We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Living with Wildlife"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Marigot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Oasis Marigot to your Saves list
Oasis Marigot
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   177 Seaview Avenue | Marigot Bay, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“"Living with Wildlife"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed at the Emerald Hill Villa May 21st to May 28th. This place did not disappoint!!! We flew into the airport and were greeted by Albert once we passed customs. He drove us the hour and 15 minutes up to the villa and when we walked in we felt like we were home! We had the groceries delivered to our villa and they as well as Christina the house keeper and Uriel the manager were waiting when we arrived.
Alice has put a lot of thought and effort into making this a homey, relaxing, and just plain spectacular place to be.
If you like wildlife, this is the place to stay. We did go on three tours while in St. Lucia but just from your very own wade pool or deck you can see many species of bird, mongoose, and gecko/lizards as well as pretty large sized hermit crabs on occasion at night and butterflies.

There are 110 volt outlets in the kitchen and 220 volts elsewhere so convertor is not needed. The cell phone they provided was perfect and came in very handy. The Mari Gourmet grocery is at the bottom of the will and the hill is steep and not as well groomed of a road as you would like but if in decent shape is quite doable. There is the option of having a taxi take you back up the hill for $10 us.

The utensils, pots, and pans are sufficient but be mindful that you need to keep thinks safe and away from the "land sharks" always swimming around you...the birds!!! They will snatch your bread right off the counter so Glad bags or the like may be a good thing to bring or buy. The do have some Tupperware available but a few extra storage options may help you.

Aqua shoes may be safer to walk on when you are dripping wet out of the pool as the tiles can get a bit slippery. I, as others recommend reading "The Man Who Loved Schooners" before you go, the man it is written about built the house.

Enjoy and soak in the beautiful view, you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    89
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
39
177
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We booked a villa (no 6) for a two week stay and thoroughly enjoyed staying here.

The villas are serviced regularly and efficiently. They have ceiling fans and air conditioning (though the latter is at additional cost) - we did not use the air con and and had no trouble sleeping. They are fully equipped with cutlery, plates, cooking equipment, fridge/freezer, microwave, cooker.

Guest Services are on site and I recommend using them - they offer advice and can sell you excursions (but do not do so by ramming trips down your throat). They can sort out taxis, car hire, restaurant bookings and water taxis. Nigella was a star :)

If you hire a car, it is parked across the bay in the village car park.

The villas sit on the north side of the bay and can only be reached by using a 24 hour passenger ferry from the other side. We used this most days and only once suffered a long wait (that was at 05:00 in the morning when the ferryman was reluctant to get up).

There is a funicular railway which you can use to reach the villas and it is easy to use and worked the entire time we were there.

We spent many an hour on the villa verandah watching yachts coming and going. As for birds, it's easy, we saw many - including the St Lucia Oriole, an endemic species. If you like birdwatching these villas come highly recommended.

Marigot Bay can be lively but not too the extent that you need ear plugs :)

There is a good choice of restaurants all within minutes journey.

Great place to holiday.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

It was amazing how many people at the resort and the surrounding area remembered us from last year....makes you feel nice to receive warm welcomes. We really think this is the best place to stay. The bay is very beautiful and quiet. We really enjoy sitting our on our balcony enjoying the nice breeze and looking out over the bay. Fantastic way to spend a vacation. It is also very nice that we have kitchen facilities so that we don't have to go out every night which can be expensive. The diving is very good too!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

It was our first time (04/16/14-04/22/14) in St. Lucia and we picked Oasis Marigot based on price, location and reviews on Trip Advisor, we were not disappointed. We stayed in Oasis 1 and the cottage/villa as well as the sounding grounds are very well maintained and groomed. No compliant whatsoever, its a retreat for true R&R. Anything you need to make your stay more pleasant is easily accessible and across the bay in the marina. Miranda at guest services, helped plan all our activities, including finding car service to tour the island/airport - (if you need transportation - ask for Andrew, his vehicles are well maintained and Andrew is a great driver). It's expensive (the whole island is) and somewhat remote, but the scenery and relax atmosphere more than makes up for it, if you want night life go to Rodney Bay, if you want faux exclusivity go to the resorts in Soufriere, if you want a relaxing time stay in Marigot Bay. We went to Rodney Bay and Soufriere and we were glad to have chosen Marigot Bay instead and Oasis Marigot in particular. There are plenty of other good places to stay in St. Lucia (not sure if there is a bad place to stay) but for our money Oasis Marigot is the best choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The facilities were just as we were promised. Very private, clean, extremely relaxing. The staff was great, right down to the guy who cleaned our pool and got us fresh coconuts in the morning. I strongly recommend in place!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had an an amazing stay in Oasis Marigot! The villas offer everything you need, and to a very high standard! Staff are really helpful, made our stay absolutely amazing. The bay has been described as a ' paradise' and the place is truly a heaven! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, ON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Just stayed 9 nights in # 8 Vacation Club Villa and had a wonderful Holiday. St Lucia is the most scenic of the Caribean Islands we have visited. You have read all the reviews and they are accurate so here are just a couple suggestons.
Pack a soft side cooler for the beach and day trips.
The units are a nice layout and we really didn't need the A/C as there was a great breeze.
The outdoor furniture is not the most comfortable so we moved the sofa-a-bed to the large opening to the balcony so you can enjoy the great views in comfort.
You need to bring Kleenex (tissues) and #4 cone coffee filters as they do not supply them.
Unit 8 has a nice view of the Bay but we could not see the Sunset (not sure what units would).
Nice little Pool but can be very warm so the beach is much more comfortable.
You need to buy a Ferry Pass for the time you are there ($15 US per person per week), we rented a car and you have to park on one side of the bay and take the ferry to the other.
If you are driving, the road on the East side is much faster and smoother than the West side coming from the airport.
Looking for a little excitement you may want to stay in the Rodney Bay area, Marigot Bay is pretty layed back.
Doolittles is a nice Restaurant, Great Food.
Make a trip to Pigeon Island and bring you bathing suits and a cooler they have a great beach and you can snorkel as well.
Super J's IGA Supermarket in Cul-de-Sac is the place to buy your groceries and beverages.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oasis Marigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Marigot

Address: 177 Seaview Avenue | Marigot Bay, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oasis Marigot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Oasis Marigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Marigot Hotel Marigot Bay
Oasis Marigot Bay
Oasis Marigot Hotel Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Marigot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.