We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting, crooked, rude staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Coney Beach Amusement Park

Coney Beach Amusement Park
Eastern Promenade, Porthcawl CF36 5BY, Wales
01656 788911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 13 things to do in Porthcawl
Attraction details
uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Disgusting, crooked, rude staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Dirty, horrible place. Ride operators rip off children and adults. Toilets hard to find. Few food options. Just awful. Honestly.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    32
    57
    37
    54
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Shabby but some fun.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Typical seaside resort amusement park. Good fun for the kids with some good rides and pleasant staff to be fair. Other staff were typical fairground staff with no personal standards or customer service skills whatsoever.

Some terrible looking stalls (I wouldn't buy food in any of them) and the arcades (which we normally enjoy) were shockingly poor. Really tired and in need of decoration, and loads of machines not working. I used to work in a place that had amusement machines so I know how much money they can make with a bit of effort. They could really improve the general appearance of the whole park.

We happened to go on a Friday evening when all rides were half price after 5pm so it was £1 per person per ride, so not too bad for the kids to have a few rides each.

If you want food though, go off the site and round the corner where there are a couple of fish and chip shops of really good quality as the ones on site look dreadful.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Cheshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Old fashioned family fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Better than expected after readin the reviews on here. Yes the rides are a bit old and you feel like you're taking you life in your hands on a couple of them, but what do you expect at a British seaside fairground. Our whole family found some rides and stalls they liked. If you expect Disneyworld you'll b disappointed but if you grew up with fairground down the Rec then you'll enjoy it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“danger zone”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

they advertise this hell hole as an ideal safe place for families, what a joke, we camped for one night over the easter holidays, within an hour our friends 6 year old little boy had badly cut his hand on glass playing in the sand and had to be taken to hospital, then the nxt day a visit to the fairground prove to be a very lucky escape as my 4 year old daughter and two other children went on the train ride, it derailed going up the hill, the operator tried to stop at the mains but no good as it was coming backwards and would of topled with catastrophic consequence had my husband not jumped the wall and held the train, calling for help orher men held on to the train while the children were handed to me to safety, and an earlier visit to the arcade about 6 months ago my daughter badly cut her finger on the bee catching play machine as the rubber had come away from handle and her little finger had been jammed, ir was reported but machine still in use to this day with no warning, and the beach is badly littered, i used to love this place but wont be going back again

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceredigion
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Value for money and something for all age groups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Larger than it looks so don't dismiss it, various rides for all ages, games and arcades. Mostly flat.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coney Beach Amusement Park also viewed

Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
Porthcawl, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Coney Beach Amusement Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coney Beach Amusement Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.