We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, shame about the sleep!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Priory Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Priory Hotel to your Saves list
The Old Priory Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Church Square, Midsomer Norton BA3 2HX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, shame about the sleep!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed at The Old Priory Hotel on a Saturday night to celebrate our wedding anniversary after hearing great things about The Moody Goose restaurant. The restaurant was all we'd expected it to be - delicious food, good service and reasonably priced. As we live fairly locally, staying the night was an additional treat that we now wish we'd done without. Our room was very hot and we were kept awake until 2am by the music from a nearby pub, boy racers on the high street and the couple in the room next door having a blazing row! Whilst none of this is the owners fault, it certainly spoilt what should have been a relaxing evening away for us and I would not stay there again. I would definitely go back to the restuarant though - top notch.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    13
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
44
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

Stayed overnight in this beautiful hotel - unfortunately the bed was so uncomfortable (creaked at the slighest movement and mattress with lumps that resulted in dead legs) that we simply didn't sleep. Such a shame. The breakfast was outstanding. The previous night we enjoyed a delightful meal in the restaurant - great food and service, could not fault it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Excellent food at dinner and for breakfast but I felt bedroom was a bit disappointing and in need of updating in an sympathetic way although my husband did`nt agree.Would have loved the fire to be lit in the breakfast room and the lounge as the hotel has the potential to be very cosy and romantic.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

I arranged to stay at this hotel as a birthday treat for my husband. It coincided with the opening of the xmas markets in Bath ( about 20 mins by car) and a visit to the Thermae Spa. We were greeted with a warm welcome and shown to our room where we were brought fresh milk for our tea and cake. Very nice touch.

That night we ate in the restaurant. AMAZING. From start to finish i did not want the meal to end as every mouthfull was delicious. Our waitress was attentive and helpful without being in our faces. I will talk about this meal for years to come!!

The breakfast was of equal standard with excellent choice using quality ingredients.

Three separate ladies helped us during our stay and all three went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable. I cannot rate the service highly enough.

All in all a wonderful experience. We shall def return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

Medieval hotel decorated to fit into period. Service is excellent.
Generally comfortable but the lack of a shower is a draw back. There is a hand held shower as part of the bath taps but it produces little water the temperature of which never stays the same.
Food both at breakfast and in the upmarket restaurant is excellent.
Very central for touring the area

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North yorkshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Not very well sign posted from Radstock, and in a very ordinary village, but once there The Old Priory is a wonderful place to stay. The room, The Mary Bell, was very well appointed. The Moody Goose Restaurant serves the best food I have ever eaten!!!, and we are lucky enough to eat in some very fine places. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was excellent.
Good location for exploring the area.
We are planning a return visit. What more can I say?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We stayed at The Old Priory in September 2008. It was a fantastic little hotel with wonderful rooms and a great restaurant, The Moody Goose. It's close enough to Bath to go and see all the sights and go to the Thermae Spa (which I can recommend).

My only complaint would be the location. We decided to work into Midsomer Norton for a drink after dinner one night. There were only a 2 or 3 pubs/bars, so we chose the one that looked the nicest. The others looked rough based on the clientèle hanging around them. Unfortunately the one we went to wasn't much better either.

Overall we had a good trip and I'd highly recommend a stay at the Old Priory and a meal at the Moody Goose, but I would not venture further than the front gates on foot. Use it as a base for Bath and Longleat instead.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory Hotel

Address: Church Square, Midsomer Norton BA3 2HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Midsomer Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Midsomer Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 11th-century building, 9 miles south of Bath. Award-winning restaurant, excellent base to explore Somerset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Old Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Priory Hotel Midsomer Norton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Priory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.