We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SERVICE AT THIS HOTEL IS TERRIBLE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthcawl
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl
Sea Front, Porthcawl CF36 3LT, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Porthcawl B&B and Inns
Porthcawl
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“SERVICE AT THIS HOTEL IS TERRIBLE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

My Wife and I live local to this hotel and decided to visit there for a meal for my 66th Birthday, I had booked well in advance and arrived on time, we were shown to our seats at 7.30pm, the bad service then became apparent because it was 7.50 before a waitress came and asked if we wanted a drink, we waited for another 15 min before the drinks arrived, in total it was over two and a half hours before they served us our two course meal.

The meal was very dry and for the price charged was very dissapointing, we were charged over £9.00 for two glasses of very cheap french wine, the total bill being over £45.00.

I do not mind paying for good service and good food! This hotel did not give either, even when I complained to the barman who took our money he was not interested.

This would be the last place in porthcawl I would ever choose for a meal again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    38
    20
    13
    8
See reviews for
30
40
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

What a pleasure to meet such pleasant and helpful staff. We arrived in transit to the ferry looking for an overnight stay and some food. The restaurant was about to close. They opened it again for us, provided a great meal and a room at a reduced rate. What a service. That's the way to run a business. The neighbouring hotel could provide no food and a far more expensive room. OH, and the full English breakfast was first class.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

Called here for coffee in afternoon and were quickly served this,by pleasant waiter.
Would definitely recommend this for future use.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

Hotel average to poor rooms as stated not clean and cheaply decorated.
It would benice to raise a smile from the staff but it seems indifference is the order of the day.
Restaurant employes students who try but have not been trained - it may be necessary to take your own corkscrew as the wine we ordered did not have a screw top and it was a while before they were able to open it.
Had been before and it was fine but it seems they no longer wish to maintain the standard just take your money.
Am now looking for somewhere else to stay in locality as the area is beautiful

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

Stayed one night at the Atlantic and was allocated the smallest room I have ever slept in in a hotel, even taking into account bargain hotels in Paris and London.

The bathroom was also tiny and with the door open you couldn't physically get around the bed as the door blocked the way through. The shower was so small that to stand in it and not be pressed against the glass door, it meant you were behind the flow of water from the shower head! All this was in addition to the regular noise of what I presume was the pump to provide water pressure.

The bed was pretty poor and breakfast was nothing to shout about either. My colleague had a much bigger room which was at the same room rate so that made it even more annoying.

Suffice to say I won't be returning, however, I would strongly advise that anyone booking a room asks for a large room to avoid the one I had.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

We had a weekend break at the hotel in October and were extremely happy. The room was lovely and we had an excellent Sunday lunch. My husband said that it was the best breakfast that he has ever had in a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

Location of the hotel is obviously great but hmmm, that's about it. The rooms were small, poorly decorated, fixtures were very cheap or tired, carpets were stained, the staff were bog standard (apart from one young girl on the Saturday breakfast shift who was very pleasant/excellent) and to be quite honest the price tag of £80 per night for a bog standard double ... we felt truly felt ripped off.

The double beds were very small (at 5ft8 my feet were near dangling off the end) and the mattress lumpy. The walls are like cardboard so you can hear absolutely everything from each side and above. The website quoted "Welsh" breakfast was actually just an English breakfast ... not the best, particularly as the poached eggs i asked for looked like they had been shown a whiff of heat and were therefore inedible due to the "snot".

For the price tag I would have expected so much more and was sorely disappointed.

There were a number of us staying for a friend's wedding and every one had something negative to say about the place. Would not recommend this hotel as it is very poor value for money - you would be best placed booking a quaint little b&b which will probably be cheaper and much more accommodating - we wish we had!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl

Address: Sea Front, Porthcawl CF36 3LT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porthcawl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl to your Saves list