We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but a few pointers.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthcawl
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl
Sea Front, Porthcawl CF36 3LT, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Porthcawl B&B and Inns
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OK but a few pointers.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed here on business late August. The staff were very friendly throughout my stay and the room comfortable, clean with superb sea views. The wardrobe in the room was in bits and the walls a bit on the thin side but there you go.

The hotel restaurant was good; the food OK but nothing special. The breakfast was a grease fest. Not nice and I left most of it. The wifi, which was free did not wok in my room. It only worked within the bar area, so bear that in mind you business users who need it!!

Room Tip: I would guess that the WIfi works best on rooms on the ground and first floor. If you need it avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    38
    20
    13
    8
See reviews for
30
40
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed recently whilst on business; the room was modern, clean and very comfortable. Food was excellent - very good value for money. Restaurant overlooks the seafront and service was quick. I would definitely stay again and have already recommended to work colleagues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

in Porthcawl due to work commitments and was suprised with hotel, rooms recently refurbished, everything seemed to new and could still smell the paint. food was better than expected and for around £68 for bed breakfast and evening meal couldn't really complain.

although the owners need to look at the handles on the doors of the rooms, I was locked out of room from 10pm to 11pm awaiting someone from maintenance to arrive, they did by taxi!

Room Tip: make sure the door handle works!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Lovely hotel with excellent service, good sea views and fantastic food. The room was spacious, spotless and welcoming with a large comfortable bed, good range of complementaries, huge bathroom with jacuzzi style tub. The food is fantastic and I've returned on several occasions for meals. There's a small amount of private parking at the back and plenty of free street parking a long the seafront. I can wholeheartedly recommend staying at the Atlantic.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We went for a meal SAT/ .The lady in pink jeans and pink top was very polite,but that is where it Stoped.The menue not good ,not what we expected.We didnt eat our meal,it was very poor.When i confronted the staff ,i was told they were very busy,we
were charged £60 I will not go back ,but i dont think this bothers them at all.Please listen to your diners Atlantic

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

we have been visiting this hotel for a number of years now, making the most of their Booze and Snooze package. We have a sea view room which is spotless, with tea & coffee making facilities. The food is great, plently of choice and the portions more than enough. The staff are helpful and very friendly. Its a good place to stay while you discover that part of the country. We booked up for next year before we left.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Have stopped at this hotel on the Booze and Snooze package which is extremely good value arriving on a Friday afternoon and leaving on a Sunday morning. We usually stop in room 23 which has a lovely seaview and is tastefully appointed.

The food is delicious and plentyful and the staff attentive and friendly.

Porthcawl itself is a very unassuming place and makes an ideal base from which to travel to other parts of Wales.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl

Address: Sea Front, Porthcawl CF36 3LT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porthcawl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Atlantic Hotel Porthcawl to your Saves list