We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and lovely staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Priory Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Priory Hotel to your Saves list
The Old Priory Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Church Square, Midsomer Norton BA3 2HX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We live locally and had wanted to try the Moody Goose restaurant in the hotel for a long time and we decided to stay the night too for my husband's birthday.
The Old Priory is a beautiful building and the garden is lovely. The room was fine, it was typical of the country house hotel type a little tired looking and the bed probably needed a new matress. The only thing that bothered me was the bath with the hand held shower, I don't know how many people want to have a bath in a hotel I certainly don't so I really need to remember to ask the shower question when I book a room.
The food is fantastic here as are the staff and it really made our stay.
Midsomer Norton does not have a great deal to offer but if you're visiting the area it's handy for Bath, Bristol and Wells.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    13
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
45
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

fantastic food and good firm mattress. Good service and pleasent staff. Food a little expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights eating in the restaurant on our first night. As other reviewers have said the service was lovely. Really attentive and very friendly. Our room was well furnished and the bathroom well laid out with a good shower over the bath. Also as others have mentioned the building and beds are VERY creaky and bed not the most comfy. Breakfast; superb quality.
The moody goose restaurant: marvellous ! From start to finish excellent food,excellent attentive but not intrusive service.
Not as expensive as I would've thought for such a nice meal.
Midsomer norton; as others have said it a little run down quiet little place with very little to offer apart from the moody goose but it's an excellent base to tour this part of the country

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Spent one night here. It is a beautiful old building with beams and beautifully furnished - looks good from outside too. Our room was quite nice, not the smartest room we have ever stayed in but rather old fashioned, crisp sheets (and blankets!). The problem we found was the noise from other rooms, the person above only had to walk across the room and the whole ceiling creaked, it was very hard to get to sleep because of this. The people in the next room were talking and we could hear every word! I don't think our room neghbours were being especially noisy it was more that every sound could be heard. On the plus side, the breakfast was beautiful, the quality of the food and the service was exceptional. We did not eat in the Moody Goose the previous evening but having tasted the breakfast we think we missed a treat! Incidentally, there is nothing in Midsomer Norton at all, it is not even quaint - nowhere to get a half decent meal unless you want a takeaway! It sounds like it should be a pretty little town but it is not!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

stayed here in March 11, and dined 2 nights at the moody goose {see separate review} The hotel is tucked away in the centre of midsomer Norton. Not exactly a picturesque village but the Hotel makes up for that. While we were unpacking and settling in to the Schoolroom, which is a very generous sized 4 poster room,our hostess was making us a cup of tea with home made biscuits. Our room was warm and comfortable if a little creaky with a large bathroom and a very nice comfy 4 poster bed.
We had our cup of tea in the lounge which has a large fireplace,old oak beams and sofas with plump cushions.
The next morning we went down to breakfast and was greeted by our hostess who served us with the most fantastic breakfast .
We would like to thank Stephen and Jenny for a fabulous stay, and look forward with anticipation to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

stayed at guesthouse with colleagues for three weeks, we found it comfortable , always warm, good shower facilities, lovelly food ,friendly and helpfull staff ,clean rooms, and always made to feel welcome, good value for money,, definatly come again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

The hotel was lovely, very very old and quaint on a way only British hotels can be However, I agree with a previous review about the room, Mary Bell. I can truly say it is the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. It is like sleeping on straw and it creaks very loudly with every move which not only keeps you awake but probably every one else as well. If the owner spent a night in that bed it would be replaced the next day! The welcome was warm, the facilities fine and the restaurant unrivalled - I would go back to eat but not to stay in case of another sleepless night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory Hotel

Address: Church Square, Midsomer Norton BA3 2HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Midsomer Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Midsomer Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 11th-century building, 9 miles south of Bath. Award-winning restaurant, excellent base to explore Somerset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Old Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Priory Hotel Midsomer Norton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Priory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.