We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break between Christmas and New Year” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierhouse Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Pierhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Pierhouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Appin PA38 4DE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Port Appin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oban, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely break between Christmas and New Year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Two nights between Christmas and New Year, on a special "Twixmas" deal for DB&B. The moment we walked into reception, we knew we were on to a good thing. A warm, relaxed, laid back atmosphere, yet efficient and very much focused on guests' needs. We had a lovely room on the ground floor, with a sea view (well, there would have been a view if the weather had been better, but what the heck) and beautifully furnished with lots of cushions and throws. Spacious king size bed and a warm, spacious bathroom. The food was great - the hotel specialises in seafood, but their meat dishes are excellent as well; we especially enjoyed the roe deer venison. Not a huge wine list, but some beautiful bottles at very reasonable prices. Breakfasts were very good too, with top notch coffee. A very dog friendly hotel too. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review which very nicely sums up exactly what we strive to achieve!! I am really pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we will look forward to hopefully welcoming you back here again some day! Best wishes Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    58
    21
    16
    10
See reviews for
51
223
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had the most fantastic five day stay at the Pierhouse to celebrate our honeymoon. The location was simply stunning, with the most spectacular scenery over Lismore and beyond. The sunsets were the most atmospheric we've experienced, with a blend of colours and views we'll remember forever. The accommodation in the Pierhouse was very comfortable, warm and homely, and our room had a really modern shower suite (though you do need to make sure you keep the door closed even a good twenty minutes after you've used the shower if you don't want to activate the super sensitive alarm system!)

The owners and staff could not have been any more attentive during our stay - making us feel immediately that we had made absolutely the right choice for a wonderful honeymoon destination. A very special mention to the chef, who dealt with my rather "quirky" food habits in an extremely considerate and innovative way. The food was excellent throughout; with fresh, local ingredients very much to the fore. The bar and "snug" areas in the hotel were so welcoming - to sit there having a coffee or a drink in front of the wood-burning fire was just such a relaxing experience.

We had an amazing time at the Pierhouse, due in no small part to the friendliness and terrific customer service exhibited by the staff and owners. Our mission had been to find somewhere very memorable to have our honeymoon, and we certainly succeeded - many thanks to everyone at the Pierhouse for helping us to have such a superb time.

Room Tip: Any room with a loch view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. It means so much to the staff and us as the owners alike, to know that we are doing something right and to continue to try and improve on the quality of the 'product' and service which we offer. It is always really nice to receive compliments so a very big thank you from all of us for your very kind words! Please come again soon!!! Best wishes Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I returned yesterday from a seven night stay at the Pierhouse wishing we could have remained longer! We were able to unwind immediately we arrived. The hotel is quietly located on the loch shore. Serenity (even when raining) cloaks the magnificent views encompassing Lismore and other small, green islands dotting the water. Watching the sunset gradually turn the loch red I wondered whether I was in heaven.

The staff could not have been pleasanter or more helpful. After check-in, rather than thrust a key in our hand and make us find our own way around, we were accompanied to our room and given a tour of the hotel. Our room (No.8), overlooking the loch, was well worth paying a little extra for. The bed, with luxurious bedding, was extremely comfortable and we enjoyed seven nights of refreshing sleep. The bedroom sofa and armchair were great for relaxing while reading or watching television. We appreciated the many thoughtful gestures such as the plate of fresh fruit on the coffee table, delicious biscuits and fresh milk on the well-stocked hospitality tray, and upmarket toiletries in the bathroom.

The entire hotel was spotlessly clean – the cleaning staff must be commended – but did not feel or smell sterile. The ambience was cosy and relaxed. Returning at dusk each afternoon, after an exhilarating day exploring the diverse locality and looking at wildlife, we were welcomed back by a warm, roaring wood-burning stove and friendly staff.

It must be difficult for any hotel staff to calculate how much to interact with guests as every guest’s requirements are different. Staff at the Pierhouse have gauged it just right. They and the Owners were unfailingly polite, friendly, and happy to chat and dispense advice about the area whenever required but they were never intrusive which is a clever and delicate balancing act.

Breakfasts were nutritiously well-balanced – an abundance of fresh and dried fruit with a super menu of cooked and/or cold dishes. We feasted so well at breakfast that we did not need lunch! Dinners were superb (Cullen Skink especially delicious). It was nice to have a choice of eating in the bar or the restaurant. Every evening gasps of pleasure escaped from diners in the restaurant as vast seafood platters were presented to them. Portions were large; we were never able to manage three courses. It was worth forgoing an occasional starter to gorge the Chocolate Marquise!

The Pierhouse ticked all our boxes – something no other hotel has managed to do – and we recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Many many thanks for your super review! We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and are extremely grateful to you for writing so comprehensively about your stay. It means a huge amount to all of us here to be told such nice things and to know that all the hard work and staff training is paying off. We are in a very fortunate position whereby virtually all our staff have been with us for upward of at least 3 or 4 years and have a very good understanding of the levels of service demanded and which most importantly must be continually maintained. We very much look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the not too distant future. Best wishes Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed for 1 night at the end of Nov 2012.Room with a loch view was a delight to wake up to.Warm,quiet and comfortable.
Dinner was a delight,fresh caught local fish.Absolutely faultless.
Port Appin has a rugged simplicity,that makes it a superb place to visit to get away from busy day to day life.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your really nice review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and do hope you'll come and stay with us again soon. Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed on night during our travels around Scotland and wished we'd booked longer

The room we had was spacious and comfortable and not only was the bathroom spacious but my wife enjoyed the bath.

Dinner and breakfast were excellent and we enjoyed the attentive staff.

The bed was blissfully soft and warm and there were a multitude of small touches like the fruit bowl in the room and the iPod dock as part of the TV.

The peace and tranquility was divine, broken only by the occasional seagull and boat motor.

I could have spent an entire week here. There is so much to recommend it. If we had got bored we could have taken a ferry over to Lismore for lots of walks, and there are plenty of walks in the countryside up behind the hotel with maps provided.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Many thanks for your review and you would be more than welcome to spend a week here if you would like! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and will hope to see you again some day. Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just returned from 3 day break in beautiful Port Appin where it smells of wood burning stoves and the sea...... it is lovely. Stayed at the Pierhouse Hotel and the stay was very chilling and relaxed.The best asset above the food is actually the staff .The staff are a wealth of local knowledge and are very friendly and welcoming. Sitting having a drink watching the hourly ferry to Lismore and all the comings and goings was a education in its self.
Would definitely recommend for short get away from it all breaks .

Room Tip: Pay for the loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your great review and your really nice comments about the staff. The staff are the single most important aspect in the running of any hotel so it is extremely good news to read what you say. Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I've had many massages in my life but the massage that I has with Tamsin was absolutely amazing! A big thumbs up and when I'm in the area I would definitely stay at the hotel with its lovely food and make sure that Tamsin is free.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Tamsin is undoubtedly a great asset to our hotel and I am delighted you liked your massage. Many thanks for your review and and I am extremely pleased you enjoyed the quality of our food. Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pierhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierhouse Hotel

Address: Port Appin PA38 4DE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Port Appin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Port Appin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pierhouse Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views to the islands of Lismore and Mull, our intimate twelve bedroom hotel, bar and renowned seafood restaurant has won a fast-growing reputation as one of Argyll's most idyllic and romantic destinations. We pride ourselves on the freshness & quality of our seafood and local meats, sourcing most of our food locally. We strive to offer our guests something different - a personal and relaxed family atmosphere, stunning location and deliciously fresh food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Pierhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierhouse Hotel Seafood
The Pierhouse Hotel Port Appin, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pierhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.