We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done Leisureplex” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seabank Hotel

Save Saved
You added Seabank Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seabank Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esplanade, Porthcawl CF36 3LU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Porthcawl
Stockport
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Well Done Leisureplex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Seabank hotel is the latest acquisition by Liesureplex. This building was originally a private house on during it's varied carreer has been, amongst other things, a boarding school. Although the hotel is a little run down it is a work in progress and improvements are being made all the time. The position of the hotel is excellent. When it is finished it should be fabulous. The staff are very friendly and helpful, one of the Seabank's stars is their chef. We plan to go back in a couple of years to see how it has progressed.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view,most of those that are not classed as having a sea view do actually have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    35
    19
    10
    16
See reviews for
13
38
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Stayed at this hotel with husband and my mum.
It was a good offer self drive holiday through Alpha coach travel. I have to admit I was a bit dubious on booking as the rate seemed so cheap for bed/breakfast and evening dinner. I was pleasantly surprised.
Yes the place could do with redecoration BUT everywhere was clean and our sea view room had spectacular views of the coastline. Apparently this hotel has recently been taken over and has a major revamp planned. The function rooms toilets were 'out of order' but this was because the bar area has plans for decoration soon and all the new furniture was being stored there.
This hotel is used widely for coach travellers and I would say not suitable for children but if adults want a relaxing stay with good food in this particular area I would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We travelled to Porthcawl for a family wedding and the reception was held at this hotel.
The lady in charge of weddings was one of the rudest, unhelpful and unwelcoming people we have ever met. Her attitude was very poor and she really spoilt the occasion for the bride and groom, we felt very sorry for them. All the guests just couln't believe that anyone with such a bad attitude would be put in charge of wedding receptions.
The chef and the bar staff however were very pleasant.
When they booked this venue someone else was in charge of the wedding receptions but he left and this lady took over.
If you want a happy wedding reception then do not book this hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

the bar area for eating is very sad, needs a through good clean, floors tables steps to eating area and the copper canopy over the fire,also attitude of staff leaves a lot to be desired. this is a great shame as the position of the hotel is great

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We stayed one night at the Seabank with our two children.
The hotel is quiet and very well located at the end of the beach overlooking the sea.
We thought the rooms were very dated - 80s bedspreads, tired curtains, ugly furniture and rather institutional bathrooms. The rooms were by no means dirty - just that when things are so old and dated, they don't look particularly clean either.
Breakfast was included - reasonable buffet but served in the gloom and quiet of the internal part of the restaurant - well away from the windows with the sea view!
We had specifically asked for an adjoining room for our young children when we booked by phone. However when we arrived and were sent up to our rooms, we found they were on completely different corridors - no adjoining rooms available.
The receptionist told us the hotel was to be updated and the rates reviewed.
We paid £80 for each room for the night- this seemed very steep given the quality of the accommodation and food.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

The Seabank Hotel sits on the main promenade in Porthcawl, its sea facing rooms enjoy superb sea views but sadly the splendid view isn’t sufficient to distract from what is a drab and thread-bear hotel in need of complete refurbishment.

Rooms are dated, beds are worn, four poster rooms (especially in the corners of the hotel) offer excellent space but the bathrooms and especially the corridors leading to the rooms at the time of our visit were less than appealing.

The hotel does have a good bar and reasonable bar food (although much better is available locally) the hotel restaurant from our experience should be avoided; breakfast was the deep fried variety but was perfectly acceptable.

Generally if you can get a good rate, one of the corner rooms, ignore the wear and tear and take a deep breath before walking through the corridors, eat out (fish and chips in Porthcawl is not too be missed!) you’ll find this hotel adequate for a short visit to Porthcawl.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010 via mobile

Would be better suited as a hostel rather than a hotel.rude and unproffessional staff,namely front of house.wouldnt leave a sick dog in it.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seabank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabank Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Porthcawl CF36 3LU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Porthcawl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Seabank Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seabank Hotel - Porthcawl (3 Alpha & AA 2-Star). Porthcawl's most prominent building is situated on a headland, a short walk from the Grand Pavilion and John Street shops. There are spectacular views of the Bristol Channel and South Wales coast from the bar, restaurant and most bedrooms. All 89 bedrooms are centrally heated and have bath or shower and WC, hair dryer, TV, internal telephones and tea/coffee making facilities. Extensive public areas include the Smuggler’s Bar, Garden Restaurant and large function room with entertainment most evenings. The lift serves all floors. Extensive car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Seabank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seabank Hotel Porthcawl, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seabank Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.