We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Pomme D'Amour

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marigot Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Pomme D'Amour
| PO Box MG 7207, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We spent the first two weeks of August at Villa Pomme d'Amour and had a fantastic time. The villa is very pretty, decorated with taste, the appartments are clean and functional, the pool is crystal clear and surrounded by tropical gardens. What a pleasure to swim after sunset, listen to the frogs melody and watch the stars...
Josee and Pierre are perfect hosts. They helped us with everything, from renting a car to finding the best restaurants. We really enjoyed visiting the soufriere area, mud baths and waterfalls. We would also recommend renting a catamaran (bateau mygo at marigot bay). We went down to Sugar beach, great place for snorkeling, and on the way we were lucky to see whales, dolphins and turtles! kids were delighted. Merci beaucoup a Josee et Pierre xxx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
133
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had such a great time that I fear I'll gush on too long if I'm not careful here. Suffice it to say, my wife and I had an absolutely wonderful stay at Villa Pomme D'Amour! The property is wonderful, in a great location, and Pierre is a wonderful host - sadly we didn't get to meet Josee, who was out of the country. We traveled all around Saint Lucia and we found Marigot Bay to be a lovely and convenient home base - and very close to several good restaurants, including Chateau Mygo (more low-key but very good), and Rainforest Hideaway (fancier and definitely excellent). The villas are in a great private location, are sufficiently spacious and comfortable, and the kitchens are well-equipped. The cove that others have mentioned is just a short walk away, is very private, and is great for snorkeling. You can easily walk to town in <10 minutes or drive, and there is a grocery which you can use to supply your kitchen for home dining. Pierre was always at the ready for any of our needs - restaurant advice, local tips, really anything, including a trip from the airport complete with lots of information about the area.

Tips - Buy some bug spray as you need it anytime you're hanging out on the porch. We keep things wide open at night for good airflow and kept the mosquitos away with the several fans provided - we didn't use the mosquito net. If you are a light sleeper consider a white noise sound machine or app for your phone. The frogs, birds, and other wildlife are noisy at night :) Do rent a car! We got one of Andrew's 4x4s that Pierre can arrange for you. There's so much to see that we feel you've got to have your own car.

We would definitely come back and can wholeheartedly recommend Villa Pomme D'Amour to anyone who like us, has little interest in resorts! You will love it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A really fantastic stay. Didn't get to meet Josee but Pierre was fantastic. My (new) wife was very impressed with the place. This is perfect for a couple or a family who want to do a little of their own cooking. The cove is actually a great snorkling spot. One of the best places I've stayed on a holiday and at a good price. Top marks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We, my boyfriend and I, spent 5 relaxing nights in Villa Pomme D'Amour in April 2013. The property is operated by a couple, Josee and Pierre, originally from Canada. We stayed in the apartment on the first floor of the villa next to the main house with ocean views, and were very pleased.

MANAGEMENT
Josee and Pierre were very accommodating and friendly. We asked many questions about St. Lucia and activities one can do. Josee has a wealth of information not only on Marigot Bay but the entire island. She sat us down and explained, over a map of St. Lucia, what we can do where, where good food can be found, etc. She went out of her way to arrange activities for us from dinner reservations to booking a guide. Pierre, on our first night there when we didn’t have a car, gave us a ride to the Marigot Bay village for our dinner.
LOCATION
Excellent spot nestled in the lush greenery on the side of a hill with gorgeous views of the sea. Villa is surrounded by lovely garden with flower and fruit trees. It was very quiet place except for the sound of the wildlife and the sea, sounds that we loved listening to. We enjoyed swimming in the private cove just below the property (it can be accessed by a somewhat steep descent – wear good shoes if the ground is wet!). When we visited the cove, we were the only ones there. The pool with ocean views is a great as well. Marigot Bay village is located approximately 10-15 minute walk from the villa – steep descend/ascend, wear good shoes:-)
SERVICES
Villa is a self catering place and breakfast, lunch and dinner can be had in the on your own private large deck. If you would like to venture out and enjoy a nice evening, there are few places just in the village of Marigot Bay - Rainforest Hideaway and Doolittles just to name a few. The village also has a small convenient store where you can pick up essentials and a baguette store. You can enjoy drink either on your patio or by a great pool with ocean view. They provide beach chairs and beach towels as well.
On the day of our arrival, Pierre greeted us at the airport and gave us our little private tour of the island with a stop for a refreshing beer (Piton) on our way to Marigot Bay. He also stopped in the supermarket for us. Josee welcomed us welcomed us with a pitcher of rum punch and stocked out fridge with breakfast essentials (eggs, milk, butter, cereal, beer (thumbs up) and fruit from the lovely garden).
ROOMS
Our apartment was located on the first floor of the villa next to the main house. It was a two bedroom with living room w/full size kitchen and bathroom with shower. The apartment was tastefully decorated and is kept in good condition.
ACTIVITIES
Villa Pomme D'Amour was a great base for us. We enjoyed reading our books on the patio, especially during the rain (it rained an entire day) and swimming in the pool. If you would like to take a water taxi along the coast or do some kayaking, those are great for Marigot Bay. If you would like to explorer the island, a car is a must. Josee can help you arrange that. In one day, you can climb the Pitons (the views are better along the way; not much to see from the top – faces inland), stop for a lunch at Ladera resort (located on the hill just between the Pitons; gorgeous view and great refreshing pool) and stop at Sugar beach (it was ok; nothing to rave about). You can also check out “Orlando’s” in Soufriere where the staff is friendly and food is good but portions are small. Or you can opt for hiring a water taxi and take a tour along the shore w/ some good snorkeling.
OTHER
Villa is located in the rainforest part of St. Lucia: pros - lush greenery with beautiful flowers; cons – hungry mosquitoes. They were particularly hungry around us but mosquito spray in combination with coil (some people do not lie the smell of it but it helps) and spreading mosquito net above your bed at night w/ fan on solves the problem. Josee will give you some great tips on how to make sure the mosquitoes will leave you alone at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We visited the Villa Pomme D'Amour on our honeymoon week in April 2013. The villa is a little piece of paradise right by Marigot Bay on the West side of the island. Our room had two bedrooms, a living room, a balcony, and a full kitchen. It was perfect!

Josee and Pierre are St Lucia's perfect hosts: friendly, generous, and helpful. Pierre picked us up at the airport and gave us our first tour of the island on our drive home, where Josee greeted us with the best rum punch of our entire stay and a snack of delicious bruschetta. Our room was the top story of the villa, but all the rooms have a charming view of the little bay, neighboring hills, and (of course!) the swimming pool. Josee met us on our first morning us with maps, route recommendations, and tips for the best restaurants, meals, beaches, etc. She even arranged our car rental! The villa is clean, beautifully appointed, and very welcoming--previous guests have left an assortment of useful items such as bug spray and kitchen spices in the rooms as well, which is very useful, and of course if you need anything during your stay, Josee and Pierre will help you find it.

Our trip would not have been nearly as effortless or enjoyable without Josee and Pierre's help--they took all the legwork out of our vacation, leaving us free to simply enjoy being honeymooners in the Caribbean. They're incredibly friendly and give the ultimate in personalized service. We enjoyed getting to know them and hearing their stories as well--something you can't really do if you stay at a huge resort!

We can't recommend the Villa Pomme D'Amour enough. If you are considering a vacation or a honeymoon in St. Lucia, look no further. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Everything about our stay at Villa Pomme D'Amour met or exceeded our expectations. We were met at the airport by Pierre, a wonderfully personal touch that allowed us to relax and enjoy the drive across the island as he described the sites along the way. When we arrived at the villa, Josee greeted us with rum punch (delicious, make sure to ask for the recipe!) and bruschetta out on the balcony overlooking the beautiful little cove that is just a short walk down the hill. We immediately felt right at home! The villa was exactly as we had imagined. The inviting balcony is surrounded by lush greenery and has an outdoor dining table, comfortable chairs, and a charcoal grill. Louvered doors across the front open out onto the balcony and give the villa a very airy feeling, like you are in a tree-top retreat. There is no air-conditioning, but we didn't miss it with all the fans and breezes with the windows open. We loved listening to the wildlife at night with the waves breaking in the background. There is wifi access that is good for checking email or checking out a website but nothing streaming. The fridge was stocked with plenty of food for several breakfasts, and Pierre drove us down to Marigot Bay our first night for dinner before we had our rental car. They really go the extra mile to make sure you are comfortable! Josee provided us with a detailed map on our first morning and described various places of interest and landmarks along the way. You will definitely want a car to be able to visit some of the other beautiful areas on the island (including Pigeon Island and the Pitons), but be prepared for some intense and hilly driving! The fairly central location makes the villa a perfect home base for exploring the island. Josee made excellent recommendations for our excursions and took care of the reservations for whatever we wanted to do. One our favorite activities was taking the water taxi tour for the day with Yatta and Lance which included stops at several great snorkeling spots, amazing cliff and Piton views, and lunch in Soufriere. You will get much more personal service staying here than at any of the all-inclusives. Josee and Pierre's hospitality was the icing on the cake of this wonderful anniversary trip. This place is a gem!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view from the second story villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I could not agree with wanderlust8412's review more! We were on the trip with them and stayed at Pomme D'Amour and it was absolutely fabulous. My husband was very reluctant to go on a vacation that wasn't all inclusive but Josee and Pierre made the trip so easy for us that we would not hesitate to do it again. Wonderful hosts, beautiful island, great food and fun locals ... who could ask for more!?

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Pomme D'Amour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pomme D'Amour

Address: | PO Box MG 7207, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Marigot Bay
Also Known As:
Villa Pomme d`Amour Hotel Marigot Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Pomme D'Amour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Pomme D'Amour to your Saves list