We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kastell Dinec'h

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Treguier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kastell Dinec'h
Save
You added Hotel Kastell Dinec'h to your Saves list
Lieu-Dit "Le Castel" | Route de Lannion, Treguier, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Treguier
London
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hard to believe this is listed only as a three-star- attention to detail is superb and you won't find more attentive hosts. From locally sourced food to even using local building materials and hand-made furniture, this is a unique experience. Ideal for cycle tourists (with safe storage facilities) the rooms will allow visitors to relax in comfort and there is even an outdoor pool. Well worth booking a breakfast- all home-made of course. Such a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different- ask the host what each has to offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    23
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
60
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Dominique and Laurence are superb, attentive hosts. The Breton kir welcome drink got our stay off to a wonderful start. The dinner was delicious and included trout from the local river and the breakfast was abundant with home made brioche and preserves, crepes and a wide choice of Breton specialities.

The bed was very comfortable and the setting is very peaceful - all the ingredients for a good night's sleep. The decor in my room was a bit strange and a little tired but I understand it is due for renovation at the end of this season, otherwise the attention to detail was excellent.

I can recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys some pampering and good food and would love to return whenever I can.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eppstein, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Absolutely wonderful hotel. Dinner was a joy. French home cooking that tasted as beautiful as it looked (!!!!)

We booked a family room. It was a newly renovated spacious (two rooms plus an upstairs and two full modern gorgeous bathrooms). beautiful grounds ... absolutely SILENT through the night ... luxurious beds and bedding with pillows that make you wish you never had to get up ... but DO get up ... breakfast is a delight!!!

Homemade warm crepe brought to your table ... local yoghurt, FRESH warm bread from their kitchen ... croissant, homemade jams and preserves (if I could have smuggled the strawberry violette jam out with me, I would have!) ... cheese, ham, fruit, farm butter ... an entire table of goodies

You can see Laurence and Dominique truly love their hotel and enjoy what they do. We felt welcome from the moment we drove up...

Absolutely a highlight of our trip and a place I will make a point of trying to get back to when we are in the region again!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room ... if you have a family, this is a great deal ... a room with two twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto,CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were very impressed with the outstanding hospitality at Hotel Kastell Dinec'h. Dominique and Laurence could not have done more to take care of us and make us feel comfortable. We arrived late in the evening and hadn't had dinner. Dominique invited us into a comfortable sitting room, offered us appetizers, and brought such generous servings that we didn't need dinner.

We had chosen the least expensive room. While small, it was newly decorated and had a lovely brand new bathroom.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more to get larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horndean, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

What a little gem - would return time and again!! Laurence & Dominique were absolutely fabulous hosts, could not do enough for us. Our room was perfect, the attention to detail could not have been better. Breakfast superb - could not be faulted, wonderful selection of local produce including home-made conserves and lashings of coffee. The evening meal is something to behold, very relaxed, allows time to digest each course whilst you anticipate what is coming next. The all inclusive price is unbelievably good value for money. Dominique has a unique style, something that is a rare treasure, a chef extraordinaire. This is someone who can take a traditional Breton recipe, turn it inside out and upside down producing something very close to 3-star Michelin restaurant quality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Stayed just the one night in 'superior room' (No 15) Ate on the dinner 'deal' for 28 euros each in wine/coffee. Excellent welcome by the owners who have been en situ for about one year now. Very quiet setting with bedrooms in renovated outbuildings surrounding a rather tired looking courtyard. Our room quaint with only window in/through the bathroom. shower in the bath with no curtain/screen and so suspect wallpaper will soon become wet etc. Complimentary water in room but no fridge of course (as with most rooms in northern france).
Only real downside was the main course at dinner. Given choice of fish or meat. Chose fish . Overcooked tuna with tinned peas and sloppy cauliflower. Such a shame. Pudding was just the opposite and very sophisticated. Beautiful dining room and good breakfast. Perhaps we were just unlucky. Owners clearly very hands on and anxious to please but perhaps need to eliminate the minor negatives before too long.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2008

We stayed for 5 nights in June 2007. Our only problem was the torrential rain that we experienced for the whole of the 5 days and that was not the fault of the hotel!
We had a charming room, I think it was a converted stable. The bedroom was small but there was ample storage. Our bathroom was big and spotlessly clean. The hotel grounds are beautiful and although there are houses nearby you can't see them or hear the residents. There are fabulous old trees and lots of cosy nooks to sit with a book - provided it isn't raining!
We had dinner, bed and breakfast and I could not fault any of the meals. Unlike a previous reviewer, I loved the breakfasts. A delicious variety of home made breads and jams. As far as I recall there was fruit available also. We had some excellent and unusual starters and main courses for dinner. My partner adores duck and raved about the duck he was served. I loved a very interesting pastry mussel dish with a superb sauce.
Dinner is quite a formal affair but the staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the dining room has a relaxed atmosphere. The main house is superb with wonderful paintings and quirky architectural details. Because of the weather we never got to use the pool but it looked most inviting. I would love to return to this hotel on a sunny day and enjoy all it has to offer. On the morning we were leaving, the chef, who is married to the daughter of the house, made us delicious sandwiches for our journey. We had not ordered them and he expected no payment for them. It was a kindness on his part. This is not a cheap hotel - wine, after dinner drinks etc. are much more expensive than in the local pubs but if you want a comfortable, relaxed, interesting hotel with the personal touch it's an excellent choice

  • Liked — The food and gardens
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kastell Dinec'h? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kastell Dinec'h

Address: Lieu-Dit "Le Castel" | Route de Lannion, Treguier, France
Location: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Treguier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Treguier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kastell Dinec'h, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.