We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute booking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Guest House

Protea Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthcawl
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Protea Guest House
Save
You added Protea Guest House to your Saves list
25 Esplanade Avenue, Porthcawl CF36 3YS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Porthcawl B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Last minute booking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Another guest house which was full recommended Protea Guest House and we weren't disappointed. A tastefully decorated pleasant house with everything in our cosy home from home room that we needed including a hair dryer and towels but most importantly a tea tray! Only about 30 metres from the sea front and even less to The Royal Pavillion if you like the soul nights there! Very pleasant owners. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
28
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nothing negative to say about this guest house. A warm welcome; clean, modern and comfortable rooms. Good breakfast that set us up nicely for the day. Parking is on the road but plenty of space. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A delightful cosy Guest House in the very heart of Porthcawl with fairly easy parking close by. Top class well appointed rooms and very friendly hosts - highly recommended. I personally will not be seeking other accommodation if returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a warm & friendly welcome when we booked in to stay the night. The bedroom & ensuite were IMMACULATE. After a great night's sleep we enjoyed a fresh home cooked breakfast . An experience we will DEFINITELY repeat !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pembroke dock
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Only stayed the one night but what a comfortable night!! Derek was very helpful even to the point of acquiring some headache tablets for my girlfriend. Amazingly comfortable bed and breakfast cooked to perfection. Would definitely recommend to anybody. Lee and hayley

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I must apologise to derek and elaine for taking so long to write this review. Me and the mrs stayed at the end of june,for my friends wedding night. We only came up from swansea but it was worth it. The room was fab the welcome was even better,and the breakfast well what can i say, Derek you cook a mean one. Thank you both for a warm welcome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Second time of having a short break with Elaine and Derek.
Always a warm welcome and B&B is ideally situated near sea and town.
Lovely rooms, clean and fresh.
Excellant breakfasts.
Fully recommend a stay here and one which we we all come back to again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Guest House

Address: 25 Esplanade Avenue, Porthcawl CF36 3YS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Porthcawl
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edwardian townhouse close to seafront and all local amenities. Very tastefully decorated, bedrooms are en-suite with hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and flat screen televisions with free view. Special diets catered for. Wi Fi available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Protea Guest House Porthcawl, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.