We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Kilt

The Kilt
Via della Fontana 1 | 10050, Claviere, Italy
+39 0122 878051
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Claviere
Price range: $12 - $49
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Il ristorante pizzeria Kilt e situato nel comune di Claviere nel cuore delle valli olimpiche, sede dei giochi olimpici di Torino 2006. La casa, che ospita il locale, e una delle prime costruite a Claviere verso la meta del 1800. Il locale si presenta accogliente e luminoso. Il soffitto e caratterizzato da volte a crociera confluenti su una colonna centrale sita nel mezzo della sala. Soffermandoci sulla colonna, possiamo intravedere scolpito sulla pietra l'anno di costruzione 1854, e il cognome della famiglia che vi abitava. Originariamente, il locale era adibito a una stalla che serviva al cambio dei cavalli della diligenza postale che da Torino si spingeva fino a Briancon. Durante la seconda guerra mondiale, vi fu un passaggio di militari scozzesi i quali vi trovarono rifugio. Probabilmente forse in segno di amicizia o di gratitudine, il futuro locale che sarebbe sorto avrebbe assunto il nome Kilt. All'origine fu un night club e dopo la ristrutturazione avvenuta nel 1986 dagli attuali proprietari, il nome venne mantenuto. Il bancone del bar, come le porte e tutto il legno presenti in loco, provenne da una baita di Bardonecchia dei primi del 900 e contribui al rinnovo dei locali all'insegna del rispetto e preservamento dell'aspetto montano-naturalistico
Leicester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Will not return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Visited the Kilt on Christmas Eve, we had eaten there several years ago and had a lovely meal and great atmosphere, so thought we would return for a Christmas Eve dinner, food was lacking in both quantity and quality, steaks as tough as old boots, sauce was off and tasteless and at €21 I expected it to be eddible, pork dish served tepid, obviously not long enough in the microwave. Atmopshere non existant! Owner said he was sorry and offered a lemonciello, ruined christmas eve for 8 of us.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    46
    10
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
“Fantastic place with Amazing people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I found this cute restaurant with my mum during this summer after a walk in Claviere's mountains.
The food was so good that I decided to bring my Friends and it became like "the place to be" other there as you're receive like a king and people take really goog care of you. The boss has many funny stories about the area and advises too :-)
Just GREAT!!! Thank you to the team and see you soon during winter!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Kilt-We will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

After driving from Les 2 alpes and my husband cycling from there we were pleasantly surprised. The Owners and the staff were fantastic and the food was lovely especially the kids special pizzas. I think some of the restaurant owners in Les 2 Alpes should take lessons.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expat
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Don't be put off by the name, this is an Italian Restaurant, The title goes back to WW2 when some Scottish Officers stayed there and the name stuck. The Host was very attentive and speaks French and English as well as native Italian and who knows what else. The food was very good at a reasonable price and I would recommend the house Carafe of wine. You could not find better

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Worth the trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Should you ever be in Briancon, please go up the mountain for 15 km to arrive at The Kilt and have a splendid lunch or dinner. Too bad that we couldn't sample everything, so we will have to go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kilt also viewed

Claviere, Province of Turin
Claviere, Province of Turin
 
Claviere, Province of Turin
Claviere, Province of Turin
 

Been to The Kilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kilt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.