickets
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Lanark
Scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ran like clockwork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I recently organised a charity theatre night, with buffet, to raise money for local youth projects. It
took place in the atmospheric New Lanark Institute with the provision of food and drink and services provided by the NLMH.
from the outset the professionalism of the Manager and the Events Coordinator was evident. The evening itself was a triumph. The 130 or so guests, and 30 cast members, received good food, and efficient service in a very convivial atmosphere. We are already planning a repeat performance. Many thanks to the NLMH.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsmanager, General Manager at New Lanark Mill Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent event held at New Lanark Mill Hotel. We all very much appreciate your positive feedback and I am delighted that you chose to hold your event at New Lanark. It was a wonderful night enjoyed by everyone who came and this success is very much contributable to yourself and your organisation. We very much look forward to being able to host this event again next year.

Once again thank you for your kind words and we look forward to working with you again in the very near future.

Kind regards,
John Stirrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    461
    161
    37
    14
    3
See reviews for
142
346
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

As International Convener of the Rotary Club of Lanark , I was charged with organising a fund raising dinner for Shelter Box on the 2nd of November 2013. NLMH was the obvious venue. The Manager, Events director and staff were outstanding in fulfilling their duties. They provided a 7 course International taster menu for 119 people which was enjoyed by everyone and not one complaint. The chef was masterful in providing a menu from around the world for all tastes including vegetarians etc. The bar was properly staffed so that no ridiculous queues formed . This resulted in the perfect atmosphere for raising funds. Thank you NLMH from the Rotary Club of Lanark.

Room Tip: This event did not involve sleeping, rooms, spa or breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsmanager, General Manager at New Lanark Mill Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent event at New Lanark Mill Hotel. We were honoured to be the host venue for your international event and delighted to be given the opportunity to cater for the people of Lanark. It was an extremely successful night all round and many congratulations must go to you and your club for raising such a tremendous amount of money for your chosen charity.

On behalf of the management and staff thank you once again for choosing New Lanark Mill Hotel and we very much hope to be able to work with you again in the future for similar events.

Kind regards,
John Stirrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel, sadly only for one night, but oh what a beautiful hotel. The room was lovely, very clean and the view was breath taking. The breakfast was excellent. just cant fault this hotel. will def stay again when in Scotland.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsmanager, General Manager at New Lanark Mill Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
On behalf of the team here at New Lanark Mill Hotel I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for awarding us with a 5 star review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay. We very much appreciate your positive feedback and are delighted that you had a very enjoyable stay.

We very much look forward to seeing you return again in the future. In the meantime please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further assistance.

Kind regards,
John Stirrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We got married in New Lanark in October and had our reception at the Mill Hotel. We travelled over from New Zealand with family for the day and it really couldn't have gone any better - lots of thanks to the super friendly staff who accommodated our every need on the lead up to the big day and during it.

We stayed in one of the suite rooms - a beautiful room on the top floor with windows down two of the walls looking out over the village. Very very comfortable. Lots of family and friends also stayed over and all were equally impressed. Some stayed in the self catering apartments which were really perfect with amazing views over the river.

Dinner and breakfast were delicious and we all made good use of the lovely pool facilities too.

Overall a faultless trip. We're hoping we can stay there again sometime soon...maybe for our first anniversary!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsmanager, General Manager at New Lanark Mill Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to feedback and share your experience of our hotel following your recent wedding at New Lanark on Tripadvisor. I am dleighted that you had a fantastic day. It was an absolute pleasure for us being able to look after you and your family on such a special day. It was also a pleasure having so many guests staying from New Zealand and we very much appreciated their kindness and warmth.

On behalf of the team may I congratulate you both on your special day and we certainly would love to see you come back next year for your first anniversary.

All the very best to you both.

Kind regards,
John Stirrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
416 reviews 416 reviews
299 hotel reviews
Reviews in 264 cities Reviews in 264 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Took advantage of the 2 night bed, breakfast and dinner package including entry tickets to the mill which turned out to be a really good deal. Had to call the hotel for directions as we ended up in the uphill car park which was empty! Once we found the hotel checkin went fine and we went up to our room which was large, very comfortable and overlooking the river. Bathroom was also large with bath and wall shower. Hairdryer and large bottles of soap, moisturizer and bath/hair gel were also provided. There was a coffee tray in the room which was well supplied. Service in the restaurant and bar was excellent and prompt and staff were very friendly. Dinner both nights was very good and our package included 3 courses which we were not quite up to. Breakfast was also very good with plenty of choice. Hotel has a small fitness centre, pool etc and a spa treatment room too. We really enjoyed our stay here and hope to return next year. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsmanager, General Manager at New Lanark Mill Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at New Lanark Mill Hotel. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay so thankyou for sharing your positive experience on the internet.

As you will be aware we do offer a number of attractively priced packages throughout the year which include dinner, bed and breakfast. I am very pleased that you were able to take advantage of this. I have already passed your review onto the team and I know that they too appreciate your feedback.

In the meantime I certainly hope to see you return in the future so please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further assistance.

Kind regards,
John Stirrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchture, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Room and facilities were very good and the mill attraction well worth seeing.
The only downside was to come back to our room to find a letter announcing that the power was to be off from 9am on tuesday morning to carry out planned work, and if a hot breakfast was wanted as the kitchen is all elecric to be down before 9am. The letter said that plenty of hot water would be available for showers even with the power off, we quiried the fact that all the taps in the bathroom were breakbeam operated only ie toilet, wash basin and shower, and were assured they would operate.
The power went off, out went the room lights and so did the water as there is no other way of operating the taps when break beam is off. No lifts were operating so access to bedrooms was only by foot, all are on the 5th & 6th floors. As we were leaving that day we had to lug our cases down the stairs. So what was a very good holiday was spoiled a little and pity the less able who needed access to rooms as the power was not scheduled to be put on again till the afternoon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsmanager, General Manager at New Lanark Mill Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to wrtie a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at New Lanark. I am of course disappointed that the power cut spoilt your stay a little. Unfortunately one or two issues did arise out of this even after the careful planning that went into it so I am sorry for any inconvenience caused.

However, overall you have awarded us with a 4 star review and have positively commented on our rooms, faciliites and the New Lanark experience. Thank you very much for this. Sometimes we can't always get it right and unfortuantely a power cut lead to that but I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,
John Stirrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have always wanted to stay at the New Lanark Mill Hotel and finally got the chance....what can I say? It was totally worth the wait!! Massive room overlooking the river, lovely clean, spacious bathroom, beautiful views, ridiculously comfy bed and brilliant facilities!!

The noise of the river outside was really soothing and didn't hear any noise from any other guests which is rare in a hotel!!

All staff were amazingly friendly and couldn't do more to help!! Breakfast was amazing also.

Did quite a bit of exploring at night and the whole village is very safe and quiet, even the badgers came out to say hello!!

Cannot wait for an occasion to come back again :)

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Lanark Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Lanark Mill Hotel

Address: Mill One | New Lanark, Lanark ML11 9DB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Lanark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Lanark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Lanark Mill Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Lanark World Heritage Site is a truly unique setting. Surrounded by native woodlands and close to the famous Falls of Clyde, New Lanark was founded in 1785 as a cotton spinning village and became famous as the site of Robert Owen's pioneering social reforms. Now beautifully restored, New Lanark is both a living community and tourist attraction. New Lanark Mill Hotel is a stunning award winning conversion from an original 18th century mill. It offers fantastic views across the surrounding conservation area and River Clyde ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your New Lanark Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Lanark Mill
New Lanark Mill Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Lanark Mill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.