We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Borgo Agriturismo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Antico Borgo Agriturismo to your Saves list
Antico Borgo Agriturismo
3.0 of 5 Farmhouse   |   Via Calatabiano Pasteria 8, 95011 Calatabiano, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Everything about this property is totally wonderful from the welcome from Staff to the accommodation itself and the restaurant is just fantastic. The room was delightful, like staying in a castle but with all the mod cons. We stayed 2 nights and the first night went to the restaurant not knowing what to expect and were totally blown away. The Chef came out to welcome us and introduce himself. He asked if we liked seafood (which we did) and explained that was what was on the menu that night. What followed was basically a degustation menu of everything imaginable from the sea all presented beautifully and we kept wondering when the dishes would stop coming. The second night was also excellent but was totally meat based and not quite to the standard of the first night but still excellent. The location is a 10-12 minute walk from the local piazza and is a little out of it if you don't have your own vehicle but we would definitely stay there again. We actually stayed in Sept 2011 so apologies for the daly in posting the review.

Room Tip: I am sure they would all be very good. We had a smaller one and were very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    17
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is by far the best place to stay in and around Giardini Naxos and Taormina. Everything was perfect - from service to food to views (of Etna) and beautiful, light, airy, comfortable rooms. The gardens are beautiful as is the restaurant. Our stay was truly special and we loved every minute of it. A perfect place to relax and to access the bustle of Taormina/Naxos from. Lovely, lovely mother and daughter running it too who made our family stay very comfortable.

Room Tip: all rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were on a group tour in Sicily and did not stay here this time - just had dinner.

Chef Russo and his staff provide an extensive number of courses of tasty Sicilian specialties which would each hold its own against 5-star restaurants. The villa provides a restful panorama of the area and the delicious appetizers served on the porch anticipate the culinary delights to come inside.

If you are going to stay here, be sure to coordinate your stay with his cooking dates!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Spent two nights here in June 2012. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff could not have been more welcoming and friendly. Francesca and her mother were delightful and their hospitality really enhanced our stay. We had lots of advice about the local area/where to eat etc. Unfortunately the restaurant is no longer open for guests and only seems to cater for private party bookings. Breakfasts were leisurely and included local produce. The only downside was that we were aware of noise from the road nearby, but maybe we were unlucky with the location of our room. However, the warmth and charm of the people here and indeed throughout our stay in Sicily, made this a truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Delightful accomodations among orchard trees and vegetation. Rooms were very clean and spacious. Guizy (mother) and Francesca (daughter who speaks English fluently) were completely helpful with all requests, including local directions and suggestions, printing airline boarding passes, dinner reservations, etc. Note: Guizy looks like Francesca's older sister! Dinner at their restaurant by Chef Alessandro Russo and waiter Alessandro (same name, no relation) was a wonderful reflection of local Sicilian dishes with many courses and excellent price value. Good wine, bread, and after dinner liquors were free with the meal. Chef Russo is a talented, warm and engaging person. Our first dinner was such a wonderful experience that we returned for dinner (ask for the fish dinenr) the following 2 nights of our stay. Unusual for us, since we had a rental car and could easily go anywhere. In fact, other tourists who were not guests at the hotel also returned for repeat performances. One night everyone celebrated the 60th birthday of one of the diners with song and champagne. Also San Marco Beach (sand, not rocks) was only 2 miles from the hotel and provided a restaurant, chairs, umbrellas, etc. I would highly recommend Antico Borgo for a "home away from home".

Room Tip: Print out directions provided by hotel on internet - a bit hard to find without the directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This restaurant was exactly what we had wanted to find in Sicily. Chef Alessandro Russo covered our table with wonderful plates of typical local food, all cooked to perfection. As regular diners and previously disappointed at our hotel, we were very impressed. If this chef starts a cookery school, I'll be the first guest!!! They are not open for dinner on Mondays but at other times dinner tends to be at 8pm.

The menu is fixed with a huge variety of platters brought to each table, there being fish one day and meat another. Chef and his waiter explained the content of each dish and occasionally my dictionary assisted. The set menu had 4 courses and included local wine and coffee, followed by a citrus drink and grappa was offered too. We paid 50 eu per couple for the all-inclusive meat and vegetable meal and another night, 70 eu per couple for the fish meal.

We were introduced to other diners, New Zealanders, Americans and Israelis - all well-travelled people, sharing experiences. There was even a birthday treat for one guest and bubbly was distributed all round and we sang 'Happy Birthday! Alessandro's daughter had a birthday party on another evening and the elevated dining room with its high beamed ceiling was filled with happy voices.

The meals made our holiday really special and I loved walking up the low-lit staircase from the car park to the house with fragrant jasmine flowers lining the way. Jasmine always reminds me of holidays. We spoke to guests about their stay at the hotel and they were all very happy. We will return and make this accommodation part of a Sicily tour, which some guests were doing by train and loved the experience.

We wish Alessandro Russo and assistants well at Antico Borgo Agriturismo. They certainly deserve it! The restaurant can be found by turning right (see white small restaurant sign for Antico Borgo) on the main road in Pasteria (Calatabiano) just after the Aqip petrol garage (on the right). Access to the car park and house is at the end of the road on the right. There is a sports pitch, floodlit in the evenings, on the left side. It is easier to find in the daylight initially.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

What a perfect introduction to Sicilian hospitality and lifestyle! This lovely place is on a private hilltop in the middle of their own orange and lemon orchards. We were there in spring and the combined scents of all the flowers was incredible. The rooms are tucked around the back of the building and are very quiet, dark and private. We felt like we were staying in a private luxurious home. The view of Mount Etna is great! Guisti, Valeria and Francesca were beyond wonderful, taking time to explain some of the details that helped make our experience go from great to exemplary, such as the best schedule for the trains and how to find nice places to walk. The village of Calatabiano is just far enough off the tourist path to feel like a real piece of Sicily, but lovely and enjoyable still.

Room Tip: The lowest level room at back is quiet and privat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antico Borgo Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Borgo Agriturismo

Address: Via Calatabiano Pasteria 8, 95011 Calatabiano, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Calatabiano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Calatabiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antico Borgo Agriturismo 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Antico Borgo Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Borgo Agriturismo Sicily/Calatabiano, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antico Borgo Agriturismo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.