We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“elvis festival 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olivia House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthcawl
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olivia House
Save
You added Olivia House to your Saves list
44, Esplanade Avenue, Porthcawl CF36 3YU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Porthcawl B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
wigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“elvis festival 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

this is our 3rd year staying at Olivia House .we love coming to this fantastic boutique hotel.we stay in the french room with the beautiful decor.The hotel throughout is quirky ,charismatic,fit for royalty.delicious breakfast.it is still OUTSTANDING .Annette's hospitality is 1st class.Nothing too much trouble .very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    12
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
39
74
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My Husband and I returned to the wonderful Olivia House for another night's stay on September 3rd, 2013. Again, a warm welcome awaited from owner Annette and her superbly appointed, charismatic house and it's individually themed rooms lavished with all the finest finishing touches. You want for nothing here and I highly recommend this bed and breakfast, with it's 'cut above the rest' approach to customer service and comfort. An unprecedented Full Welsh breakfast served in the delightful dining room that offers a mouth watering mix of local produce presented with the OH! unique vamp and style. If you're looking for something quite special, then this is the place for you to stay.
We will definitely be returning again! Highly, highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolleston
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We joined family for two nights in Porthcawl , we were delighted to find Olivia House, it was like being truly welcomed into a beautiful home, we stayed in the "Kings Room" where the bed was certainly fit for royalty. Delicious hearty breakfast was served in a grandeur dining room, a big thankyou to Annette for making our short stay a luxurious, relaxing break that we would love to repeat one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We visited Porthcawl to watch a Triathlon. We were seeking a B and B for the night and saw this place on the internet. Annette was very welcoming on the telephone and offered the Kings Room and Gemini Room that had a last minute cancellation. Great hospitality and a fabulous Welsh breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We visited porthcawl on a spur of the moment occasion. We seeked a B and B for the night and fell upon this stunning house. Annette was very welcoming after offering us a room that had a non show. What a beautiful place it is. We had the kings room and it was stunning. Thank you for your hospitality. We will be back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hospitality at Olivia house is second to none.Annette goes out of her way to ensure you have a wonderful stay. We stayed overnight for our friends wedding and it turned the weekend into a lovely holiday experience. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kings room wonderful bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed for one night at Olivia House in the Gemini Room. It has a large king size bed and a little chaise lounge, which our 4 year old son slept on. The welcome from Annette was fantastic and she couldn't have done more to make us feel more welcome. There is even a selection of DVDs that you can borrow (which we did) for the TV/DVD player.

The location is excellent - literally a stone's throw away from the sea - so we had fish and chips on the beach for our dinner!

The breakfast the following morning was the nicest I think I have ever had - none of us ate until 8pm that evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olivia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia House

Address: 44, Esplanade Avenue, Porthcawl CF36 3YU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Porthcawl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Olivia House, Porthcawl's only Boutique Bed and Breakfast. Indulge yourself in the splendor of our magnificent surrounds and awaken to our fantastic, locally sourced full Welsh breakfast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olivia House Porthcawl, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivia House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.