We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Coffee” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairways Hotel

Fairways Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fairways Hotel to your Saves list
Fairways Hotel
West Dr, Porthcawl CF36 3LS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Porthcawl
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced Coffee”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Called in on 8th October for a quick coffee with a friend and to view the new Orangery.

Coffee way over priced £3.60 for a standard latte. When we complained, waiter said it was a large Latte (no bigger than a standard Latte everywhere else). On top of the price, it wasn't even that nice (harsh & Bitter).

Stayed in the Celtic Manor on the weekend, where the Latte was the same size, came with a selection of high quality biscuits and cost less. The same goes for the St David's Hotel in Cardiff.

5 star hotels cheaper than a small seaside town hotel, Ridiculous !!

As a resident of Porthcawl, we want see our establishments improve their offering, but at what price. Come on Fairways, don't price yourself out of the market, the Piccolo bar wins hands down for me, for better coffee and better value. View equally as nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    18
    13
    11
    3
See reviews for
15
30
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Been eating out in the Fairways for many years however,since the 'Orangery' has been put up so has the prices.
I could not believe the increase in prices obviously someone has to pay for this extention.
Deep fried haddock with a few chips and a ramakin of mushy peas £14.95 COME ON we paid something like £10.95 before the extention.My husbands meal was the worse Seabass £16.95 for one small fillet over cooked, and a dollop of potato with leek and that was it no veg or anything ,I can buy a fillet of seabass in m&s for £5 max .
Will not be going there for a meal again better value in other establishment near by.
I am sorry to have to say these things but very dissapointed after many years of lovely food and fairley priced at the Fairways.

Room Tip: havent' stayed here live near by we use this establishment to eat only
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

2 of us spent a weekend at Fairways as a convenient stop between Cardiff and Swansea where we were visting friends. The staff were consistently helpful, the food was excellent. We had a very hot room the first night, but they changed us without any fuss to another room, after which we discoevred that someone had turned off a valve in the system by mistake. There was also a big incident that wasn't the hotel's fault in any way for which they compensated me for - much to my surprise. I do appreciate receiving such good service from a friendly and helpfull staff who wnet out of their way to make our stay as comortable as possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgend
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Simply wrong at all levels, staff tried , but the were just gradually sinking as the night went on ... anf the real problem lies behind the scenes in the kitchen.

Starters: chiritzo & scallops arrived with the chiritzo cut in 2" thick triangles looking anaemic on the outside, therefore raw in the middle! what chef would attempt this and then send it out regardless?

Mains: Slow cooked belly pork should not be tough, with soggy skin, and the well-done lamb cutlets ( i know buts thats the way they were ordered) arrived bleeding from the middle(a little too pink for the count even) was sent back to the kitchen(took 15 minutes to reappear).

Mind you for entertainment value it wasn't bad - one table the food arrived before the guest with a waitress wandering around not understanding why there was no one apparently awaiting the food, and then trying to serve it as they were sitting down.

Or the table of 3 who all had Pate, one with the advertised toasted soda bread, then the next with brown bread and butter (sorry out of soda bread) and the third with white bread (sorry out of brown bread).

The new conservatory is nice enough but gave the feeling of eating in the foyer should be nicer in the summer, not so sure the food will.

To round off an uneventful meal poor quality vanilla ice-cream with supermarket wafers and twirl and another long wait for the bill (20 minutes) which came to £25.00 a head ... they saved the biggest joke until the end.

Room Tip: we only ate but the hotel restaurant is not registered on TA
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Absolutely Fantastic Service From All Staff The Room Looked Stunning And As We Wanted It To Be ...... The Buffett WOW WOW What We Say It Was Absolutely Amazing And Could Not Believe The Quantity The Quality Was Top Top !!! The staff are very professional at the same time as quite laid back and friendly which in my opinion our Experience was so much better..... Our Hotel Room was stunning with a stunning view over the beach ... Highly Recommend The Fairways Hotel to any One ... Thanks To All Staff For Making Our Day That Extra Bit Special :) xxx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

5 of us went to the Fairways by chance for Sunday Lunch on a bank holiday weekend. The restaurant was fully booked, but the hotel staff were happy to accomodate us in the bar. The carvery was very tasty, plenty of it and reasonablyt priced at £9.95 for adults and £4.50 for children. Staff were very friendly, all of which made for a good lunch. Definately go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Looks a mess from the outside as work is being done there, but the inside is lovely and the food was stunning. Think it's a new menu and the building is going to look stunning when the work is finished

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways Hotel

Address: West Dr, Porthcawl CF36 3LS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Porthcawl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fairways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Hotel Porthcawl, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairways Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.