We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saved Save
You added Y Granar to your Saves list.
Kingsize Bedroom
Other view of open plan room
Bala
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mark1978
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at Bryn Melyn Farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

This was our first experience of self catering holiday homes since our just turned one year old wouldn't have appreciated a Premier Inn room!

I was apprehensive as to how it would be at first but I needn't have worried, Bryn Melyn and Y Granar is a wonderful place.

Y Granar, as a bedroom and bathroom downstairs and a double length living room upstairs. The entire property was spotlessly clean, even in places where you'd expect a bit of dust to gather, there was none.

The whole place looked like it had been newly refurbished last week! Everything immaculate with an excellent kitchen, with all the dishes and cutlery you could ever want and a big dishwasher and washing machine.

The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep every night.

The complex itself is excellent with 4 small cottages and one big one and the big farmhouse, where I think the owner stays when it isn't rented out. But we didn't have any disturbance from other guests as there weren't any! No other cars parked and no sign of anyone else the entire time we were there so we had the place to ourselves!

The grounds consist of a large grassy area and a central courtyard and there is a walk down to the tennis court, and AFAIK you can make use of the garden of the farmhouse although I did feel like we were in someone elses front garden!

The only downside was in the morning after my wife had a shower and bathed the baby there was no hot water left for me to get showered too! But this doesn't stop me giving 5 stars and thoroughly recommending Bryn Melyn to anyone.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Newly refurbished cottage
Liked least: Lack of hot water
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Drugman19...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent party weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

What a lovely place, well equipped cottage with good facilities. Enjoyed a enjoyable weekend celebrating our friend's 50th birthday. The whole complex had been rented for a large group of friends and we all had a great weekend. Such a lovely setting.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: A beautiful setting
Liked least: The rain on the Friday we arrived
Traveling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Sukh1983
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Weekend to Remember!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We hired out all 5 of the cottages and enjoyed every minute of it! The place is isolated with a nice pub 5 minutes down the road.

The cottages were all very clean with modern furnishings, and the main cottage was a good size for our group (25 people).

Eirian was a great host, who left us to enjoy the surroundings and was quick to help out when we had questions.

We had a few issues finding the place initially, but this was down to the Sat nav directions not taking us directly to the place. We were advised before we set off to make sure we had printed instructions, which got us there safe and sound.

We arrived late on Friday, but Eirian was still around to show us the property. Throughly enjoyed our stay there, and would definitely recommend it to friends and relatives.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Quiet surroundings away from the city
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$111
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Eirian D
44
Speaks English, French, German
Listed since : Feb 2008
Response Rate: 75 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 9 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing