We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Innovative design hotel in secluded location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina

Save Saved
You added Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Marigot | P.O. Box 7227, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia (Formerly Discovery at Marigot Bay)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Marigot Bay
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
550 reviews 550 reviews
215 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
986 helpful votes 986 helpful votes
“Innovative design hotel in secluded location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was a return visit end July 2012, when we spent 6 nights. We had been here at same time of year in 2009. Hotel is in a lovely setting, built up the side of a pretty wooded bay. The report I wrote 3 years ago still largely correct.

In summary:

1. Lovely setting, though secluded. But no easy and cheap access to other parts of the island. Local minivan bus requires a walk of 2 kms from hotel. Taxis are expensive
2. Friendly staff. A couple remembered us from previous stay
3. Spacious bedroom, even at the basic tariff, with walkin shower (though no grab rail), good quality fittings, and comfortable beds. Airconditioned though no instructions provided on how to use it
4. Large open air pool 30m long open 24/24 with comfortable practical loungers
5. Simple breakfast selection but standard was ok
6. Free wifi throughout on two networks. I found The Marina one slightly more reliable though both dropped connection regularly
7. Bar restaurant had energetic genial barman Winifred. Food was ok if not gourmet
8. Easy walking distance along marina to tiny shopping mall with supermarket, launderette and internet café. Local cake shop got strong wifi signal too!
9. Cheap ferry across narrow bay entrance to Dolittles restaurant, or Rainforest (sadly, closed until Nov 2012) or, separately to JDs. Hotel offers free tickets across to Doolittles area. Otherwise EC$5.

Points against
1. There are no lifts. Steep climbs up wooden stairs to upper rooms. We had 305 at ground level which was ideal for retired travellers like us!
2. Cheapest room off season was USD 240 inc tax and service and breakfast
3. Beach across narrow bay at Doolittles was scruffy and poorly maintained.
4. Very limited selection of eating places. Of those open, JDs was best.

Overall, this is a quality hotel aimed at upmarket audience of couples. Think carefully about your needs. If you are looking for young nightlife, beach holiday or children playing, this is not for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have trouble climbing stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    77
    32
    17
    3
See reviews for
43
220
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We spent five nights at Discovery at Marigot Bay after moving further north of the island from Soufriere where we previously stayed. End of July is low season for St Lucia and the West Indies in general, we were lucky with the weather - hot and sunny with occasional short spell of passing shower. The hotel is very quiet and not that full, we pretty much get the entire swimming pool to ourselves most of the day and it was very relaxing.

Food: the first night we check out Doolittle's restaurant across the bay, short complimentary ferry ride away. The setting was like from a film set - calm water with coconut trees along the bay and mountains in the backdrop. The food was ok, slightly overpriced.
The next night we ate at the hotel's Hurricane Hole, the food was great and inexpensive with quite a good selection from the menu, we ended up eating there the next three nights.
We try out Julietta's, located on the top of the bay hence with amazing view of the entire bay, its a family run restaurant and home-made cook but done excellently! They offer complimentary pick up from the hotel which save you walking up a steep hill and drop you back. Julietta's son even drove us to the airport the next day!

The drinks at the pool bar were very reasonably priced and they played good background music!

The local beach wasnt great - hence I recommend a short water taxi ride to the nearest beach at Tikaye, one of the best beaches on the island. If you prefer beach to the pool. We also took the water taxi on Saturday morning to the capital - Casteries for their weekly market. It was a nice experience especially to get the feel of how the local lives but I wouldnt recommend staying in Casteries.

Theres a small supermarket, bank and some cafes and shops at the Marina Village next to the hotel which was handy.

Our room and bathroom were very spacious and it has a TV and AC which is a great plus for us, as not all hotels in St Lucia have AC or TV (even the top hotels). Our room was on the top floor and definitely the best position to be in for the view of the bay. The staff were friendly and helpful, we dont have any problem.

We had a great time and were very pleased to discover Marigot Bay! We dont usually give five stars on our review but we do for Discovery!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We know our way around the Carib pretty well and this place is a keeper.

Generally I find the Carib to be a very poor value across the board: small countries; imported goods and marginally motivated/ trained personnel. It can be extremely disappointing for people who come looking for American value.

St. Lucia is a charming English-speaking destination. It is a former Briitish colony of historical value. The citizenry are more highly motivated than their French neighbors and a far better value.

Discovery Marigot Bay is a neat propert; I'm not sure how old --- but well maintained. We had a harborside suite and it is quite beautiful: high ceiling, modern and tasteful furnishings and appliances. VERY nice for extended stays.

The staff is extremely kind, as is the restaurant and spaa.staff. I couldn't help but ask the masseuse, Suella, how many proposals she got on a daily basis. She is highly skilled.

There is no beach its quiet save for boat traffic.

I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel.

Getting here is a challenge and when you get here you have customs to deal with. The lack of supervision is a major problem here and Martinique.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I travelled to this hotel on a corporate event on June 14th with a fews days extended stay afterwards. The hotel is in a beautiful location on the edge of the bay and the hotel itself is designed to look very natural in its surroundings. The staff are absolutely lovely and extremely helpful, the rooms are lovely, try to get a room as high up as possible to maximise on the views. Yes there are steps up to the higher rooms but this was not a problem for us at all. Marigot bay is pretty secluded so if you are staying for a week or so I would advise trips out to Castrise (you can get a boat to take you quite cheaply), Anse La Raye for Fish Friday (a cheap taxi ride away) and for a day out go up to Rodney Bay.

There are several restaurants close to the hotel most notably the Rainforest Hideaway which is lovely. Apart from that there is very little alternative entertainment so if you are looking for a complete rest and some time alone then this hotel is most definitely for you.

The only negative about this hotel is the gym/spa area which is pretty non existent and I would have expected much more for this type of hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms high up and to the western side of the pool are ideal. All of the grounds are lovely so you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Factory, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here two times and both times were very happy. The pool is great, they even used to for pictures of the up coming Miss St Lucia competition. We ate at two of the restaurants on grounds and both were fantastic. The only issue I have is there is a public beach for the bay and the hotel guest are free but the public pay. The towel the hotel give you should tell them we are guest but that didn't work and then I showed them my hotel key, but they still wanted $10 a person. It ended when I told them to go get security. Then the next guy comes up and offers to sell us a "joint". We left and went back to the pools at the hotel. Much nicer there and they make great drinks. If you need to make long distance calls they have two phone you can call anywhere in the world for free.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We spent a week at Discovery Marigot Bay Hotel and I almost only have good things to say about it. Friendly and professional service, excellent food, a gym that is superb relative to gyms in the Caribbean in general, a picturesque location, huge and well apointed rooms, and the list could go on.
The only downside is that it doesn't really have a beach; one has to take a ferry to a strip of sand not far off, which is nice enough but one expects better when being in St. Lucia that is famous for its beaches.
All in all, I give it 9.5 out of 10 and I am, let me add, usually a rather difficult customer :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Have just returned from organising an Achiever's Trip at this hotel - what a wonderful experience - loved St Lucia, the hotel and everything we did. The hotel was superbly located, staff friendly and we had great meals whilst there. My upgraded room to a suite was wonderful overlooking the bay - a must!
Thank you all

Room Tip: ask for a bay view room for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina

Address: Marigot | P.O. Box 7227, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia (Formerly Discovery at Marigot Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capella Marigot Bay will reopen after renovations on July 1, 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Splendia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery At Marigot Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Discovery Hotel Marigot Bay
Discovery Marigot Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capella Marigot Bay Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.