We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T MISS THIS ONE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craigend Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Craigend Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Craigend Bed and Breakfast
Westoun | Near Coalburn, Lanark ML11 0NH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Lanark B&B and Inns
Pella, Iowa, United States
1 review
“DON'T MISS THIS ONE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I and two friends spent two week in Scotland and Ireland. We had great accommodations every where we went. At the end of the two weeks we voted which place had the best hostess. Heather at Craigend was our number one pick. She was always there to greet us and always there to say good-by. Every morning she would give us history of Scotland and it's people and any tip we needed. It was hard to leave the breakfast table because she was so interesting. If you are a person who wants to be left alone, I'm sure she would grant you your wish. Her aim was that you have a great stay in her country.
The beds were comfortable, and the food delicious. We loved the scenic beauty around her home. If we ever get back to Scotland, the Craigend is a sure place to spend a couple of nights. We were very pleased from Pella, Iowa.
P.S. Our trip was well researched and all the places we stayed were great. This one was special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigendBandB, Owner at Craigend Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Gosh! What a fantastic review and I am over the moon that I won your vote for 'Hostess of the Holiday'! Of course, you all made it very easy as you were such a great group to have stay and waiting to hear about your genealogy adventures was just as interesting for me too. Reviews like these are what makes my job so worthwhile and it is great to hear that I have made someones holiday extra special.
Very much looking forward to your return trip which hopefully will be easier now their are direct flights from Chicago from next year!
All the best
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
127
23
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lappersdorf, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very nice hosts, excellent breakfast with a wide choice, the rooms are equipped with love and care. Situated in very quiet surroundings. The location plan to Craigend was detailed and sufficient. We got a lovely painted location plan of the restaurants and bars nearby.

Room Tip: We lived in the room called "Eynsford", which we can highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigendBandB, Owner at Craigend Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Craigend B&B on Trip Advisor and for awarding us an overall score of 5 stars. We are delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us and sincerely hope that we might get to welcome you back again for a longer break at some time in the future....if only so you can make it up to the waterfalls at New Lanark next time ;-) We are also glad to see that you are now following us on Facebook and we hope you enjoy the posts and pictures of our part of Scotland.
Best Wishes to you both
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A thoroughly delightful B&B - if only they were all like this! The rooms were spotless with idylic views, such a welcome change from my hometown concrete jungle.
I am somewhat of a fussy sleeper when it comes to beds, but had no such problems here!
Heather was a wonderful host, nothing was too much trouble, and her breafasts are just whats needed to set you up for the day ahead. She will gladly give you tips on where to go for days out if you dont have anything planned already, and everything is within easy distance.
You really will be hard pushed to find a better B&B - I am already planning a trip back next year!
You wont regret booking at Craigend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigendBandB, Owner at Craigend Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time at Craigend B&B and thank you very much for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. It was great to have someone here to remind us how lucky we are to live in such an idyllic place and to be so enchanted by Scotland. I know your return trip next year was reliant on getting tickets for the Commnwealth Games and I wish you the best of luck with your applications.
Best Wishes
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

How often do you stay somewhere and then after leaving you think, 'Nothing is going to top that!'? Well, Craigend is that place. It's been a number of years since our first visit and finding it was even easier this time with GPS! The last bit of the drive to the B&B still felt like starting a mystery tour.

We wondered just how much had changed since our last visit. Could all those reviews on Facebook and Trip Advisor really all be correct? The answer is YES! Heather and John were even more welcoming! The rooms were even more comfortable! The breakfasts were even more tastier! And this time we stayed longer so we could go and explore some of the wonderful places mentioned in the regular Craigend Facebook updates (what a great way to keep up to date and plan your next trip!).

We were last spoilt rotten in August 2013 and looking forward to more of the same hospitality next time around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigendBandB, Owner at Craigend Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of Craigend B&B. It was such a treat to have you all back for a 2nd time and especially nice to have someone notice all the enhancements we have made to the B&B over the last few years. We hope that it will not be too long until we see you again and look forward to reading your comments on Facebook!

Warm wishes to you and your family
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuneo, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The land lord and land lady were very nice and helpful, our room was very clean.
Breakfast was well cooked, but nothing special. The position of the b&b is not the best one, because you have to drive very carefully in a one way road as if you find another car in front of you then you have to go all the way back in reverse and be careful at night time as there are no road lights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigendBandB, Owner at Craigend Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Craigend B&B on Trip Advisor. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you felt Craigend was a great B&B. I am sorry you found it was difficult to navigate Scotland’s narrower roads; I can appreciate that it must be hard when you are driving a hire car where everything is on the opposite side. We look forward to welcoming you to Craigend again in the future.
Kind Regards
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay st this facility.the rooms were very nice and the hostess wad great. She was very accommodating.she was I.interesting to talk to and she had recommendations on things to do.the rooms had very nice linens and bathrooms.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness center...couldn't erase it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigendBandB, Owner at Craigend Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this very kind review of your time here at Craigend. It was a great pleasure to have such a fun group of ladies to stay with us, so much so, it felt like we were on holiday too! If you do ever return to Scotland, we would love to have you back again.
Kind Regards
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Heather and John are excellent hosts and really know how to go the extra mile. Heather's commitment and attention to detail made for a wonderful and memorable experience as early as from the booking enquiry right up to the end of our travels in Scotland. Craigend is situated in the midst of a part of Scotland's tranquil and beautiful countryside but still conveniently close to the main roads and motorways which makes for an excellent base from which to explore Scotland. Our hosts are dedicated in making sure their guests have the best possible service and experience with superb breakfasts and in-depth travel advice. Craigend is definitely highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigendBandB, Owner at Craigend Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Craigend B&B. It is always so rewarding to receive such positive feedback so thank you for your very kind words and for awarding us with a 5 star review. We are especially pleased that you have noted your positive experience of Craigend started from when you first booked, right up to when you left.

We know this was the trip of a lifetime for you both, but if you are ever to return to Scotland, we would be delighted to welcome you back to Craigend.
Warm wishes
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Craigend Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigend Bed and Breakfast

Address: Westoun | Near Coalburn, Lanark ML11 0NH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Lanark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lanark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Gold. Member of Scotland's Best B&Bs. Here at Craigend we take the 'BED' part of Bed and Breakfast very seriously! We believe that this is one of the most important aspects of our B&B and have invested in the highest quality beds and offer guests the option to book rooms according the mattress type which suits them best. Where else could you choose whether you have a memory foam, pocket sprung or coil sprung bed? We also offer a choice of pillows and duvets to ensure that you sleep just as well here as you do at home....and in some cases...better! And as for breakfast, just read our reviews to see what our customers say about the quality of food we provide. Eggs don't come more locally sourced than from the chickens on our own garden! We endeavour to maintain the quality in all of our rooms with regular updates and refurbishments. Modern, comfortable Rooms are standard here at Craigend with all rooms being en suite and offering a choice of either double size shower cubicles or bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Craigend Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigend Bed And Breakfast Lanark, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigend Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.