We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great breakfast, character but slightly tired, friendly owners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Priory Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Priory Hotel to your Saves list
The Old Priory Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Church Square, Midsomer Norton BA3 2HX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“great breakfast, character but slightly tired, friendly owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Lovely character building with beautiful gardens. Big, comfortable room but decor a little tired. Owner went out of her way to be helpful and accommodating. Best breakfast in a very long time. Hotel has a good car park right outside and only 2 minutes walk from town centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    13
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
44
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My previous experience of Midsomer Norton wasn’t great. I tried to go out with a friend there one night and the couple of pubs we ventured into weren’t exactly the most welcoming of places.

The Old Priory could be a million miles away from all that. We visited for my partner’s 50th and I was completely made up that we did. It was one of the few decent days of the summer and the effusive, warm welcome from the owners involved a well directed steer to the beautiful walled garden for a couple of drinks and a bask in the stunning surroundings.

Okay, it’s a cliché but this place is a complete oasis. Frankly, we could have been a million miles away from the town itself - it is a stunning property. Blue lias flags, a huge inglenook, ancient fireplaces and creaks and eccentricities with every step you take, just 100% my kind of hotel. Our room was equally comfortable and there were enough nods to modernity to make the night’s rest after a stunning meal (more elsewhere) gloriously comfortable.

We were treated royally throughout. Nothing was too much for our hosts and the whole experience was an absolute credit to them. Loved it…

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beer, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We would like to say a big thank you to the lovely lady from your hotel (Melanie? we think) who was so helpful to my husband and myself when we were rather lost in Midsomer Norton on Tuesday of this week and ended up in your car park. Thanks to her we saw a beautiful hotel in spectacular grounds which we have every intention of finding our way to again. With all good wishes for future prosperity and success. June and Ian Hill (West Midlands).

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Old Priory - a bit different from the norm.

Grade 2 listed building, walking back in time, positioned a quite back water off the main street in the town.

Excellent food and excellent service provided by Melody, nothing was too much trouble for her.

If you are looking for a hotel, not in the 21st century plastic hotel chain groups, this is for you.

Would stay there again, when visiting family in the town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This without doubt is the worst hotel I have stated in for dirty rooms and a foul smell throughout.

There was OLD urine stains down the toilet, no wardrobe doors with a cloth curtain instead, hung by a plastic rail nailed to the carcass.

The bathroom was grotty, paint hanging off, cracks up the walls and only a hand held shower attached to the bath taps with no wall mount so you could shower properly.

The tea/coffee etc was just thrown into the bottom of a bedside cabinet of which the door was also missing like the wardrobes.

I didn't eat in the supposedly renowned Moody Goose Restraunt as every dish on the menu contained offal which personally I can't stomach.

I was supposed to stay longer than the one night I was booked in for on business, but was so appalled by the room, and that they wanted to charge over £60 per night, I left early the next morning.

I have taken photos of all the above and have sent them to my company HQ with the advice that under no circumstances should this hotel be used in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattR63, Owner at The Old Priory Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
I am sorry that this guest did not enjoy his stay at The Old Priory; however there are a number of things in this review I strongly disagree with.

Firstly this customer did not raise any of these issues on arrival, during his stay or on checking out. In fact he gave a completely different reason for having to leave early but said it was not our fault and that his company would be happy to pay for the second night. This behaviour is not at all consistent with the subsequent review.

Secondly I would point out that the writer of the previous very positive and detailed review stayed in the same room the previous week and who commented that "the en-suite bathroom was bright and clean".

In respect of the detailed complaints:

Nobody else has been able to smell "old boiled cabbage" in this room or elsewhere. I have had a number of people doing sniff tests and we cannot duplicate this. All I can think of is that the room windows open directly on to a seventeenth century wall on which there are a number of climbing plants (roses etc) which can give off a vegetation smell when damp. Most people find this acceptable if not actually pleasant.

The rooms are cleaned after each guest departs by experienced staff and then checked by someone else. Because this guest did not raise any issues before the room was recleaned I could not verify the stain allegation - his photograph is not particularly clear. All I can say is it was "bright and clean" the week before he arrived and it was clean after I went to check his allegation.

In terms of the bathroom decoration there is a crack in the corner of one wall - the wall in question is over 300 years old, is Grade 2 star listed and probably deserves a little latitude. There was a small amount of paint peeling around the window. Yes this particular bath/shower doesn't have a wall attachment - however we have rooms with such showers and had this customer asked to be moved to such a room we would have been more than happy to accommodate him.

The furniture is as it was designed and is supposed to be in keeping with the period nature of the property. There is no door missing from the bedside cabinet and the tea/coffee making equipment is placed on a tray which is then put inside the cabinet.

The easiest allegation to refute is the offal comment. In our restaurant we have a choice of six starters and six main courses - a total of twelve dishes. On the night in question of those twelve dishes only three contained any elements of offal - duck liver on one starter and ox tongue and rabbit on two mains. In each case these were only a secondary element of the dish which the chef is always happy to remove if requested to do so. I am really at a lost to explain how this customer could comment that every dish contained offal and this is demonstrably untrue.

Our hotel is regularly used by several large well-known local companies who think we offer something different to the usual hotel chains - I am sorry that this particular customer could not appreciate those differences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in early May 2013. I booked it by calling the hotel, rather than use a 3rd party website, and got an email confirmation within an hour. We paid £115 per night bed and breakfast.

When we arrived on Monday lunchtime we were given a choice of rooms, and we chose ‘Christchurch’ which is at the front over the porch. The room was good and clean, but a bit crepuscular with dark blue wall paper and flat screen TV. The en-suite bathroom was bright and clean, with a hand held shower, and squeeze-bottle toiletries. If you want cake soap it might be an idea to bring your own. Towels face clothes and hair drier are provided. The other room on offer had a wall mounted shower. 'Christchurch' was a quiet room and we slept well. There is free wireless broadband, but I couldn’t get my smartphone to pick up a WiFi signal. Mobile phone reception is good.

When we arrived we ordered a plate of sandwiches from proprietor Melody and a coffee and ate them in the garden. The garden is large and pleasant to sit in when the weather is good.

The hotel is in a quiet location and is sign posted from the west end of the High Street, by the big church, and has ample private parking out front, which you can see in attached photo. I have also attached a photo of the garden.

The hotel restaurant is not open Sunday or Monday evenings. Midsomer Norton itself isn’t up to much. The High Street has a river/stream running the length it, which could be quite picturesque if the town put a mind to it. There are some eateries: the usual Indian/Chinese/Thai places, but they didn’t look very inviting, so on the Monday night we drove down to Bath where there is plenty of restaurants open on a Monday night.

The other three nights we ate in the hotel restaurant. This is very good quality in a ‘nouveau cuisine’ way (we had to resort to Google to find what some of the ingredients were!), and not cheap, though they do a cheaper ‘brazzerie’ menu for guests staying at the hotel. We spent around £240 for meals, wine, coffee, beer, sherry and spirits, (and sandwiches on the first day) between the two of us over the three evenings. The chef should produce a book of his recipes, some of it we’d like to try ourselves at home.

The hotel itself is ancient, with flagstone floors and oak beams, and inglenook fireplaces. The Priory dates from the 12th century, but the current hotel building seems to date from the 16th century. There’s an interesting history to read in the blurb in the room.

The hotel is nicely located for touring to Bath, Wells, Glastonbury, Cheddar Gorge, Frome etc. Apart from those places we also were quite taken by Stourhead House and Garden (south of Frome); Lacock Village and Abbey an hour’s drive the other side of Trowbridge; and Prior House Garden south of Bath and overlooking Bath (NB, no car park there!). If you go to Frome go to the museum and pick the heritage walk guide, there’s some interesting sites in Frome.

Room Tip: Book by calling the hotel direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A warm welcome when we arrived, a complimentary upgrade of room, free wifi, a very comfortable bed, safe car parking, an excellent breakfast with plenty of choice and extremely hot coffee, and a very interesting potted history of the lovely old building - what more could we ask for? Thank you Matthew and Melody, we shall be back x

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory Hotel

Address: Church Square, Midsomer Norton BA3 2HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Midsomer Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Midsomer Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 11th-century building, 9 miles south of Bath. Award-winning restaurant, excellent base to explore Somerset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Old Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Priory Hotel Midsomer Norton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Priory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.