We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To a good end ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Marigot | P.O. Box 7227, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia (Formerly Discovery at Marigot Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“To a good end ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Was staying in St. Lucia for 3 weeks and stopped in by the Capella resort for a weekend. The first day experience was terrible, the A/C in the room didn't work when we returned from dinner so they moved us to a room that smelled like it was painted that day. Woke up with a massive headache and that was not from the rum. My complaints was ignored till I had drinks at the rum cave and mentioned it to the food and beverage manager. ( Glenn Sorensen ) He immediately corrected all the issues and the rest of the stay very delightful and the experience will stay forever!

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
33
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I am travelling with my wife and 11 month old baby and we are on day 2 of 7 of our vacation and we are very impressed to date.
When we arrived at the airport we made our way to the Capella stand and we were greeted with a huge smile and generous young lady. We were offered a cold towel, cold water and a welcome treat. She also took our drink order for our welcome beverage once we arrived the hotel. We arranged private transportation to the hotel and we had the pleasure of being picked up by Albert in his clean Mercedes. Albert drove very cautiously and even took the long way to the hotel as he wanted to make sure the ride was smooth and safe for our baby. Needless to say we are going to book Albert for our other day trips.
When we arrived the hotel we were once again greeted with wonderful smiles by the entire staff and Petal was wonderful at check in. We were pleasantly surprised to receive a complimentary upgrade and we have a beautiful pool side room with our own hot tub.
So far the food has been great and we particularly enjoyed the poolside sushi today. Mid afternoon at the pool one of the employees brought around fresh coconuts and cut them open for coconut water for everyone sitting pool side. A very refreshing treat.
We are already upset out trip ends in 5 days and I will update trip advisor at the end of our trip.
Don't hesitate if you are unsure. This is paradise.
Scott and Julie

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeroen Q, General Manager at Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Greetings! What a sweet review, thank you so much! I hope your vacation continues to be just as amazing as it has been thus far. Your baby is so well-traveled!

Jeroen Quint, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I recently stayed at Capella for 10 days, booked through Kuoni. We arranged our holiday very late and therefore had limited choice of hotels in the Caribbean and Mexico.

We were attracted to Capella by the pictures of a turquoise lagoon and the appeal of a "bustling marina with a wide range of shops and restaurants" together with a "nearby beach accessible by complimentary shuttle that offers crystal waters you would expect from a Caribbean resort". Unfortunately Capella does not deliver on any of the above.

The water in the bay is dark green and looks more like something from the Lake District in England - all photos you may see of turquoise water in the bay are photoshopped. In front of the hotel are parked a number of large super yachts which are there all year round and obscure the view of the bay completely from both the pool area and the lower rooms.

We booked a bay view suite - on arrival we were led to our room which was on one of the lower floors and were shocked by the view - whilst technically the balcony faces the bay, it is far from a 'bay view'. You get a view of some trees, an unused staging area for corporate events, the back of a yacht and a small patch of the green water from the bay. We immediately complained and were shown the view from a couple of other rooms further up. However the view from all rooms, with the exception of the penthouse is obscured by trees or the back of the main hotel complex. We asked Kuoni for a transfer to another hotel and subsequently were offered a penthouse suite which offers a view you would expect from a bay view room - we accepted.

However, we then explored the "marina" to find it is merely a planked walkway to a few outhouses, most of which are closed, concluding with a couple of dusty, empty restaurants. Monaco, this is not. We asked the Kuoni rep what was going on and were we missing something to be told that yes indeed we were, and in fact there was a much more buzzy vibrant marina with beach on the other side of the bay. What did we find? A brown area of sand with a few deck chairs leading on to an unappealing area of sea together with a bunch of shacks manned by locals who are aggressive sellers and generally quite intimidating. There is also a restaurant 'Doolittles' which is universally acknowledged as having terrible food and owned by a brash English man who sits on a stool to welcome you puffing away on a large cigar. A real pity as this is the only place from the bay you can get a good view.

The actual hotel accommodation, once in a penthouse suite, is of a good standard. The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms are huge as are the balcony with private jacuzzi. The pool area is pleasant enough and was not at all crowded. Quite the opposite-it all seemed quiet which given the size of the resort would indicate it is largely unoccupied. Aside from the fact the pool area does not offer a view of the bay, it is well maintained and nicely fitted out.

The service is also very good. People are exceptionally helpful and warm (call out to Dean our porter who we particularly liked). There is a small issue in that on occasion the attentiveness can be a bit too much. You are greeted by every person you walk past including gardeners, waiters, receptionists etc. and when eating you can barely finish a sentence with your partner before you are interrupted by pleasantries. But really we are being picky here. Another issue is that service charge is included on everything you buy -whether it is a poolside snack or drink, you are charged an additional 10%. Therefore it is unclear whether they want additional tips for their attentiveness or are genuinely being nice.

There are two restaurants in the hotel although to be honest they may as well provide a single restaurant with a menu that has some variety and choice. Your options are effectively 5 different cuts of steak, chicken marinated 3 different ways, and 3 different fish. All fine but not when you are staying 10 nights! The speed of service is painfully slow. On one evening, two courses took 2 hours to serve up. There is a restaurant across the bay called Rainforest Hideaway which is rated the best on the island (we also visited the second best, Windsong at calabash cove), however whilst nice enough with a romantic setting, St Lucia does not do 'fine dining'. Think Bella Italia or Prezzo in England.

Given the location is far from a Caribbean experience, we decided to hire a car to explore the rest of St Lucia as surely there must be white sands and blue seas on the island. Huge mistake. The roads have no sign posts...literally...so unless you have a GPS or detailed road map with a good navigator, you have no hope. We did make it to Rodney Bay which has a good reputation for its beach. Again, you may as well have been in Spain. Peddling locals are aggressive and intimidating when charging you for sun beds, the sea is far from spectacular and the sea view restaurants are terrible.

To conclude, the facilities in the hotel are of a good standard and service excellent but these are unfortunately let down by the positioning of the hotel on the bay, the bay itself and the location in St Lucia. Unfortunately you may not be lucky enough to get the penthouse free upgrade - if you are not in a penthouse it's terrible and if you are and paying full price, it's vastly cost prohibitive. Look elsewhere unless you have no choice like us!

Room Tip: Don't bother if not in penthouse room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I attended a business rewards trip at this resort and found it very comfortable. Every single member of the staff, from gardeners, to spa attendants, to our personal assistant, and our pool bartender were the FRIENDLIEST PEOPLE! The resort is located in a harbor with marina store for all needs, access to plenty of excursions, as well as some local color watering holes available by free water shuttle across the bay. The dining at the resort was wonderful, especially the meals put together just for our group by their chef. I highly recommend their skirt steak anything!

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeroen Q, General Manager at Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you so much for these wonderful words! I am so happy you and your husband enjoyed your stay and your time in St. Lucia. And I definitely have to agree with you about the skirt steak, it is one of my favorite menu items as well. Do come back and visit us again soon!

Jeroen Quint, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful setting overlooking Marigot Bay. Rooms are well appointed & spacious. Bathrooms are roomy with nice amenities/robes/slippers. Nespresso coffee in room and fridge stocked with beverages. Enjoyed morning coffee on the balcony. returned to room each afternoon to find a happy hour treat & there was turn down service at night. Rooms are clean. All staff was very friendly & helpful. Several restaurants to choose from and multiple pools with a variety of seating options. Hotel is within walking distance to the Marina & ferry that takes you across the bay. You can get ferry passes from the concierge. Had transport arranged upon arrival through the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeroen Q, General Manager at Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for sharing these kind words about your stay at Capella Marigot Bay! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed all the resort amenities and were able to fully experience the peace and tranquility that the Caribbean lifestyle is so great at achieving. I hope you come back again soon!

Jeroen Quint, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Capella Marigot Bay Resort is a true gem in the Caribbean. Its beautiful views and outstanding accommodations are only exceeded by the exceptional staff that completes the trifecta of perfection.

My wife, sons (8 and 6) and I were visiting St. Lucia for the first time and began our trip in a different hotel which turned out to be a disaster. My wife found the Capella Marigot Bay Resort online during our first night on the island and we visited it the next morning in order to verify that this is where we could salvage our vacation. From the first phone call with Petal, my wife was optimistic that this is where we should be spending our vacation. Petal was very professional and courteous on the phone and greeted us when we arrived with genuine warmth and hospitality. She took her time to show us the available rooms and the resort facilities. Once our tour was completed we were then introduced to Pearl who is a member of the management team. Pearl’s kindness and professionalism to every member of my family was truly amazing and it was clear that exceptional hospitality is the primary goal of every member of the Capella.

Arrangements were made to transport us back to our first hotel to gather our belongings and bring us back to the Capella. We spent over two hours traveling by cab and over $150 in cab fare in order to switch to the Capella. It was well worth the trouble and cost. Once we arrived, we were personally escorted to our room by Petal. To our surprise and pleasure, Pearl and her staff had chosen a beautiful and spacious suite with a tremendous outdoor space and hot tub. Our Suite included a modern kitchenette, a large and lovely dining/living area, spacious and separate bedroom, large and clean bathroom, and separate laundry area. Our room was everything we wanted and more!

The pool areas and entire resort were extremely clean and serene. Our meals at all their restaurants were delicious. The staff at the Rum Cave, especially Glen, Deli, Gavin and Cassandra were the friendliest and nicest people.

Within a few days of our return home, we received a personal email from Petal thanking us for staying at the Capella. We have stayed in many five star resorts and have never received a personal follow-up email. The only reason we would return to Saint Lucia is to stay at the Capella again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeroen Q, General Manager at Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I cannot even begin to describe how heartwarming I found your review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for giving us the opportunity to make your stay in St. Lucia everything it should be. Each of the Capella staff will be so moved to read this and know that the personal connection they made with you had such an uplifting and memorable effect. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you one day soon for another vacation of beautiful memories!

Jeroen Quint, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've been to Marigot Bay quite a few times now, and with the recent reno's at the Capella Resort, was delighted to see all the changes. It's stunning. My favorite spot was the Rum Cave! Glenn Sorensen has done a remarkable job. We enjoyed Rum Tasting, Glenn was brilliant. I even got to make my own spiced rum :) Glenn is very particular, and believes in 100% customer service. The new menu was amazing; I was fortunate to try several menu items.... all fantastic. Glenn gave me a tour of the property, and it is stunning. Next trip I hope to stay. Can't wait to go back to see them again.
MJ

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeroen Q, General Manager at Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your lovely words and for describing your experience so well! Glenn is wonderful and I will definitely make sure he reads this review as it will make him so happy to hear. The rum tasting is so fun and I loved hearing about your personal experience with it. Next time you visit you will have to make some of your spiced rum for all of us to try!

-Jeroen Quint, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina

Address: Marigot | P.O. Box 7227, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia (Formerly Discovery at Marigot Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery At Marigot Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Discovery Hotel Marigot Bay
Discovery Marigot Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.