We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit Scotland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pierhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Pierhouse Hotel to your Saves list
The Pierhouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Appin PA38 4DE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“Visit Scotland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Thanks for a fantastic stay,we loved the hotel and the location,quiet surroundings.
The food was wanderful as were the staff, always happy to help .First time in Scotland but we loved our stay at this hotel, we will recommend to friends and family

Room Tip: Take a room facing the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    65
    24
    17
    10
See reviews for
60
246
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saline, Fife. Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

It was our 10th Wedding Anniversary, a very special day for us. We wanted somewhere suitably romantic, and to be spoilt. Instead, what we got was an over priced B&B with spectacular views attached to a seafood restaurant and bar.

On checking in we were shown to our room. The room itself was small, but clean, bright and airy. Fresh fruit and an orchid were lovely touches. The bed, oh the bed! I have never slept in a more comfortable, more sumptious bed. The mattress just enveloped you, but at the same time firm enough to support. Truly wonderful.

The bathroom looked well appointed and was clean. The bath had a shower over it. However, the shower hose was not long enough to go any higher than my chest. I'm not particularly tall at 6'. There was not a dedicated mixer tap for the shower, consequently tying to fiddle to get the correct temperature was irritating. Why anyone would go to the trouble of fitting out a bathroom without putting in a proper shower is a mystery. There was a note on the door to remind guests to keep it closed when showering to prevent the smoke detector going off. I can see why....the extract fan did not work. The drain plug in the basin would not open enough to let water out unless you held your hand on it.

We had booked dinner for 20:00. I went downstairs to see if we could eat any earlier. I was able to change it to 19:30, but the young lady's manner left me feeling I had messed up her planning for the evening.

We came back down for a drink at 19:00. When ordering drinks I asked for some menus. The lady brought them out to us and said she would be back to take our order. I went back inside at 19:15, she told me she would be right out. At 19:25 we gave up waiting and went in ourselves. We were met in the doorway and shown to our table and our order then taken. at 19:50 our first course arrived; scallops for me, rockerfeller oysters for my wife. She was unable to eat hers because they were too salty, so we swapped. They were very, very salty. We were at this stage so hungry that I eat them. When our plates were cleared, we mentioned this to our waiter, who, rather than taking an interest, immediately spoke over us and pointed out that oysters are seafood therefore they will be salty!!!?? My lobster for main course was slightly overcooked and rubbery, and my wife's chips were not fresh cut but frozen. Overall, the food was good, but no better than we have had in any other seafood restaurant. The service was poor. Disinterested waiting staff who were not at all engaging. Very, very disappointing.

Breakfast the following morning was in the same dining room as the night before. A beautifully bright space, with fantastic views over the water to the Isle of Lismore. My cooked breakfast was unfortunately overcooked and dried out, probably from sitting on the pass on a very, very hot plate. So hot in fact, the black pudding was sizzling on the plate when it arrived.

This stay was the culmination of a three night trail through Argyll, and from what I had read on your website, we kept it until last for our anniversary dinner. We were so looking forward to it. Instead it turned out out to be the one we enjoyed least, and was certainly the most expensive. We will not be back, and could not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissFamilyRobinson1, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your review although I am extremely sorry you were disappointed by your experience. We will look at improving all aspects of your stay which you were not happy about and I can only but apologise that you left here not having enjoyed your time with us which is most unusual. On a positive note I am very pleased you found the bed 'truly wonderful' so hopefully you did at least have a good night's sleep. My sincere apologies, Nicholas Horne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lightwater
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights here in August. It is without doubt one of my favourite places. I have visited this area frequently as a child and was a little hesitant about going back. I need not have been having found this hotel with its superb location and great food it was like home from home. I would strongly recommend hiring the hotel bikes as this is a great way to get around. I can only say. I will be back.

Room Tip: If available go for loch view rooms. However we had a rear view and would take it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are delighted that you had such a good time and that your stay lived up to expectations. We will look forward to your next visit in hopefully not too long! Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had high expectations of this hotel,the last stop on a 5 day trip in the Scottish Highlands.However we all agreed that it was the hotel we least enjoyed although the most expensive and the one we most looked forward to because of the lovely website.I shall try to fairly summarise the positives and negatives:
Positives: Stunning location right on water's edge with beautiful views/good quality food at dinner and breakfast( although portion size could have been slightly larger and puddings more interesting if I was being picky!)/high quality bed linen and comfortable bed
Negatives:Very small "family room",ok for a couple only/no bath in room which is unacceptable for a family room especially as we look forward to a long soak after a long day travelling/everywhere was extremely cold,especially the restaurant which was verging on the unbearably cold!/ the tiny "waiting area" outside the restaurant was not somewhere to linger,either before or after dinner,again no cosiness about it and we weren't even offered a coffee or drink when we sat there,we were ignored by the waiting staff who just did not seem to understand the importance of engaging with guests.
Having thought long and hard about what it was we disliked about this hotel we feel it comes down to it's lack of warmth (and not just the physical warmth),it has no soul.My daughter and I struggled in strong winds to get through the door with 2 large suitcases whilst a young lady at the bar stood and watched us.I suppose this set the scene for the next 24 hours.We never actually had a single conversation with anyone working at the hotel,despite us being gregarious people.We had stayed at 3 wonderful hotels with engaging staff and some great memories throughout our stay in Scotland but The Pierhouse didn't seem interested in us,it was anonymous and I'm sorry to say slightly smug.Not really a family hotel,the restaurant was full of "romantic" couples clearly there for special celebratory occasions and we actually whispered throughout dinner,such was the muted atmosphere.
Given it's location and uniqueness this could be a truly special hotel if they could just focus more energy on their guests and actually look like they are enjoying themselves.

Room Tip: The back rooms have a depressing view but the rooms with a view come with a substantial premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your review although I am extremely disappointed your stay did not meet expectations. I note you mention some positives and I am at least pleased you recognise the food as being very good quality. We will look very carefully at the negative points and endeavour to do whatever we can to improve in those areas where you feel we have fallen short. I struggle to recognise that our staff have not engaged with you however if this is the impression you have gained then we must try harder and I apologise for your disappointment. Your sincerely Nicholas Horne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Nick and Nikki have a great thing going at The Pierhouse. The view of Lismore Island, the smell of fresh sea air, and the nautical motif are fantastic. The seaside bar located between the hotel rooms wing and the restaurant is just the place to relax in the afternoon watching the water scenery only dozens of feet away on tidal Loch Linnhe. The staff is wonderfully attentive, and bartender Geoff is grizzled pleasure to talk with. The food is truly great, served in a semi-circular glass enclosed room which faces the Loch and the sunset behind Lismore. Our hotel room was newly remodeled and the bathroom especially was a 21st Century model of technology. Fair warning: the final few miles in off the main road are along a road which barely allows a single car to get through let alone the two way traffic allowed. Be prepared for the many "let pass" areas which challenge even the best drivers in even the smallest of cars. But it is worth the driving adventure.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are really pleased you had such a good time and liked our hotel. The road here is a challenge but hopefully we will see you again in the not too distant future! Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Nice little hotel in a superb location... .. Nice food, comfortable rooms and easy atmosphere... nothing to grumble about really... you could pick a few holes here and there, but really not necessary as everything is there that needs to be for a pleasant dinner and stay....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePierhouseHotel, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Many thanks for your nice review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. I do hope we might see you here again sometime! Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Had a fantastic 4 night break at the Pierhouse. Comfortable room with beautiful views, food was out of this world and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. We hired bikes from the hotel and took advantage of the reliable and frequent ferry crossing to Lismore to spend a day cycling on the island. There were also opportunities for walking and horse riding. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle.

Room Tip: Worthwhile spending extra to get a room with a view over the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissFamilyRobinson1, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thanks you very much for your lovely review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your time on Lismore. We are extremely fortunate to have such a wonderful location and I do hope we might see you again some day. Thanks for offering to recommend us. Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pierhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierhouse Hotel

Address: Port Appin PA38 4DE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Port Appin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pierhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views to the islands of Lismore and Mull, our intimate twelve bedroom hotel, bar and renowned seafood restaurant has won a fast-growing reputation as one of Argyll's most idyllic and romantic destinations. We pride ourselves on the freshness & quality of our seafood and local meats, sourcing most of our food locally. We strive to offer our guests something different - a personal and relaxed family atmosphere, stunning location and deliciously fresh food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Pierhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierhouse Hotel Seafood
The Pierhouse Hotel Port Appin, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pierhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.