We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere and views but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rainforest Hideaway

Rainforest Hideaway
North Side, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia
+1 758-451-4485
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $60
Cuisines: Caribbean, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located on the waterfront in a bay described by American travel writer, James Michenor, as the "most beautiful bay in the Caribbean" - Rainforest blends into the mangroves and has been described in the Wall Steet Journal as one of the most romantic restaurant locations in the world. Fine dining in a rustic and casual atmosphere - with service and food standards to match any international restaurant - the theme of Rainforest is "Magical Dining in Marigot Bay". Let it be the highlight experience of your St Lucia vacation. Now open every night of the week. Live Jazz on 4 nights - Monday, Wednesday Thursday and Saturday. Special Taxi arrangements from Rodney Bay - call 286 0511 or 451 4485 for Taxi details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good atmosphere and views but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Nice position, good atmosphere, good well presented food. Extremely overpriced based on London standards. They try to be something they are not!

Chicken and fish over cooked which was disappointing.

Very surprisingly they charge $3 US for a glass of tap water! Bizarre!!! Outrageous!!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear "Nelislamprecht"

Thank you for your feedback on Rainforest Hideaway - but I must comment on some of your observations and correct a mistake.

We do not ever serve "tap water" in the restaurant. Though standards of purification by WASCO here are adequate for most purposes, they are less than guests are accustomed to in North America or Europe - and we have known of people suffereing mild stomach problems through drinking local water. It is therefore our policy to only serve mineral water and we stock a number of local and imported brands. If a guest orders a glass of mineral water - as opposed to a full bottle - the charge is EC$4.00 - not US$..!

You comment that we are "extremely overpriced based on London Standards". I am not entirely sure what you mean by this - but we do from time to time meet people who make the assumption that because St Lucia is a "third world" country it should be cheap. If you consider that almost every item in our business, from the main food items to the crockery, ovens and fridges and the buckets used to clean the floor have to be imported and suffer high freight costs, duties and taxes - our cost base is probably higher than most London Restaurants. Many previous TripAdvisor reviews have pointed out that both our prices - and our qualities - are comparable to those of major cities in developed countries - and I am comfortable with that.

I am also mystified by your comment that they "try to be someting they are not". What we try to be is a romantic waterfront restaurant providing a fine dining exerience and generally much higher standards of service than are normally found in St Lucia. This comes at a price - but 85% of the 255 TripAdvisor reviews we have had in the last three years confirm that we are achieving this. We are not complacent and are always looking for constructive feedback so we can improve every element of our business - but changing our basic offering is not something that is considered necessary...

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    132
    58
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis CA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve Dinner was fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I wanted to come to this establishment as soon as I decided to visit the Island. A wonderful British Lady did her very best to make this dinner happen for myself and husband when calling for a reservation on the 24th in the AM. Yes...reservations at 9:30 pm.

When we got there I could see how much the staff cared about the guests dining experience. A few employees were entertaining some very board hyper children so their parents and other guests could enjoy the evening. Clearly going above and beyond what is expected. I fault the parents for their intolerable behavior expecting other people to watch their children. Pay for a Nanny!! If you can afford to come to this island clearly you have enough money to pay for child
care.
Service was excellent and so was the food. Even though we were one of the last parties to leave we were not rushed.

Lovely dinner!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear DeborahS

Thank you for your very positive review of Rainforest on Christmas Eve. We are so pleased that we could accommodate you at short notice. It is often the case - even when we are fully booked - that we can find space if people don't mind eating late....

I was in the bar myself for part of the evening and was very pleased to see Sophie "child-minding" so that other diners were not disturbed by the "hyper" children. I hasten to add this is not a usual situation.........in defence of these seven or eight children, they had all just arrived in St Lucia from the Canary Islands on the Atlantic Rally for Cruisers (the ARC) having spent three weeks cooped up on sailboats. I am not surprised therefore that their energy levels were high and their parents might have become a little relaxed....having borne a lot of responsibility during the Atlantic crossing with young children...! It only happens once a year - but we really enjoy having the sailors visit Rainforest and Marigot Bay

Glad you enjoyed the food and service.

Best regards

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best dining in Marigot Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Exquisite food, and personal service. Loved the dock and and the lights giving a glow to the water and fish.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC / London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We went one a week that was seemingly dead for the area and were literally the only people there. That didn't bother me though as we got an ultra friendly waitress (Rachel if my memory is working) and the food.. well we did not have anything bad. It's not cheap nor should it be.

The manager was friendly too and have a good talk with him. Highly recommend this place! I'd say it was the best in the bay.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Nice atmosphere at night. You can see fish swimming in the lit blue water. Check menu before you go as it is very limited.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Hideaway also viewed

 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Rainforest Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainforest Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.