We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another successful trip to Trecco!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthcawl
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park
Save
You added Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park to your Saves list
Porthcawl | Mid Glamorgan, Porthcawl CF36 5NG, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another successful trip to Trecco!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We have been to Trecco Bay a number of times in the last few years and it still ticked the important boxes. Cheap, child friendly and not too far away.

We stayed in Meadows 1 which is a 2 bedroom lodge not a caravan. It is situated near the main entrance in a fenced in area of about 8 lodges. Only one is owned by parkdean. We had a lot more space than in a caravan, a dishwasher, a bath, an ensuite shower room and a washer-dryer. The accomodation was clean and the decor modern but just not quite as funky as the contemporary lodge caravans. (Alders 1 and 2).

We booked on line and saved £10 but next time i will phone Trecco as i want to choose exactly which accomodation i have. There is only 1 3-bedroom contemporary lodge caravan but when you book online for a two-bedroom contemporary unit you may be allocated the caravan or the lodge.

We took advantage of the early season offer to go for 3 nights in a contemporary lodge as these are only normally available for 7 night stays. It cost £272 for 4 people. Me my husband, six year old and grandma. This is cheap in my book. The park was quiet and some of the kids shows hadn't started but the weather was fantastic so my six year old just played on the climbing frame (while i had a latte!), scooted along the sea front ( while mum and i talked and walked) and he played on the beach for hours! We'll save the soft play and swimming pool for a rainy day.

The coast restaurant served fantastic Sunday lunch . We got there early as it does get busy later. Then spent an hour playing mini golf as a family. I even needed sun cream in March!!!

A very relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    206
    98
    38
    61
See reviews for
383
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

When we arrived at the park we were surprised how nice it looked and recalling that we had read that they had recently had a £7 mill refit, we did attend the park in term time March so we knew it would be quite however sometime this is good when you have young children.

We got our caravan key an 8 berth Willerby, although we opened the door to a copper pipe, no water and a broken toaster we were a bit concerned but the van was excellent with heating in every room and very clean and comfortable.
We were soon on our way out to take the children to the kids clubs in where we thought it would be in the showdome, however it was taking place in the timeout over 18's bar as there was not many guests.

The children's entertainment was very poor and the members of staff looked scruffy in polo shirts, my eight year old was not impressed with the musical bumps and chocolate bar game! It was a low cost entertainment show that did not cater for a mixed age bunch of children.

The following day we spent a fortune in the amusements where children are leered into spending lots of money to win tickets for prizes, none of witch they could collect as 500 tickets would get even a rubber ball, To enter the swimming pool you have to go through the amusements, £20 later we all got changed and strait away the lifeguard blew his whistle (even though he was only a few steps away) to stop us taking a rubber ring in to the pool as it was not one sold behind th counter, that was it form then they shouted at us and the other guests throughout the hour we were there shouting at my daughter for sitting on side so she could catch her breath with me beside her, my son standing on the side putting his goggles on. I thought at one point they would ask us to stop enjoying our selfs, we told the manager we thought that safety is important however it was a little heavy handed he then told me that his pool is policed properly and no other pool is!

The park is full of rules and regulations, to the point that we wanted to go home early if your child is not 4 and 344 days old forget it they cannot have fun.

Finally the Coast resterant is treated like a staff canteen holding business meetings, job interviews workmen running round shouting down there radios not an atmosphere you want to eat in.

A real let down, will not be going again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands. UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

With my fiance and daughter (18 mths) we stayed here as part of the Sun's £9.50 holidays. Normally we would not holiday in a caravan as it is not our thing, but as we could not afford a holiday this year we would have a cheap getaway. So we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The weekend we choose had gale force winds and hailing rain, so we were expecting the worse.

- The site has been revamped or is fairly new as all of the areas are in good order
- Our caravan was very well equipped with adequate heating
- We used the fish and chip shop (good) and restaurant (good)
- The indoor swimming pool was great
- All staff were very helpful and pleasant
- Booking in and leaving was straight forward
- The local beach was pretty
- Near enough to visit Cardiff, or Swansea
- Shops onsite have all you need

In all we could have been lucky but came away relaxed and refreshed from a great break.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

My wife, son and I make the short journey to Trecco Bay each year and were rather disappointed with the caravan. Paid over £300 for a five day break but after seeing the stains on the carpet and the filthy kitchen I feel that £30 would have been a rip off. Also the cupboard handles were broken and e found dirty tissues and cotton buds from the previous holiday makers.

The facilities on-site are excellent but I have to admit the state of the caravans need to be addressed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

I spent a number of years in porthcawl, having the opportunity to live close to natural countryside, beaches and the fun fair and trecco bay holiday park on my doorstep.
Not alot for younger elements now days in my opinion, however, the amusements of the pavillion, icecream, fair and trecco are still an interest.

Living in trecco bay

I spent some time in trecco bay in a rented caravan and found it to be an invaluable experience and alot of fun, alot of private rented caravans are still available aswell as ones managed by the parkdean holidays booking at reception.
Treccco Bay is the principal caravan park owned by Parkdean holidays in Porthcawl, it is in the suburb of Newton, if walking from Coney Beach, past the fairground, hightide, sandy beach and trecco bay is in front.

Pros: "Coney Beach, trecco Bay, Lovely welsh cakes, Rest Bay"
Cons: "Quite expensive to live and to eat."
In A Nutshell: "A nice seaside town with a unique promeade"

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

i have just returned with my family from a week at trecco bay we wer verry disapoynted with the attrctions on site the last time we wer ther was 2007 and ther was so much for the kids to do on site they had trampoleens miny moterbikes go karts inflatable slide
none of this is ther any more and its so wrong it just isent a hoiday camp any more
all ther is is a golf corse and dozens of gambling machines its a verry poor show
as we do not want our children to gamble day and night we just want them to have fun
just like it used to be yours j swift

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neath
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

Stayed at Trecco for the first time and had an excellent time. Check in was quick and painless, the site and the caravan were spotless and the staff friendly. We were located right next to all the amenities and didn't see the children (aged 8,9,11 &12 years) as they were always out enjoying themselves. The pool was lovely and very well patrolled by lifeguards, the only advice I have is for parents with young children to check the ratio of children:parents before going, we saw many children crying at the side of the pool because they required an adult with them and lots of stressed parents having to deal with the crying children!
We had to call security one night as a group of youngsters were making a racket at 1am, they arrived in 5-10 mins and moved them on with no problems. The site felt very safe and the security presence was visible and comforting.
The beach is right at the bottom of the park and just a few minutes walk away, we enjoyed walking on the sand and investigating the rock pools. All in all a really great holiday!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park

Address: Porthcawl | Mid Glamorgan, Porthcawl CF36 5NG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Porthcawl
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One fantsatic big family fun park!You bring the family - we'll supply all the entertainment with crazy kids' clubs, our fabulous Splashland indoor pool, wet and wild outdoor play, bowling, bingo and basketball. And that's just for starters! When you're not whizzing down zip wires and watching live shows, you're only a hop, skip and a jump from a blue flag beach and countless other fantastic visitor attractions. * One of the UK's largest holiday parks * Right on the edge of a lovely Blue Flag beach * Explore the Glamorgan Heritage Coastline * Fantastic Splashland pirate themed pool * Live Showtime Entertainment every night ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trecco Bay Holiday Park Hotel Porthcawl
Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park Porthcawl, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkdean - Trecco Bay Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.