We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at a Quality B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olivia House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthcawl
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olivia House
Save
You added Olivia House to your Saves list
44, Esplanade Avenue, Porthcawl CF36 3YU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Porthcawl B&B and Inns
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay at a Quality B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed in the French room at this quality Bed and Breakfast. The French room has a nice role top bath actually in the room, you certainly dont get that at the usual chain hotels! Annette was a very friendly host who gave us an excellent recomendation for somewhere to have dinner. In the morning we had a super breakfast, my veggie wife was impressed. Recommend Olivia House to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Porthcawl.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
69
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Olivia house is a hidden gem. The balcony suite is amazing. I aspire to have a bedroom like that now. Every last detail was thought about. They even put a bottle of wine in our room for us.The breakfast was indulgent and perfectly cooked.There was great tea and coffe facilities with biscuits. The shower was incredible. The bed was like a fluffy cloud of heaven. The other rooms that we saw were beautiful too. Before bed we played chess on the rather grand board that they have downstairs in the communal room. Its got a real luxury boutique feel to it and the lady who runs is was really good with communication. We weren't un-necessarily bothered and she even text to ask us what we wanted for breakfast - which we had in bed the morning after the wedding. I has smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. I can't wait to go again for our anniversary. Thank you.

We went as a couple but we could see that there was also very good accommodation for children too.

Room Tip: The balcony suite was large and stunning and had an adjoining room with a bed that would be well sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountain ash
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

annette made us so welcome again breakfast outstanding told her on booking it was a very special weekend only to find flowers and wine in room she picked us up from the train station and took us back nothing is to much trouble for her will be back later in the year

Room Tip: the french room is just great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed in the Kings room and I can't believe this B and B gets a rating of 5 I found the room tired the mattress was all sizes, toilet was cracked, a screw came out of the seat (could have been painful), I stopped during a very warm spell the 15th till the 18th of July and it was uncomfortably hot a lot of b/bs have fans in, this should be considered. the room is very cluttered but there is only a big heavy chair to sit on, beds too high so only option is to lie on the bed, the highlight of the b/b had to be Lyn a fantastic Lady would have liked to have met the owner but for me a black mark for being away when she has guests. Be aware it is on street parking and no guarantee you can get close to b/b .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Olivia House has it all. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming and the rooms were beautifully clean and comfortable. Annette went out of her way to ensure that we had everything we needed to make our stay the best it could be. Breakfast was outstanding and was tailored to meet your desires. I would highly recommend Olivia House to anybody who is considering spending some time in Porthcawl. I will most definitely be returning on my next visit to Porthcawl. Thank you for everything Annette - Liam and I really appreciated your kindness.

Andrea D, North Carolina, USA

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great family run house, Annette was so friendly and she couldn't do enough for us , nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was to die for. Only a short walk to the shops or the beach. We stayed in the French room which we found very comfortable. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Bed in the kings room is fit for a queen! Fabulous house that felt like home from home. Nothing was too much trouble for Annette and Huw...even to the point of finding a Chiropracter and driving me to and from the clinic. Dinner in the evening was home cooked and first class. The location is spot on. 50 meters from the prom...grand pavilion and the start of the weekly 5k park (prom) run if you want some exercise. Definitely on the 'come again' list .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olivia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia House

Address: 44, Esplanade Avenue, Porthcawl CF36 3YU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Porthcawl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Olivia House, Porthcawl's only Boutique Bed and Breakfast. Indulge yourself in the splendor of our magnificent surrounds and awaken to our fantastic, locally sourced full Welsh breakfast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olivia House Porthcawl, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivia House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.