We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coach trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seabank Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Seabank Hotel to your Saves list
Seabank Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esplanade, Porthcawl CF36 3LU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Porthcawl
manchester united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“coach trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Another coach trip with Alfa, single traveller, yet again I found this holiday very good. Food was good. Bedroom did need a little TLC but the bathroom had been done to a good standard. Water always hot and shower good. Manager says the room is being done this winter. Seaview ok. but I think the bed would be better on the other wall, mentioned this to manager. Staff very pleasant. Entertainment was good. This was aTinsel and Turkey holiday, hotel done likewise and good value for money. Would certainly go again on one of these trips. Find Alfa very good and have booked gain.

Room Tip: All seaviews seem very nice and bright furniture
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    44
    29
    11
    17
See reviews for
19
54
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This place is over 100 years old and is a two star hotel. It has loads of character eg the lift has carpet walls etc very rare to see. Yes some rooms could with an upgrade especially the toilets however I enjoyed my stay and the staff were very nice. They will struggle in future years unless they sort out wifi in the rooms and just love the place a bit more. Opposite the beach. I actually would stay again because its rare . Very interesting . 4 str on trip advisor is generous maybe 3 but I actually did have a time nice ! Great bar as well

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed the night of the Barbara Dixon concert. The price of the sea-view room (£76) was non- negotiable; it was "set by headquarters". The room was large but, like the whole place, in need of a large amount of TLC. The best part of our short stay, in sharp contrast to several other reviews, was the breakfast. It was of very good quality and was served quickly even though the breakfast room was full at the time. Whatever you do, don't go in the lift! It was the first thing we did as we were on the third floor and it probably clouded (almost literally!) our perceptions from then on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

absolutely terrible, breakfast poor - dirty cutlery, wallpaper falling off walls, dirty, broken bathroom fixtures, graffiti on the walls. staff no where to be found, and when they do arrive are rude, unhelpful, incompetent and untrained. plenty of other hotels and guest house nearby - try anywhere other than here.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Had a pleasant four night stay here. Initial problem with hot water,none existent,but got sorted after a day.Food very good,staff very cheery and efficient. Sea view room was good.Would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is the third stay that we have had at the Seabanks hotel and as usual we enjoyed ourselves.The hotel was up to its usual high cleaning standards and some room improvements had taken place since last year(we ask for the same room every year).It was nice to see that the entertainment had been stepped up a notch again last year the great Ben Portsmouth did a set in the lounge this time he and Ben Thompson both put on a brilliant show on both the Friday night and Saturday night in one of the function rooms. The bar staff ran themselves ragged both nights but served with a smile and were very good.The only problem was the lift being out of order the Saturday night and Sunday morning something no one could foresee so in conclusion another very enjoyable Elvis festival break.Before leaving Sunday morning we booked again for next year(Same room).

Room Tip: i love a room with a sea view, the rooms with the balcony's are a favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

13 of us stayed at the Seabank for 2 nights. What people say about Imre as a waiter is correct. He's fab. Lovely clean room. Staff were absolutely lovely. Fantastic location. Elvis' were great too; landed up being the backing for one of them with my blow up guitar along with my buddies. Great weekend and great hotel! Go there.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seabank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabank Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Porthcawl CF36 3LU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Porthcawl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Seabank Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seabank Hotel - Porthcawl (3 Alpha & AA 2-Star). Porthcawl's most prominent building is situated on a headland, a short walk from the Grand Pavilion and John Street shops. There are spectacular views of the Bristol Channel and South Wales coast from the bar, restaurant and most bedrooms. All 89 bedrooms are centrally heated and have bath or shower and WC, hair dryer, TV, internal telephones and tea/coffee making facilities. Extensive public areas include the Smuggler’s Bar, Garden Restaurant and large function room with entertainment most evenings. The lift serves all floors. Extensive car parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seabank Hotel Porthcawl, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seabank Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.