We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROUGH!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bayside Guesthouse

Bayside Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bayside Guesthouse to your Saves list
Bayside Guesthouse
70 Mackworth Rd, Porthcawl CF6 5BT, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 Porthcawl B&B and Inns
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“ROUGH!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Small B & B a few yards from Porthcawl beach, no breakfast included not that i would of eaten it, place was dirty, dirty hairy sheets, shower did not work, just icy cold water, the only contact was a mobile number stuck on a door, there was a hole punched in one of the doors of a room, very noisy fun fair across the road, only good thing in the room was the fan!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flogger13, Owner at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi, thanks for your review.... Firstly I would just like to point out that as our website states we do not do breakfast at the moment although there are quality tea coffee and biscuits in the rooms. There is also a cafe across the road and many other places to eat within strolling distance.

The mobile number on the door was to contact my son, as i had been rushed to hospital, had to have a major operation and my he was honouring bookings while juggling his university work.

Dirty hairy sheets is such an exaggeration!! Our sheets and pillowcases and quilt covers are changed for every guest WITH OUT EXCEPTION!.
The only way you would have hair on your sheets is if it was your own or in the unlikely event that our female cleaner (who does have long dark hair) had accidentally left one of her own.

Yes, a person had accidentally put a small hole in the in a door, (not all the way through). yet because i was in hospital i had not been able to deal with it.

As for the icy cold water :-) this is a little odd when it was 28 degrees outside. The shower not working? this has bemused me as all the showers are working fine, are all new and have been checked. There are two dials on the showers, one to turn on and off and one for temperature adjustment, maybe you did not turn the shower on ? Or you failed to turn on at the pull cord?.

As for the funfair, Its states on our website that we are situated next the the beach and adjacent to the funfair, thats open from March to September. The fair usually closes at about 8-9pm. Most of our guests enjoy the fact we are close to everything.

I am sorry that you had a bad experience :-( Yet being hospitalised for a month there was nothing i could do :-(

Our place is clean with good facility's at a fair price as reviewed by our guests.

Regards

Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Really enjoyed the stay, clean rooms friendly welcome, close to the Beach and the Fairground.. Beaches were great and lots of rock pools for the Kids to explore..
Breakfast was a short walk away at the local cafe by the beach and was Great lots of food chunky toast..
Overall experience was brilliant would go there again and have recomended it to my family who are looking for a short break.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Me and my fiancé have stopped in porthcawl quite a few times this was our first time at bayside. The guesthouse is in a perfect location, 30second walk to the beach and attractions. When first arrived was a bit worried about the room from the look of the outside of the guesthouse but don't let it fool you, very warm welcome from Les. Room was lovely, big, sea view and very clean. Tea, coffee facilities, microwave and a safe. Nice tv on the wall and comfy bed. Bathroom was clean but plumbing was very loud and having a shower was a struggle as it kept blocking up! Bathroom was cleaned every day and bins emptied etc... Bit nosey in the day due to being right in the centre of eveything but quiet at night. Didn't see host at al apart from checking in but has note with number If ever needed anything so for us it wasn't a problem. Would Definatly stay here again!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We had a job in Porthcawl and were desperate for an overnight stay at a reasonable price. The Bayside was the only B&B available on the internet. It looked a bit seedy, but appearances can be deceptive. The owner was very friendly and helpful. He managed to get me an internet connection, even though his was out of order. The room was warm and bright and clean,and we could just about see the sea. The plumbing was a bit unusual,but it all worked fine.Porthcawl is like a mini-Blackpool, but we had an enjoyable meal in the Sports Bar. Although it was near the funfair the room was perfectly quiet at night and we both slept well. Porthcawl is not a place we would want to keep going back to,but we would have no hesitation in returning to the Bayside if work demanded a return.

Room Tip: We were in Room 3 which had the tiny sea view.Noisy during the day and early evening,but perfect at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and when we first arrived we got a bit of a scare when we seen the outside of the guest house as the surrounding houses etc look a bit run down but i wouldnt let this put you off. Our room was spotless, there was not a mark anywhere. The room wasnt too small, ive stayed in smaller rooms before. There was a microwave and tea/coffe making facilities aswell. Beds were comfortable and the shower was decent and there was a small tv on the wall. There is a small theme park across from the guest house and amusements nearby and a cheap pub about 30 yards down the road, theres also a Wimpy. There is a good chinese restaurant about 5 minutes drive away up the main street (there are menus in the rooms for a chinese restaurant but we went to the one next door to it). The one thing that annoyed me was that i had read reviews about the hotel on a different site and most of them were saying "great breakfast" etc but there was no breakfast! So be aware this is room only! And when i booked it, it also said b&b on late rooms. The commets must have been some sort or sarcasm. I dont really believe this was the hotels fault. Les, the guy that runs the place, is a nice guy but hes always across the road at the recording studio so you never see him much but is local if you need him. This is an ideal place to stay if you want to explore south Wales as its only about 30 mins from Swansea and about 45 away from Cardiff. We enjoyed it and probably would stay in this place again!.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in early November. As it was out of season there was no real difficulty with parking but in the summer you would have to pay. The area is very convenient for the beach, but the outlook is of a high wall and a car park.

The initial impression of the guesthouse is offputting. A high wooden gate leads to a steep set of stairs (avoid if you have mobility problems) in need of painting, not to mention sweeping. Inside the building is partitioned off in unfinished chipboard, by the look of it. The owner was there when we arrived but we saw no more sign of him over the weekend.

The room was mainly clean, but "basic" would be an accurate description. The duvet covers were crumpled and clearly unironed. The furniture is ultra cheap. The TV is so high up on the wall as to be virtually unwatchable. The curtains were faded and didn't close properly. The blind in the bathroom was covered in mould. The room smelt of cigarette smoke.

Also, and I appreciate this is not the owner's fault but will give you an idea of the clientele, there was a party of women staying there who behaved worse than I would have believed possible. The walls are very thin and we would have heard what they were saying anyway, but there was no problem hearing them as they shouted to each other, giggling and running up and down the stairs, the whole time. On Sunday morning they came in at 2.30 and behaved like this for two hours, despite being asked very politely to keep the noise down.

Overall then, a horrible experience. I couldn't wait to leave. The only reason i didn't give one star is that the accommodation was fairly clean, though there are clearly areas they don't bother with, like the blind in the bathroom.

Not a nice experience.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnley
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

This guest house is in an excellent location for families - right next to the Coney Beach complex and the Hi Tide for entertainment and food.

The whole place is undergoing a refurb and the rooms and corridors were beautifully renovated. The beds were very comfortable with warm quilts and nice pillows (rare)

The en suite facilities were very clean and roomy. Plenty of towels and even shampoo to use.

The owner was very helpful and the only thing missing on our stay was a nice breakfast. Hopefully they will be adding this once the refurbishment is finished.

Would definately stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayside Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Guesthouse

Address: 70 Mackworth Rd, Porthcawl CF6 5BT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Porthcawl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayside guest house is ideally situated, 45 meters from the beach in Porthcawl, Bridgend.The house offers comfortable guest bedrooms which include single, double, triple and twin rooms, prices include breakfast.Porthcawl is the ideal holiday destination, with stretches of fine beaches, great food options and only a few miles to the main towns and cities of South Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bayside Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Guesthouse Porthcawl, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayside Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.