We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining in a stunning setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainforest Hideaway

Rainforest Hideaway
North Side, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia
+1 758-451-4485
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Marigot Bay
Price range: $50 - $60
Cuisines: Caribbean, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located on the waterfront in a bay described by American travel writer, James Michenor, as the "most beautiful bay in the Caribbean" - Rainforest blends into the mangroves and has been described in the Wall Steet Journal as one of the most romantic restaurant locations in the world. Fine dining in a rustic and casual atmosphere - with service and food standards to match any international restaurant - the theme of Rainforest is "Magical Dining in Marigot Bay". Let it be the highlight experience of your St Lucia vacation. Now open every night of the week. Live Jazz on Wednesday and Saturday. Special Taxi arrangements from Rodney Bay - call 286 0511 or 451 4485 for Taxi details
Southam, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fine dining in a stunning setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A beautiful setting and a mouthwatering menu. Could The Rainforest Hideaway live up to its promise? Well, yes it could. The food was a delight, especially the seabass, and the service was formal but friendly. We liked it so much we went twice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Jonesrhodes

Thank you for your review of Rainforest. Because of the reviews we have received most patrons expectations are set very high - and it is a constant challenge to meet or exceed them. The staff will be delighted to know we did so on both occasions that you dined with us.

The Chilean seabass is a superb fish - much higher quality than local fish - but we create a Caribbean dish by partnering it with a Creole croquette and a local apricot sauce - quite different from the apricots we are accustomed to. I spoke last evening with a Chef visiting from Teluride, Colorado - who was very enthusiatic about the dish.

Many thanks for your feedback

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    112
    47
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“When you're finally tired of fried fish and jerk chicken...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a lovely meal! Really delicious, French style, and impeccable service. A great way to feel properly spoiled.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear planitiki

Thanks for your very positive review of Rainforest - which the staff will find very motivational. Thanks also for staying with us for your honeymoon at Mango Beach Inn - the "sister" facility to Rainforest - and for the lovely review of your stay there.........

Best regards

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waddesdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Disappointing after all we had read.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Seeks to be very special and didnt quite make it. The setting is romantic but having booked a few days earlier and asked for a waterside table we were disappointed to find that they appear not to reserve tables, when we arrived at 7.30 all the best tables were already taken and we were plonked in the middle with no views. The food was good and very well presented but as a word of advice the risotto isn't, it's standard rice. Whilst expecting locally caught fish we were commended the Chilean sea bass as 'really the best option for fish' and the profiteroles were poor- it was explained that making choux pastry is very difficult in these temperatures. To be fair they replaced this with cheese cake but if its difficult why put it on menu? It's clearly very popular but be wary of having too high an expectation.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Kevin H

After 24 consecutive 5 star reviews in the last 6 weeks we were bound to let someone down - and I am very sorry that it was you..! I am pleased that you found the food good and very well -presented, but I must address your other comments.

We cannot reserve specific tables as we are a very small restaurant - under 50 covers - and everyone wants a "waterfront" table. Our policy is that we give diners the best available table at the time they are seated. Since we start serving dinner from 6.00pm - and we are very busy in season - by 7.30pm it is likely that all the waterfront tables have gone. 7.30 is the most popular seating time. A suggestion is to eat earlier or later - when the first tables have turned.

Having said that, the restaurant is rectangular and bordered on three sides by water - the bay to the south and west and the dinghy dock to the east with its famous underwater lighting giving an aquarium effect. The restaurant is 17 feet wide. We have tables on the waters edge and a few along the median line - but no table is more than 9 feet from the water....even this must be closer than any other restaurant in St Lucia. As for "no views" - I think you mean "no clear and unobstructed views" since you can actually see the water in at least two directions from almost any table.

With respect to the local fish, we continue to have major problems in sourcing a consistent supply of good quality local fish because of the methods of fishing here. Most locally caught fish sit in the bottom of a pirogue fishing boat for half the day - exposed to the full heat of the sun without ice. It is way past its best by the time it is landed. We do serve it - but the Chilean sea bass is much better - as you were advised. Our policy is to use the best product and create a Caribbean dish by using local ingredients in the sides and sauces. A Chilean who visted recently raved about the sea bass..!

I do not understand your comment about "standard rice" - as we only use arborio rice in the risotto. Perhaps that evening it was not up to normal standard - for which I apologise.

Your point in respect of the choux pastry is well taken. Our kitchen is too small to have a separate, enclosed, air conditioned pastry section and we should not attempt such a difficult dish in such circumstances. All the other deserts on the menu at present are superb - so we will drop the profiteroles.

Thank you for your feedback.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Silver, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dance to elegant jazz and dine on finest fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We ferried over the bay at sunset to experience a magical Marigot Bay evening of fine dining, and dancing to live Jazz.
Drinks, wine, dinner were all spectacular.
Dinner for four, 455.00us + tip

Do not miss this Very special evening,!

Joe & Sarah

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Joe & Sarah - "coastalbiztravel"

I am so very pleased that you enjoyed your evening at Rainforest Hideaway. Our Live Jazz nights on Wednesdays and Saturdays are very special - and it sounds like every element of your evening came together perfctly.....magic in Marigot Bay..!

Many thanks for your review. Feedback that will leave the whole team glowing with pride..

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“i wish i could eat there every night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

excellent service, wonderful food, spectacular scenery well worth the price hop off the water taxi and you are in paradise

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Michael N

Many thanks for your very positive review of Rainforest. The staff will be very motivated by your comments.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Hideaway also viewed

Castries, Castries Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Rainforest Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainforest Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.