We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort with great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Marigot | P.O. Box 7227, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia (Formerly Discovery at Marigot Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 10days for our honeymoon and I'm so happy my husband choose this hotel. Upon arrival we were offered spiced water with rum which was nice. The apprartment we stayed was clean, big and so relaxing to stay in. From our balcony we had the view off the bay and got to see some really nice yatchs. The 4poster bed was so big and comfortable and we always had a good night sleep there. The staff were so friendly and helpful and really made the effort to make sure we were comfortable. Sasha was a delight to speak to. Monty was helpful and friendly and Latoya in the bar was such a sweet person to talk to. The room was cleaned 2 times a day and in the evening around 5pm they would come and put fresh chips with ice cold pitons beers in our room. The layout of the resort is very chilled out and relaxing. There was a supermarket, bank and few shops on site which was helpful. The Rum Cave was a nice place to have an evening drink at. Nice seating and good service. There is a water taxi you can catch to go over to the bay where doolittles and rainforest hideaway restaurant are which were alway available. Would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

the staff is really super helpful and friendly...while we found people to be nice in at lucia generally, they really go the extra mile. Reminds of four season's staff. While a few bugs need working out ( our room key and quality of drinks), overall it was really great. The apt we stayed in was excellent with nice extras ...like thick heavy doors, great bed linens towels etc. the pools are lovely, breakfast very nice, the run cave a nice spot for s light dinner and drinks. Never thought I would like watching yachts but actually quite amusing. The real surprise was how much we like going to the little beach ...had fun taking out kayaks into the bay, really lovely views, good chairs And sort of a crazy vibe with every walk of life present....which was really amusing..and if got too much, back to the peaceful hotel!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We didn't stay at this hotel (rented a studio apartment above Marigot Bay) but visited the bar daily and ate a few meals here. The property and landscaping was gorgeous. The bartenders were the most professional I've experienced on St. Lucia. All the staff we encountered were friendly and accomodating and seemed to really enjoy what they do (which isnot always the case in the islands), even though we were not guests of the hotel. The food was absolutely fresh and delicious. The spa is an oasis and the massage rooms, sauna and jacuzzi are clean and relaxing, if expensive. I would definitely stay here for a week, although longer in Marigot Bay might get a little tedious.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In summary , Capella have done a great job at the hotels refurbishment . The rooms are very comfortable with good balconies , comfy beds , generous bathrooms and a classic dark wood style . Our ground floor suite overlooked the very well kept gardens and had a large lounge with kitchenette and hot tub . The staff were the friendliest I have come across anywhere in the world . So great for a short break of rest and relaxation , Marigot bay is beautiful . But activities in the immediate area are limited . The hotels main restaurant will open in March which is good news as the local restaurants of which there are about 5 are all pretty average [ see my other reviews ] and a long way short of Gourmet .
The hotel is scattered across the steep north side of the bay in a series of attractive buildings . The pool area, restaurant and bar are attractively located overlooking the bay and the wonderful boats that dock there . The pool is good but its surrounding area does not really work . Not enough sun beds or space for them when the hotel has lots of guests .Very good pool bar with great suchi for lunch .
Breakfast was good and the setting alone made it special . Make sure you get breakfast included in your room rate , otherwise you could run up a large bill . The bar with excellent cocktails from maestro Andre was fun . The drinks and food in the Rum Cave were very good and the sharing platters menu whilst limited probably the best value on the Bay .
But it was the staff who made our stay special . You know when the pool technician [ the wonderful Yan ]chats to you and talks about the companies values , offers help and ideas that it is a bit different . Gardeners who all say hello , great housekeeping staff , whoever hired these folks and did the orientation should be praised .
Lastly on the location, the Bay is quite isolated so you need either a hire car or a taxi . Europeans will find the driving ok on the small pot holed roads . If you are from the US and have not driven abroad I would say take a taxi .

Room Tip: The rooms vary greatly in there view . Basically the higher the floor the better the view . But the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in a one bedroom suite last week. We go on holiday at least 10 times a year and this was the nicest property that we have ever stayed in.
The staff were really friendly and the facilities were first class. The pools were brilliant and in the early morning we generally had the large pool to ourselves. The food and the dining facilities were really good and again the staff were always helpful and treated us as if we were special.
Clearly there had been a lot of money recently spent on the property and the grounds but the nicest thing about our stay was the staff who were just so nice. We will definitely return but next time it will be for longer.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We rented a lovely three bedroom home from an owner on Homeaway on this resort, entitling us to full use of the beautiful facilities. Everything at the resort was gorgeous and luxurious and the staff were incredibly friendly.

Room Tip: Our lodgings were overlooking the lawn and yacht docks. It is possible rooms over the pool are a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We didn’t stay at the Capella resort but in an apartment within the marina complex. We decided to write a review because we were able to use the hotel’s facilities and they were superb. The pools were very clean, large and beautifully run. The main restaurant was not yet opened but we ate a few times in the Rum Cave and had lunch at the top pool on several occasions. The food was of a very good standard – the ceviche divine. What has really made us write this review though is the staff. They all went out of their way to ensure we were treated as well as any guest staying in the resort. They were polite, friendly and after our initial meeting, always greeted us personally. Our flight back to the UK wasn’t leaving the island until late in the evening but we were able to use the resort’s facilities to shower after our day by the pool and get ready for the trip home. We didn’t see the accommodation but if the other resort facilities are anything to go by, I imagine it would be pretty superb. Thank you to everyone at Capella for perfecting our stay in Marigot Bay.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristy E, General Manager at Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for sharing this! I am so happy to hear that our staff was able to make your stay in Marigot Bay even better.

I hope you get to come back one day soon and stay with us!

Jeroen Quint, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina

Address: Marigot | P.O. Box 7227, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia (Formerly Discovery at Marigot Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capella Marigot Bay will reopen after renovations on July 1, 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery At Marigot Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Discovery Hotel Marigot Bay
Discovery Marigot Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.