We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Lion Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added White Lion Royal Hotel to your Saves list
White Lion Royal Hotel
High Street, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7AE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bala
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Liked the look of this White Lion hotel passing through Bala after visiting the site of Frongoch, the internment camp used for the 1916 Easter rising revolutionaries, known as the Sinn Féin University.Just past the Hen shop on the left is where you find the commemmoration stone in Frongoch and perhaps a tricolour too in memory of those brave men.
Anyway, we parked at the rear of the hotel, go along the side road at the side of the hotel for said car parl.Nice little beer garden to the rear too.Check in with a cheery Liverpudlian called Eileen.Food in the bar was A1, some really good steak and some nice salmon.The bar girl was very friendly and allowed us to taste some of the beers before committing to a whole pint!This place is run by the Brains brewery and they do a very good job.Always a good sign to see locals in having dinner.
A huge family room looking west was good value for STG 90.Bathroom was also large with a bath.We had a quite room where we could hear lambs bleating outside on the surrounding hills.Breakfast was basic but a nice fry was presented to us.Early breakfast times seem to be the order of the day throughout Wales 07.30 to 09.30.Just as well we didn't plan a lie in!
On check out, the GM was at the desk and overheard me looking for a hotel in Brecon, one whose name I had forgotten.Thankfully he recommended and booked the EXACT hotel I was trying to remember, the Wellington, also a Brains brewery place.Bala is a nice town, the bookshop sold Irish history books referring to Frongoch.People in this town speak Welsh, lovely to hear minority languages alive and well.

Room Tip: To the back facing the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    66
    28
    16
    20
See reviews for
23
75
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Didn't stay in the hotel part, but visited for food & drink. A lovely Olde style pub with great Real Ales and excellent food. (The Welsh burgers are delicious). Great and friendly service too. Well recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

3 time at this hotel and we will be going back. The 3 rooms we have slept in all have character and the standard of the bathroom is high throughout with light decor. We ate in the hotel restaurant on 2 occasions as well as eating in a local Italian, which was good but they certainly can't be making much money as the portion sizes were extremely large. neither myself or my husband managed to more than 2/3rds and even that pushed it.
The hotel has a basic menu but extremely well cooked and we can recommend the pulled pork sandwish on a brown bloomer bread. It was delicious, so much so that we bought a bloomer loaf to take home with us. It is true what they say, "You get best results from local produce"

Staff are always helpful and courteous. See you next year.

Room Tip: We have had front rooms on every visit but this time 104 was set a little further back but still fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night hotel run by Brains, manager Barry easy going will help you if he can, staff very helpful, rooms basic & clean, hotel itself is rather run down could do with a lick of paint, but if you like the homely authentic feel this is the place for you, was a bit pricey for what you get but staff cover this by their helpful attitude and pleasant manor, will be using it again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here for one night. We were in a room at the front facing onto the High Street. It was a Friday night and very noisy, with load drunken people shouting in the street until very late. The room was really stuffy being top of the building so we had to have a window open. I'd definitely advise asking for a back room if you want a good nights sleep! No wifi in our room. Although the info in the room says wifi in every room. No DVD player and no hairdryer. It also states there is one of these in every room, although the the website states differently??? Place definitely in need of some TLC. Haven't been there for 15 years and looks exactly the same but shabbier.
Good points: Really comfortable bed and pillows, and great veggie breakfast complete with Glamorgan sausages. But noisy and hot is my biggest issue. Definitely overpriced for what you get we thought.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel despite the lack of competition in the area! The English / Welsh breakfast is first rate, the rooms are nice, clean and big enough, and the attached bar is lovely and cosy in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Have been for mid morning coffee and cake, the cake was shop bought and I expected fresh home made. Also had lunch there with 2 friends and it was very good food. Really disappointed by the entrance with the paint flaking off the white lions, the dated and tired decor, the dusty display cases of fish, the plastic menus, the sticky tables, and the complete lack of style, even cheap looking worn 1970's style is just so naff when it should be elegant. Very limited range of beers and ales. It could and should be special - why is it so run down?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Lion Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lion Royal Hotel

Address: High Street, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7AE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lion is situated within the Lake District of Wales. Bala water sports are world renowned. The hotel has 26 rooms fully refurbished in 2005 to a 4 star standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your White Lion Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lion Royal Bala
White Lion Royal Hotel Bala, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Lion Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.