We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craigend Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Craigend Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Craigend Bed and Breakfast
Westoun | Near Coalburn, Lanark ML11 0NH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Lanark B&B and Inns
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“5 stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had a wonderful 6 night stay at Craigend this month and thoroughly enjoyed it. Heather and John are lovely - very friendly and full of helpful tips to make our trips easier. We found that Craigend was an ideal base for us as we wanted to travel between Glasgow and Edinburgh.The countryside surrounding Craigend is beautiful and we slept really well in the lovely peace and quiet. Our room had a beautiful view out onto the pond. All the little extra touches are here to make you feel at home. Finally, the breakfasts - big portions and yummy. We would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing break. Jen and Andy

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigend, Owner at Craigend Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your time here at Craigend. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for all the wonderful things you have said in your review. We hope that we will get to meet you again in the future.
All the Best
Heather and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
127
23
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fruitland Park, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The owners of this gorgeous home have traveled a lot. As a result they know what service and atmosphere is necessary for a great stay. Heather always asked us the day before what we had planned so she could offer tips and maps for an even better experience. The room was perfect and the bed.....slept like a baby. Breakfast was always fresh and home made. We had a great time and would encourage anyone who is traveling in this area of Scotland to choose the Craigend B & B. The setting is in the country with no hustle and bustle, and the rooms are immaculant.

Ron & Annette McCullough

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigend, Owner at Craigend Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at Craigend B&B and so grateful that you have taken the time to review us. We loved having you both here and my, did we cover some ground on our morning chats! We hope that we will get to welcome you again in the future.
All the Best
Heather and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We wanted to spend our wedding anniversary up in Scotland, and Lanark was a town on the way.
We checked out TripAdvisor to see of any good B&Bs and stumbled upon Craigend.

The cottage is lovely and modern, with the Ardverikie room very spacious, comfortable bed, and great view over the pond and grounds.

The breakfast was tasty as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigend, Owner at Craigend Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for such a good review of your time here at Craigend. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and are only sorry we could not provide a British Wimbledon winner for you as well!
All the best
Heather and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Lovely quiet location. Beautifully furnished and decorated rooms with lovely comfy beds. Really good breakfast. Heather was lovely. Just one night this time, but we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigend, Owner at Craigend Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are so pleased to see such a lovely review of your stay at Craigend. It's wonderful to know that in such a short time we made such a good impression and we will of course be delighted to welcome you back again.
Kindest Regards
Heather and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We felt really at home during our stay at Craigend. It was great just being able to step out the door and walk over the moor and explore the surrounding countryside. Heather made us most welcome on our arrival and looked after us well – even drying my clothes after I got caught in a heavy shower. Our room was spotless, well appointed and the bed was very comfortable which, combined with the quietness of the location, ensured a good night’s sleep. Heather and John are to be congratulated for maintaining such a high standard of B & B.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigend, Owner at Craigend Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review and we are delighted you enjoyed your time here. I loved hearing your memories of the area and it was great to get some gaps in our own knowledge filled. Hopefully it won't be 50 years before you come back again and we will be pleased to welcome you again when you do.
All the Best
Heather and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Very welcoming. Rooms were exceptional, spotlessly clean and of high standard, and comfortable.
But the best thing were the breakfasts. We stayed 3 nights to explore and visit cousins.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigend, Owner at Craigend Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Gosh! What a fabulous compliment! Especially from two people so well travelled! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time here, (despite the weather!) and will be delighted to welcome you back again the next time you do some family research!
All the Best
Heather and Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Hoteliers should send their staff here to see how customers should be treated. Home from home with a professional touch. Spotlessly clean with everything you need for a comfortable B&B stay. Exceptional breakfasts !
A perfect place to stay while exploring the area. A most convenient location for an overnight stay when heading North,,,,, OR,,, South !
+ They welcome well behaved dogs.
Thankyou Heather & John for making our 2 night stay such an excellent experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigend, Owner at Craigend Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you so much for writing such a marvelous review of your time here at Craigend B&B. We are of course delighted that you enjoyed your time with us so much and that you appreciated the efforts we make to ensure our customers are happy and comfortable. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Kindest Regards Heather and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Craigend Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigend Bed and Breakfast

Address: Westoun | Near Coalburn, Lanark ML11 0NH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Lanark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lanark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Gold. Member of Scotland's Best B&Bs. Here at Craigend we take the 'BED' part of Bed and Breakfast very seriously! We believe that this is one of the most important aspects of our B&B and have invested in the highest quality beds and offer guests the option to book rooms according the mattress type which suits them best. Where else could you choose whether you have a memory foam, pocket sprung or coil sprung bed? We also offer a choice of pillows and duvets to ensure that you sleep just as well here as you do at home....and in some cases...better! And as for breakfast, just read our reviews to see what our customers say about the quality of food we provide. Eggs don't come more locally sourced than from the chickens on our own garden! We endeavour to maintain the quality in all of our rooms with regular updates and refurbishments. Modern, comfortable Rooms are standard here at Craigend with all rooms being en suite and offering a choice of either double size shower cubicles or bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Craigend Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigend Bed And Breakfast Lanark, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigend Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.