We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tim Rice - An fabulous stay with my lady and I!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olivia House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthcawl
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olivia House
Save
You added Olivia House to your Saves list
44, Esplanade Avenue, Porthcawl CF36 3YU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Porthcawl B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tim Rice - An fabulous stay with my lady and I!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

It is the second time we have stayed at Olivia House in the last two months and each time we found it to be the perfect little retreat for my girlfriend and I away from the hustle and bustle. The hosts Annette and Lynne were wonderful, so accommodating, they made our stay special each time. In the morning they will also serve you the perfect full English breakfast using the "best ingredients" and I am very fussy! I am also an interior designer and I loved the character of each room, it is very cosy, elegant, lots of character with the communal dining room, lounge and kitchen where you are able to play chess or simply have a few Grey Goose or coffee before leaving for dinner.

Our first stay was in The French Room, where after dining at a local restaurant with a few glasses of vino it was back to the hotel for a night cap and a chat with our host then retired to our room with a bottle of champagne and chocolates, ran a big bubble bath which is situated within the room and watched a few DVD's provided by the hotel!

Our second stay was in The Balcony Room which boasts the largest bed i've ever seen or slept in, so comfortable! The hosts were also more than happy, as one of our couples is a chef (if we didn't make too much of a mess of course!) for us to purchase some local scallops, fish and prepare a beautiful dinner which we had in the dining room along with a few bottles of wine, Annette and a friend joined us later on, it was a fabulous evening of food, conversation and laughter! The following morning after breakfast, a coffee and newspaper reading session on the balcony, Lily and I took a walk along the beach for a little fresh air and watched the waves crashing on the rocks, beautiful! (Picture attached).

I would urge anyone who was looking for a relaxing weekend away to pay this quaint establishment a visit! I would also like to thank you guys once again for making our stay a very special one and look forward to seeing you again very soon x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
69
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Penarth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at the hospitality of the Olivia House team and we're treated like royalty. The use of house including the dining room for a dinner party was an amazing treat. Annette made this a home from home and Lynne fed us until we smiled. Will put this on my must visit again list! Thank you OH!

Room Tip: Frech or Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We had such a lovely weekend at Olivia house. The rooms were beautifully and individually decorated, i had a brilliant couple of nights sleep in the extremely comfortable bed, and was treated to a delicious welsh breakfast in the morning, which was definitely needed! Annette and co were absolute stars too. Thank you for a great weekend, there's nowhere else in porthcawl that I would rather stay!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've stayed in many Hotels, Guest Houses and B&B's all around the World but never in one where I have been made so welcome.
Nothing was too much trouble and the level of comfort was incredible. This is certainly on my list of places to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum City, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We traveled from Turkey for a family party in Porthcawl in November and booked 5 rooms at the Olivia.
It is a wonderful place, very quirky and the hostess Annette was an amazing character full of life.
The rooms were very clean and warm, having a nice sitting room to use was also a great bonus when with a big group as we were.

Fantastic breakfast cooked by Annette and also Linda, you wont need to eat again all day.
We were the only guests there at the time and had a party one evening and this was perfectly acceptable and I think we used every glass in the house nothing was too much trouble for the hostess.

Definitely will stay again and recommend this wonderful house. Not just a B and B you felt like it was home.

5 stars are not enough this place gets many more than that
Merina, Simon and inci Phillips

Room Tip: We had the Kings suite and the solo room for our daughter which was next to ours she used our ensuit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed here for the weekend while visiting relatives with my daughter, and was hugely impressed. I will definitely come again. It is a lovely little boutique hotel. Charming and very unique. Annette is a wonderful host - always helpful and cheerful. The rooms are absolutely lovely and you realise that there is a great attention to detail throughout (e.g. candle lit breakfast table with gentle classical music in the background) The rooms are also spotlessly clean. I cannot find anything to be unhappy about.
The full British breakfast was excellent (especially loved the bacon and portobello mushrooms) and generous and will challenge the most hearty of appetites. Annette was also kind enough to cook something a little different for my vegetarian daughter.
I live in Hong Kong and I have stayed in many places around the world in my time and I would recommend this place to anyone looking for something a little different from the usual standard hotels. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We visited Porthcawl for a family occasion and were welcomed to Olivia House with a warm smile. Nothing was too much bother.
Breakfast was wonderful and a late check out was really appreciated.
They even ironed our shirts!!
Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The French Room and the King's Room were great - the bath in the Frnch Room is amazing! There i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olivia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia House

Address: 44, Esplanade Avenue, Porthcawl CF36 3YU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Porthcawl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Olivia House, Porthcawl's only Boutique Bed and Breakfast. Indulge yourself in the splendor of our magnificent surrounds and awaken to our fantastic, locally sourced full Welsh breakfast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olivia House Porthcawl, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivia House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.