We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay, basic but ready to try and make everything as nice as possible for your stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roma Claviere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Claviere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Roma Claviere
via Nazionale 5, 10050 Claviere, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Claviere B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great place to stay, basic but ready to try and make everything as nice as possible for your stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

We took a school group from North London to stay here at February half term holiday, the purpose of the stay was to learn to ski. The hotel was incidental as a place to sleep, eat and socialise from. Read all the reviews before we went, who were those people who stayed there. Yes its 2 star, yes the rooms were basic but they all had showers which worked well and were hot yes the furntiure was well used but servicable and where we complained they repaired/amended it to make it okay, yes the building is stone/cement in the corriodrs but noisy, only if you went screaming down the corridor, the walls were not that thin, we had sixth formers and year 8's, they all manged to sleep well, yes the bootroom and ski store was easily accessible from the hotel and from there to the snow. Food was for the majority of time well cooked and once they knew we were serious eaters they cooked as much as we wanted, yes we had to demand extras salads but they tried to make sure we had vegetables as well. Biggest drawbacks were breakfast, very basic, and the two English meals they gave us, very poor fish fingers, baked beans in Italy? but the hotel staff had a sense of humour and continually tried to make sure everyone had food on their plate, the manager listened to complaints (at 2 star have you every stayed in a hotel where you never ask for something extra but she helped us out and was always willing to listen and help. The other school party in the hotel got along with us fine and shared the common areas so that we could all hold our meetings when we liked. Was it noisy with 90 students, of course it was at meal times, they were very excited but for the rst of the day it was absolutely fine. Go back yes we would because it made the skiing affordable, no luxuries but a good week away, basic but it served the needs of the students and staff and gave us access to the snow which is why we came.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

I was a little bit afraid of stying in that hotel after reading all theese negative comments. But fortunately hotel is not as bad as esribed. If you are ooking cheap hotel don't await luxury in your room. Hotel and rooms are very basic no tv no hair dryier o tee maker in the room, just beds and shower. But it was expected for such a low price. Breakfast in not english type but also not coffe and crossaint as I met in many places in Italy. I recommend this hotel for students not for families

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

i went to hotel roma in february 2010 with my school they charged us £750 including coaches and food which i suppose is okay. The rooms were spotless and i couldnt fault the clenliness of the hotel but everything i the room was falling apart ! there were no handels on the draws or the wardrobe ( and the wardrobe was tiny) and my friends door ended up falling off which ment they had to swap rooms and the beds were also breaking by the end of pur holiday. The staff were lovely and very helpful they were always willling to help us. The food wasnt that great but after you had been on the slopes for 3 hours you didnt care what it tasted like but there is a pizza shop down the road which we all used to walk to which was fine. The location of the hotel is amazing ! the veiws from the balconys were breath taking as you could see the slopes and the nature on them which would make amazing photographs. Overall my stay at this hotel was very enjoyable thanks to the staff of equailty ski shcool and the hotel staff ! THANK YOU on behalf of Cleeve Park School we felt very welcome i would reccomend this hotel for children on trips !

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

For a skiing holiday, it's all you need - a warm room, comfy bed, honest, wholesome food in good quantities and a short walk to the pistes. If you're looking for the frills - room service, TV/DVD player - forget it. You may also have to share (as we did) the hotel with several dozen noisy students, but just make sure when you book that you ask for a room as far away as possible from them. Certainly one of the more memorable ski hotels we've stayed at!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

The village in which this hotel is located has one cash machine. The door to it usually works on Tuesdays and Thursdays, the machine works only Monday to Wednesday, and there’s only cash in it from Monday lunch to Tuesday night. Got that? Well done.

This hotel does not accept credit cards and frankly finds the whole idea a bit outlandish, as though we’d asked where to park our wang-shaped jetpacks.

Still interested in booking? Ok, I'm just warming up.

We liked the location (3 hours white knuckle coach ride from Grenoble, 50 yards from the piste) and the way a balcony was accessible from every room. Obviously this makes every room accessible from the balcony too but that’s ok because the rooms didn’t lock very well anyway, or at all after the turn down service had ambled through, presumably to count the rooms, though we did see a mop once.

Our first night welcome dinner, having stressed that the kitchen was closed, was un-named meat and chips. On hearing that we had a vegetarian wilting into her tinned soup, the meat was removed and replaced, with a somewhat misguided amount of flourish, by two wedges of brie. They looked fairly preloved, so we chopped the nose off to avoid having them rinsed and returned the next night.

Evening meals from then: random hilarious mouthfuls served en masse from the Aldi platter, just too far apart to be considered the same course but there again, all placed on the same plate. Turns out that onion salad, sausage roll and mystery meat in gravy isn’t as nice as you’d think. We dug our way out with yesterday’s rolls on the third night and had a much nicer time in the local restaurants, which were excellent.

Breakfast: ham, cheese, rolls, jam, squash, cornflakes. Those aren’t category headers or my lazy way of saying “a range of continental cured meats and local cheeses accompanied by various bread products, fruit drinks and cereals”. Ham, cheese, rolls, jam, squash, cornflakes, every day, see other reviewer's photos. That wasn't her table, it was the whole buffet. Every day. Oh and Not-Nutella and that weird packaged toast-effect stuff that sucks all the saliva out of your tongue like a desperate bridesmaid. Good thing there was the occasional opportunity to serve myself some room temperature instant unidentified omni-quench and UHT or I could have become grouchy.

I think that the previous comments about the lack of accessories and conveniences in the rooms were a bit harsh. We had: 1 x rolling dust bunny the size of a child’s head to play with; 1 x Q-tip conveniently coated in earwax to save me the trouble; 1 x lovely soft chewing gum pressed into bathroom door jamb; some very creative and informative text scratched into the wardrobe door; many thrills and excitement every time the lights randomly flicked off; a fancy automatic floor flooding system activated on shower use; and a pleasantly figure hugging shower cubicle permitting water conservation by switching off tap with buttocks every time we bent down to pick something off the floor. It was pleasant to be able to return to the room at night and not have to go to the trouble of dropping new sock-lint on the floor, that morning’s being still there, and personally I prefer cleaning my own sink anyway.

I’ve now figured out how the whole floor cleaning thing is supposed to go. Bedroom floor is dirty. Shower leaks. Bathroom floor gets wet. Socks get wet. Socks pick up dirt. Dirt goes in ski boots. Ski boots go back to ski hire shop. Dirt builds up to rebuild soaking wet ski boot padding unable to cope with constant overuse. Ski boots now ready for next year. Hotel owner gets clean floor: ski hire shop gets repadded boots. Both invest heavily in athlete’s foot remedies and retire early. We buggered this up by using a hand towel as a bath mat, which immediately became filthy when I dried the floor with it. It was confiscated on the second day. We used our remaining hand towel for the same purpose, which was confiscated on the third day and replaced by a bath mat, which I used for drying my hands and face in lieu of a hand towel, on my knees on the floor, like a dog with an itchy muzzle.

Sure, you get what you pay for, we understand that this was very cheap for flights and half board. But this could have put a real dent in our holiday if we hadn’t seen the funny side and had the wherewithal to do something about it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I have stayed in many hotels and along with the Campanile at Coventry (aka Bates Motel) this is so far the worst I have encountered.

Firstly, the rooms are basic which I was expecting. However, I was also expecting the room to be clean. Not so. There was a layer of dust under the bed that was deeper than the snow in the piste. Not sure what the maid did everyday as I made my own bed but she did like to leave the door wide open. The bathroom is tiny and no mat is supplied for the floor. There are no hooks to hang towels so the option is to leave them on the the sink, loo or b-day whilst you shower. You wouldn't want to leave it on the floor. Shower cubicle is tiny and if you bend down to pick up your shampoo (not supplied and no shelf so you have to leave it on the floor) you switch the water off with your buttocks (and I'm only a size 8). That said water had a good flow and was always hot.

Food is bizarre. It was never served by table so you get one tiny spoon of something here, ten minutes later a tiny spoon of something that was supposed to go with the something served earlier. I say something because what is was could not be identified. Seems all the food came out of cans and the only breakfast option is cheese and ham cruty rolls, juice that isn't juice and some dry tastless crispies or cornflake things. Terrible! Dinner was so bad I only ate there twice. I would suggest that you frequent the local restuarants and eat some decent identifiable food.

The boot room had no lock so if you take your own kit lock it up or leave it in your room.

WARNING - The resort has one cash point machine. It gets filled on a Monday morning and is empty by Tuesday pm. Apparently it has been this way for the last four years. The hotel does not take cards so make sure you take enough cash to tide you over for drinks in the bar. Hard to believe that a Hotel in this day and age do not take credit cards.

Hospitality is non existent. Staff are miserable and surley and not at all engaging.

Finally, I will finish on a positive. The hotel is perfectly located for the piste.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

I too have travelled around the world a fair bit and found plenty of places far worse than Hotel Roma.

It is what it claims to be-a simple, basic hotel. OK, you're not getting a full English fry-up every morning for breakfast, but for the price you pay, you can hardly expect it. Similarly evening meals were not gourmet standard, but portions were plentiful and quality was satisfactory.

Our room was clean on arrival and cleaned daily. We had a balcony, plenty of hot water, a lift that worked, a ski boot room, a sensibly priced bar, and an admittedly dated games room.

It's a bit quirky-the waiter is rather reluctant to volunteer the coffee at breakfast but rude? No way.

It's located extremely close to the slopes, so in that respect couldn't be better

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Roma Claviere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma Claviere

Address: via Nazionale 5, 10050 Claviere, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Claviere
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Claviere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Roma Claviere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Roma Claviere to your Saves list