We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great meals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainforest Hideaway

Rainforest Hideaway
North Side, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia
+1 758-451-4485
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Marigot Bay
Price range: $50 - $60
Cuisines: Caribbean, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located on the waterfront in a bay described by American travel writer, James Michenor, as the "most beautiful bay in the Caribbean" - Rainforest blends into the mangroves and has been described in the Wall Steet Journal as one of the most romantic restaurant locations in the world. Fine dining in a rustic and casual atmosphere - with service and food standards to match any international restaurant - the theme of Rainforest is "Magical Dining in Marigot Bay". Let it be the highlight experience of your St Lucia vacation. Now open every night of the week. Live Jazz on Wednesday and Saturday. Special Taxi arrangements from Rodney Bay - call 286 0511 or 451 4485 for Taxi details
Scarborough, Tobago
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“great meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

one of the popular eating areas in Marigot bay. there is a good happy hour. Nice jazz on thursday nigh. the food is great and there is a ferry that takes you to the restaurant freely or u can follow the boardwalk from Marigot beach cub and resort.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Latoyaa1

Thanks for your lovely review of Rainforest. I think that the famous "Marigot Magic" got to you that night (or maybe the rum cocktails) because every hour at Rainforest is a "happy hour" and the Live Jazz is on Wednesdays and Saturdays - not Thursday..! It's easy to lose track of time in Paradise......

The boardwalk links us to the La Bas beach - an interesting walk through the mangroves - and offers an alternative to the direct ferry - but you still have to take the ferry to the beach. The fact that we can only be reached by boat is very special and appreciated in many of our customer reviews...

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    344
    107
    45
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Top class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Our experience with the RFH started with a call to our hotel from the owner John. We had been given a gift voucher and he was calling to make sure we had received it ok and to inform us on the opening times and that booking would be advisable to avoid disappointment. A great start to the service that continued from the moment we stepped off the watertaxi to getting back on.
Friendly attentive staff, who seen to our every need, food and service with a smile that was by far the best we had on our trip so far. We intend returning again to St Lucia and the Rainforest Hideaway experience will be 1 of the top reasons why.
Great service. Great food. Great music. What more can I say.
O&D

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Oisin M

Thank you for your very positive review of the Rainforest experience and service. We do try very hard - and we appreciate the feedback. The staff will be very motivated by your comments and we look forward to serving you again on your return trip

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food with amazing view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our experience at this restaurant was amazing! I use the word "experience" because there is no way to get to the restaurant except for a short water taxi ride in Marigot Bay. When you get there, the restaurant is right on the water. Our table was inches from the ocean and we could see fish and water creatures swim by.

The food and service was very good. We would definitely go back to this restaurant. Just be aware it is a bit of a drive if you are staying at the Sandals Grande Resort but worth it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear trhodes446

Thanks for your review of Rainforest. So glad you enjoyed the "experience" from ferry boat ride to the food and service.

You have highlighted one of our problems - we are a little distance from the tourist centres in Rodney Bay (and Soufriere) but, like you, diners who make the 30-40 minute journey generally find it worth it. But check we are open first - we are now on our Summer schedule - open Wednesday through Saturday but closed Monday through Tuesday. We still have live jazz on Wednesdays and Saturdays all Summer.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt island, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Rainforest evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We waited all week to eat here as we found out they are only open Wed. To Sat. Thru the summer. The food was good but quite expensive, but your on vacation so what the hell, right? My one complaint the evening we were dining was that there was a table behind us with a husband and wife with (3) small winery kids. I almost couldn't control myself. They should have put them in a family area, not with couples dining. I know kids got to eat too, but this is not McDonalds. Most of the tables are set overlooking the bay, so the atmosphere is nice. They have specials which include appetizers and dessert. The staff is attentive to your needs, however no one on this island (not just here) believes in giving you much ice with your drinks. There must be a commodity on ice down here. Ha! Great restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Sweepygolf14

Thanks for your review of Rainforest - which was very positive despite the distraction of the whingeing kids. I was aware of the problem as the family in question dined three times at Rainforest during their vacation in Marigot.

It raises a very difficult issue. We are largely an adult restaurant but we cannot discriminate against families with children - and particularly those staying at our adjacent property, Mango Beach Inn, which is the only B&B in the bay which accepts children. We can only hope that the parents are sensitive to the effect their kids have on other diners and can manage them. Most can and do - and we have had some very positive experiences with families who want to expose their kids to a more sophisticated environment than McDonalds. In this case - but maybe not on your night - our staff took the children away to the bar and entertained them when they became fractious. When the Manager tried to seat this family as far as possible from the other diners, they appeared resentful that they were being denied the ambiance enjoyed by others.

Although these were unusual circumstances, I appreciate the problem this can be for couples seeking to enjoy an uninterrupted dinner and we will take some positive steps following this incident. In future we will seat families with small children in a different area whenever possible.

Your feedback is appreciated - and I apologise for the inconvenience you suffered.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere....good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very nice "island" restaurant. Upscale, nice service and presentation. Food was very good. Use the "Off" that they keep in cans at the front desk - you'll be glad you did, especially if it's been raining.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Allegra15

Thanks for your positive review of Rainforest Hideaway. It is an inescapable fact that we have mosquitos in the tropics and their numbers increase during rainy periods. For ecological reasons we are not prepared to "fog" the property with chemicals which destroy all the species - including those that eat mosquitos themselves - but we do light mosquito coils throughout the bar and restaurant and keep a selection of sprays for those affected.

From your review it would seem that the mossies didn't spoil your evening..!

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Hideaway also viewed

Castries, Castries Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Rainforest Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainforest Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.