We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drop by and see something different” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheltenham Badlands

Cheltenham Badlands
Creditview Rd. and Old Baseline Rd., Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Attractions in Caledon
Type: Mysterious Sites, Museums
Attraction details
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Drop by and see something different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This weird area is a result of erroneous attempts at farming. It looks like a Martian landscape, and is near to beautiful scenery and the Spirit Tree where cider and local produce is served and sold. GO!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    35
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Feels like you are on a different planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

When you first see this place you cannot believe you are in Ontario. Great place to take pictures and hike around. Surprisingly busy on weekends, try to go Monday - Friday.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Running wild”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

While this isn't as spectacular as south Dakota, it is an interesting place for adults to see a rare geological sight. Where the place exels is as an exciting place for kids to run. With it's distinctive red shale and the endless ruts and hollows, its a wonderful place for kids to play.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem, unique - but so many people!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Woohoo! So much fun. Who knew there was such a place in Toronto. Although really unique and very unexpected in the middle of nowhere, seems like EVERYONE knows about it. People seem to come here in carloads, with lots of young kids.

Be prepared for the two way road to be stuck in traffic, and the shoulders covered in cars.

Kids will love this place. There's something about a child's imagination and innocence that will see this place as fun, as they run around, create their own games, race with their friends climb over these 'HUGE' mountains.

To us bigger people, it's still pretty cool too, to jump around the hilltops and walk in between crevices. If there weren't that many people, I think you can get som really cool camera shots.

It's dusty. Don't come in heels or shoes you don't want damaged. The red sediments/soil/dirts will dirty your shoes, and it's dry. I might be overreacting, but we were going to a nice lunch, and I would have wanted to climb and explore more but was limited by my footwear.

The badlands trickle to the sides where there is a forest with hiking trails. I would have liked to explore this more too.

I couldn't tell you when is the best time to go. Maybe early in the mornings or when it's really cold. I think this place will always be packed with people.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Majestic Nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I visited the Cheltenham Badlands in October 2012 during the autumn season when the weather was getting cool and the leaves were rapidly colours. I must say that this area is absolutely serene and full of beauty. The place itself has very unique rock and soil formations that almost make you feel as if you're on an entirely different planet (just take a look at some of the visitor pictures). The cause of this phenomenon is soil erosion and it has also made the ground a beautifully red colour.

The Cheltenham Badlands are only about an hour away from Toronto (where I live) and are truly worth seeing. It's not a very large area but you can definitely spend between 1-2 hours hiking several of the nearby trails or taking photos and walking around the rock formations themselves. It's also a fantastic place to have a small picnic or really work on those camera skills. If you're into nature and enjoying a unique surrounding, then this is definitely a must-see place for you!

The rock formation is almost like a museum or an artifact of nature, so it is also important to take care of this area and not abuse the privilege. Some people leave litter and damage the soil, but if they can just observe and take in all of the beauty, then that would be great. I highly recommend visiting this wonderful testament to nature. There is no fee to see this sight and it's perfect in the autumn when all of the colours are pronounced. Take a nice walk and simply enjoy the beauty of nature--you won't regret it!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheltenham Badlands also viewed

 

Been to Cheltenham Badlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheltenham Badlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.