We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd return in a heartbeat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Moraine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caledon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on the Moraine
Save Saved
You added Inn on the Moraine to your Saves list
15535 Mount Pleasant Road, Caledon, Ontario, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Caledon B&B and Inns
Caledon, Canada
1 review
“We'd return in a heartbeat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Set on a picturesque and private country property, the Inn on the Moraine provides a relaxing place to stay whether you are on business or holiday. The Inn is clean, quiet, well equipped for the traveler's needs and lovingly furnished and decorated. The exceptional hosts Diane and Stan are welcoming and generous and understanding of privacy and all needs of the traveler: great beds, towels & toiletries, fridge, internet, TV, reading materials as well as sightseeing, nature trails and outdoor recreation brochures. Diane serves her home-baked breakfast loaves with fresh fruit, hot coffee and tea and any other food requests in the sunny breakfast nook. Although the location is in the country, small towns and the highway to Toronto are handy. We loved our experience and recommend reserving now, while there are still rooms available. Caron & Chris

Room Tip: Green room has a large walk-in closet & storage area but beds in both rooms are comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at the Inn on the Moraine for two nights in late November as we were attending a birthday party in nearby Bolton.

Hosts Diane and Stan were wonderful. They were warm and friendly and right away made us feel like we were family. Their lovely dog, Lacey, greeted us when we arrived and was so well behaved and gentle that you hardly knew she was there.

The Inn is set on 10 acres in the rural, rolling Caledon Hills north of Toronto, making for a lovely country getaway, away from the noise of the city. Our room was very quiet and peaceful and very dark at night. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The queen bed was quite comfortable and we slept well. There was lots of room in the walk-in closet for our stuff.

Because there is only one bathroom for the two available rooms, we paid the higher price so we could have exclusive use of the bathroom (they lock-off the other bedroom so there are no other guests). This arrangement also afforded us exclusive use of the huge, adjoining lounge, complete with huge, leather sectional couch, big screen TV and pool table (the room is probably referred to as a “greatroom” - so spacious with the cathedral ceiling!). Guests enjoy access to an extensive collection of DVDs. We brought our own drinks (there is a mini-fridge in the lounge) and snacks, and considering the cold, snowy weather we had, it was nice to stay in and relax with a movie.

The hot, home-cooked breakfast was plentiful and delicious. A real treat! We loved that our table by the window overlooked the back deck where so many species of birds came to feed just inches away on the window sill, in the adjacent trees, at the many feeders, and on the deck itself. One of the first snowstorms of the season left the surrounding evergreens heavy with snow and picture-postcard perfect so the view was quite beautiful.

Our only regret was that it was too cold and snowy to explore outside - it looked like a beautiful property. We will just have to come back in warmer weather.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

In a not too far-off place a birds eye view reveals a colorful portrait painted on a canvas of earthscape only nature canmasterfully create. Sweeping acres full of rolling green, gold & red dotted among the trees whose leaves seem to whisper in rythym with each pass of the autumn winds.

In Caledon you can taste the essence of the season at a very special place - a place where the balance of nature and humanity have come together to celelbrate the trinity of earth, wind and fire in a truly intimate way...a place where animal friends greet you with welcome sounds and sights...a place where the passage of time is embodied in the walls that provide you shelter and one where comfort and calm can be found under a century oak tree.

This wonderland glittering with natural beauty is the Inn On the Moraine - a quaint, historical iconic property dating back to the days of early pioneer settlement - preserved with the original log structure which still stands today and forms part of the existing Inn.

The proprietors of the Inn On The Moraine are Diane Tolstoy & Stan Janes - this wonderful team along with Lacey their adorable dog have become guardians to this wonderful property ready to provide an experience unique to each visitors tastes and needs. They are musical souls with an obvious love for the art as the property is decorated with instruments from all over the world - from drums to maracas, accordians and even guitars - there are wonderful examples of adorning the walls, shelves and hallways of their home. In perfect harmony Stan & Diane work together in all aspects to ensure each moment of your experience is complete and where possible will do all they can to exceed your expectation.

Not surprisingly, they are both highly recognized for their dedication and involvement in the Caledon community through numerous charity and service organizations including Rotary & Kinsmen. Having made great strides to bridge community groups to work in unison they have even initiated a Ride-Share program in co-ordination with regional police services to keep the community roads safer for everyone. Stan & Diane's exemplary community involvement stands as a testament to their kind, generous and thoughtful nature and this shows through in all they do particularly in operating the Inn On the Moraine.

As prominent members of the Caledon service community they extend their time, energy and resources participating in programs, initiatives, and projects that make a positive and lasting impression on the lives they touch.

There are so many reasons to consider a stay at this beautiful property. Located only 45 minutes north of Toronto, it provides for the ideal country get-away and a place for urban-types to get back to nature in a simple, unfettered way. Stan & Diane have made a deliberate effort to work at making each guest's experience as relaxing, and enjoyable as possible. From the home-cooked meals chock-full of organic farm fresh goodies to the delectable preserves, or sensory-rich teas every effort is taken to give you the most memorable stay possible.

The property and it's facilities are clean, modern and in excellent condition.

We highly recommend considering spending time at the Inn On the Moraine and hope you enjoy your time getting to know the property and it's owners as much as we did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Inn on the Moraine during our wedding weekend in Caledon. We chose the Inn on the Moraine since it was close to our wedding location (Royal Ambassador) and the scenery around the house was perfect for pre-reception pictures. Diane and Stan were incredible hosts - they went out of their way to ensure that the rooms would accommodate our wedding party and that our room for the wedding night was perfect! The breakfast in the morning was amazing and their dog Lacey was super adorable. The rooms were very spacious with great amenities. I would recommend Inn on the Moraine to anyone who is looking for a country getaway.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a room with more privacy then ask as for the room in the loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed with Diane and Stan on my way through Ontario. The setting is beautiful nestled in the rolling hills of Caledon. There is plenty of space for hikes or to just sit to read and relax Their home is perfectly appointed to welcome guests, and let you have privacy in well-appointed rooms with amenities. Breakfast accommodated my wheat-free diet, which was a pleasing surprise. Diane, Stan and their dog Lacey make you feel right at home, just like old friends :).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This B & B was far more than we expected. We were made to feel right at home, except their home is nicer. Diane and Stan couldn't have made us feel more comfortable. Lacey their dog was just the icing on the cake.
The food was terrific and having breakfast out on the deck was perfect.
It is one of those places where the first thing you notice late at night is how quiet it is. For those times when you don't want to go out if you can't find a movie to watch from their collection, well your not trying very hard.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our stay at the Inn on the Moraine was absolutely wonderful. My brother and I had traveled a long way to Bolton for our Uncle's funeral, so upon arrival to the Inn on the Moraine we were exhausted and very sad. Yet, from the moment I walked in to Stan and Diane's I felt at ease. I stayed in the Sage Room. The bed was extremely comfortable, the walk in closet huge, and the views from my room were beautiful. The open area upstairs was wonderful - a great place to relax and unwind after a busy day. Breakfasts were delicious, served hot, and even the coffee was tasty. The hosts, Stan and Diane, were very caring, and in my opinion had just the right balance of being able to make easy conversation with you, and yet completely respect your desire for privacy. Their dog is friendly, and very well mannered. This recommendation may be long, but I can't say enough about this bed and breakfast. Treat yourself to this great place if you are in the Caledon area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn on the Moraine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Moraine

Address: 15535 Mount Pleasant Road, Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Caledon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Caledon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Moraine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.