We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but needs aircon!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Centurion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Centurion Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Centurion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charlton Lane | Midsomer Norton, Midsomer Norton BA3 4BD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Midsomer Norton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice room but needs aircon!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The room we stayed in was a lovely room located on the ground floor but our visit was spoiled due to the lack of air conditioning in the room. We stayed for three nights and the heat in the room was horrendous. Whilst it was very hot outside on a cooler a day it was still hotter inside the room than outside. Sleeping was difficult due to the heat and every day even the cooler days we were sweating before even leaving the room...it took much longer to get ready as we tried to maintain our temperatures before we left the room but it was impossible. A small fan had been provided but it really did nothing. We had been attending a wedding in a near by village and other guests who were staying in this hotel had said the same about there rooms. It was unfortunate that on the day of the wedding that we had to leave our rooms bedraggled from the heat before we had even got there! On the last day of our stay we stayed in an air conditioned room in Bath.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    102
    37
    14
    8
See reviews for
67
130
11
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here on the recommendation of a business partner in the area whilst on a business trip.

The hotel is located in Midsomer Norton which is nice enough but it has the air of one of those places that sits uncomfortably with visitors 'not from these parts'.

The hotel is itself is a bit 1980s and judging by the local clientele, it's just how they like it.

The rooms are acceptable but little or no ventilation and no air conditioning which in the middle of the heat wave was very uncomfortable.

The food in the evening and at breakfast was actually the highlight, much better quality than I would have expected for a cheap hotel.

The biggest issue with this hotel is it's attitude to business travellers. I booked 4 rooms in anticipation for myself and colleagues. Two of them could not stay so I cancelled these on the morning of the day of reservation.

In any other business hotel this would have been perfectly fine and since business turns on a ten-pence these days, that's why most hotels allow on the day cancellations before a sensible time. This one not and the cancellation price, the entire room charge 2 times over in this case.

Very very unsatisfactory for a modern hotel and really quite annoying with a somewhat indifferent attitude from the staff!

All told and if you are not a local and on business, avoid this place like the plague and stay in Bath. Besides anything else, you'll get a nicer more modern hotel room that's business friendly and you'll be able to go out in the evening for a nice dinner without being stared at with morbid curiosity!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Me and my fiancé stayed here for 2 nights as were going to Longleat Safari Park the following day. What can I say Amazing. The service was excellent, our room was clean crisp and fresh and overlooked the gardens and the huge golf course. Tea and coffee making facilities and a fan were available in the room. One our first night we went in the hot tube, steam room and sauna which was fab. We also ordered room service and the food was hot and fantastic. The second night we went down to the restaurant and had the most amazing meal. The prices are a little expensive but the food is worth it. I have to say my favorite part of the whole experience has to be Breakfast! It is exquisite my fiancé has the full English which he recommends and I had the salmon and scrambled egg which is amazing! Its best food we have tasted in a long time! Defiantly will be coming back and a defiantly recommend to anyone who is wanting a hotel in this area. Plus if you are visiting Longleat Safari they do a great deal!!! Thank you to everyone there! :D

Room Tip: 217! Beautiful view plus powerful shower! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed there for a weekend wedding break. Our family of 9 stayed in this hotel for one night only on a Saturday night and I must say, I was pleasantly surprised. Rooms are a good size, nice clean bathrooms and very friendly staff at breakfast, which was of good quality.
Nice view at breakfast over the golf course.
Lovely place for a weekend break......

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

No air conditioning in this hotel, apart from the small conservatory/dining room. We arrived on a hot day and the rooms were like green houses.
The cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired too. There were dead blow flies on the door ledge/floor in the above dining area that were still there on the second day. The skirting boards are stained and dirty in this area. The main dining room is small with only a few wooden tables; we were told to wait until a table became vacant at breakfast, when the other conservatory was empty apart from one couple already in there eating! It seemed chaotic, the staff were nice but untrained.
We sat outside on the verandah and the view towards the golf course is lovely; but turn around and look at the hotel and you are greeted with filthy facia boards and broken guttering-an easy thing to put right. The paint work is flaking and in need of a good overall. The swimming pool tiles above the water line were dirty.

Room Tip: Dont go when hot weather is forecast-you wont sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here as a family, booking 2 rooms next to each other. The check in was very efficient and we were very happy with our rooms. A mini fridge would have been ideal but the fan was really appreciated in the heat wave. Everything was clean and well kept. Indoor swimming pool was very pleasant.

The restaurant was very good for families and we spent a coupe of evenings on the terrace overlooking the splendid golf course. Nice breakfast buffet too and they made our young sons very welcome which made the weekend very relaxed. I really wasn't expecting such a nice hotel from Best Western but I would highly recommend it to anyone who needs a good base in this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I live locally and had heard good words so went out for dinner with my partner to the cubros restaurant (and Jays bar next door for drinks after) and can only praise the staff for all their efforts.

The menu covers anything you could want. I had a delicious chicken dish with veg and an amazing sauce and my other half had the steak followed by an espresso and three miniature desserts which were all equally yummy!

The staff were really helpful and checked to ensure we were enjoying our meals. I must particularly thank Kris, the restaurant manager who made us feel very welcome and tended to our every need! The waiting staff were all lovely too.

I sent my thanks to the chef and then moved on to the bar along the hall for a few drinks. The bar lady (Harriet I think) was kind and genuine and had a constant smile in her face, which was lovely to see; her demeanour didn't change as the evening progressed.

It wasn't excessively busy but the staff were always available for any queries or more drinks.

I would come here again, if not only for the food and ambient atmosphere but for the exceptional service too!

Thanks for a lovely night!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Centurion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Centurion Hotel

Address: Charlton Lane | Midsomer Norton, Midsomer Norton BA3 4BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Midsomer Norton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Midsomer Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Centurion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Centurion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Midsomer Norton
Midsomer Norton Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Centurion Hotel Midsomer Norton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Centurion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.