We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Pierhouse Hotel to your Saves list
The Pierhouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Appin PA38 4DE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely couple of nights here with our friends and their 10 year old daughter. They couldn't do enough for us and the food was amazing. They were so child friendly and hot chocolate was to die for. Our weather was pretty dismal but this didn't stop us from hiring bikes and taking the ferry over to Lismore. Great experience. Views are lovely too. Would definitely recommend this place and we will definitely be back

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review which means a great deal to us. We do our best to look after our guests, whatever their age. Fortunately many of our staff have young children too, as indeed we do with 3 of our own and consequently appreciate how important it is for the parents that the young ones are kept happy as well! I am sorry we couldn't arrange the weather for you on this occasion but hopefully you'll be luckier next time! Until then....Best wishes Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    65
    24
    17
    10
See reviews for
60
246
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Friends from England, staying at Fort Augustus, met with us at the Pierhouse Hotel. Lovely warm bar on a cold February day. Greeting - none! Sat down with a couple of drinks before asking for the bar meal menu. Basically, we had a choice of ham or cheese sandwiches. Two slices of 'dry' bread with the individual's choice of filling. The sandwiches has no relish, salad of even crisps to help fill the platter. My husband and I chose ham, they came partially toasted. Obviously to give new life to the dry bread! The cost for twelve slices of, what had once been fresh bread - £21.00. Disgusting!! Regrettably we didn't complain at the time. We were too polite for that. Won't be planning a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
This review is completely at odds with reality and gives a biased and unfair picture of what actually happened.
Firstly, nobody but nobody has ever suggested that our lady on the bar during the day does not welcome people. She is renowned as one of the loveliest and friendliest people in Port Appin so I completely refute the statement that you were not welcomed.
Secondly the food. You looked at the Bar Menu and decided that what was on offer was too much for you and our Bar lady suggested that the only other thing we could offer you were the 'plain' childrens' sandwiches off the Childrens Menu that are deliberately plain and without relish as children tend not to go for relish. It was explained exactly what you were getting and if you had wanted some relish, salad or crisps you only had to ask. To suggest that the bread was stale just adds insult to injury as our bread is always fresh. Costwise you had 6 sandwiches at £3.50 per sandwich = £21 which was priced on the menu at the time you chose it.
But what is really odd is that far from appearing at the time to be aggrieved in any way, you were the exact opposite and very friendly. We win some, we lose some. It would appear we lost this one by default and for that I am disappointed. We will learn from this experience and I am sorry you did not enjoy your time with us. Yours sincerely Nicholas Horne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Lovely place and well worth a visit. Great food, amazing views, grumpy as hell barman. A hello or even a smile every now and again would be nice. Apart from that, its a great place and a 'must visit' - would have got 5 out of 5 if the welcome was a bit warmer

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your review which would have been very nice but was let down by our barman having what I can only imagine was a bad day. I hold my hands up and apologise profusely for what obviously 'appeared' to be a grumpy attitude on the evening you visited which is unacceptable and should not have happened. Suffice to say that words have been had and I very much hope it will not happen again. The person in question does in fact have a 'heart of gold' so this was extremely unfortunate. I very much hope this experience has not put you off coming again and I hope you can accept that this was a most unfortunate one-off. Kind regards Nicholas Horne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

just back after a two night stay at this wonderful hotel, location is stunning with views of the island of lismore, staff could not be anymore helpful, had wonderful food, especially the sweets and the clutie dumpling. Rooms are stunning, especially the loch view rooms

Room Tip: pay a bit extra for a loch view room, its really worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Many thanks for your very nice review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Our chef is especially proud of her Cloutie dumpling so I am very pleased this got a special mention! We will look forward to your next visit in hopefully the not too distant future. Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Feel the same as previous reviews. We had a Superior Room that was well presented and very comfortable. The bed is extremely soft, the bath is great and the views are stunning. The food in the seafood restaurant was to die for! There is a range of whiskeys for everyones taste buds.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your extremely complimentary, precise and succinct review which is greatly appreciated. It is great to know we are ticking the right boxes. I do hope you will come and see us again sometime soon. Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Atmospheric small hotel with stunning views over the loch to the island of Lismore and the mountains beyond. We went for a superior loch view room, which was worth paying for for its beautiful views, lounge area and superior bathroom with large bath for a relaxing soak. We even had our own private entrance which was handy when coming in with muddy boots, or for loading the bags into the car. Even better when we booked on a reduced winter rate direct from the hotel website.

We ate in the more formal seafood restaurant one night - try the seafood platter! and also enjoyed a more relaxed meal in the Ferry Bar the following evening, which was just as tasty (and a huge portion!). We also enjoyed a nightcap by the fire in the cosy snug in the lounge. Breakfast was also delicious, with several Scottish favorites on the cooked menu, alongside cereals etc.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and it was reassuring to see locals enjoying a drink in the bar too.

Highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing short break or as a base for outdoor pursuits.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We are delighted to receive your lovely review and are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Your opening word 'atmospheric' is one of the main aspects we endeavour to create and consistently retain irrespective of the time of year or the number of guests in the establishment at any one time. Friendly & efficent staff , quality food, comfortable bedrooms are the other three major areas you mentioned which I am really pleased you appreciated. We will hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Had the most amazing three days bringing in the new year with the wonderful staff and owners Nick and Nicki. Food stunning, great bed, room spotless and ambience second to none. We have already booked for next new year. Hope to visit before then though. Met lovely group of other guests and Dougal the dog loved it as well. Thanks for a brilliant start to the new year Geoff with the fireworks and the ceilidh band.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Many thanks for your really kind words and Nikki and I are delighted that you enjoyed your Hogmanay so much with us. It is a very special time of the year and our team hugely enjoyed looking after you all as we had such an incredibly nice and friendly group of guests staying. It was so much fun and we will look forward to seeing next Hogmanay if not before! Best wishes Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pierhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierhouse Hotel

Address: Port Appin PA38 4DE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Port Appin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pierhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views to the islands of Lismore and Mull, our intimate twelve bedroom hotel, bar and renowned seafood restaurant has won a fast-growing reputation as one of Argyll's most idyllic and romantic destinations. We pride ourselves on the freshness & quality of our seafood and local meats, sourcing most of our food locally. We strive to offer our guests something different - a personal and relaxed family atmosphere, stunning location and deliciously fresh food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Pierhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierhouse Hotel Seafood
The Pierhouse Hotel Port Appin, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pierhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.