We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does not get better than this !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On The Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marigot Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn On The Bay
Save
You added The Inn On The Bay to your Saves list
Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Hampshire, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“It does not get better than this !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Will keep this short and sweet. Our 3rd stay here and it will not be our last !!
If you want a large noisy beach hotel with loads of night life, do not stay here.
If you would like a really special experience in an intimate small hotel where you are treated more like valued house guests than customers then this is the place for you.
Normand and Louise are really special people who will really make your holiday unforgettable. The location is stunning , you will not regret a stay at The Inn on The Bay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
384
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Staying at the Inn on the Bay was truly wonderful and memorable. The view of the Marigot Bay is simply breathtaking. The hotel is pleasantly located on the highest point of Marigot Bay away from the hustle and bustle in the main Marigot Bay harbour. The only noise that you experience is of birds chirping in the morning and breeze blowing in the evening. The stay at the hotel for my wife and I was like home away from home. We appreciate the hospitality and fun loving nature of the owners. It was great interacting with everyone at the Inn. The sunset view from the hotel is very beautiful. We thank Louise and Normand for their assistance in booking our trips all over St. Lucia. I loved the Louise’s specially made breakfast making a point to never miss it. We highly recommend this place to anyone going to St. Lucia. We thank Louise and Normand for being such wonderful hosts. We look forward to meeting you once again.

Recommendations for couples:
1) Ziplining (Rainforest Tranopy tour: USD 100pp)
2) Places to visit: Pigeon Point, Fort, Rodney Bay, Tet Paul hike (amazing views of the pitons), Sulphur springs in Soufriere(Springs were nothing gr8, but having mud bath was fun), Anse Conchon beach for snorkeling (close to Ti Kaye Village)
3) Tips for vegetarians: carry your own food. Freeze-dried camping food worked gr8 for a few times. Best food you will find anywhere else is Pizza.
4) Check out the sea tour which goes all around st Lucia(Wave Riders). Be warned of rough seas for the first 1.5-2 hrs, we were sea sick, but after that it was a a party for the rest of the day!
5) Check out the local bus service, its pretty good and inexpensive way of travel.
6) Check out the Chateau Mago in the Marigot bay for some gr8 music and food. (expensive though). Also recommend: Humming Bird restaurant in Sourfriere for the amazing cocktails.

Merci beaucoup
Au revoir

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

We spent five wonderful nights here in January 2011 and we would return in a heartbeat. The owners were super helpful - waited up for us well beyond midnight on a delayed flight from Barbados, arranged a wonderful day sailing excursion for us, shuttled us to and from restaurants around the bay and prepared delightlful and healthy breakfasts every day. Despite being in the smallest of the inn's rooms we had a wonderful time. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Back in the cold of a UK winter and St Lucia seems like an all too distant memory already, but what a memory!!
When we first stepped out onto the balcony at the Inn on the Bay, the fantastic view just took our breaths away. And it didn't stop there either!
Most of the accolades you can give this b+b have already been said but they are all true. Louise and Normand do an amazing job of balancing the fine line between being around when you need them, and keeping a respectable distance so that you can enjoy some peace and quiet. The service Normand provides is second to none - he will drive you backwards and forwards to the village, day and night, which is a Godsend when you really can't face the walk back up the hill in the heat. He helps organise taxis and trips around the island, has hot and cold drinks on tap all day (including the local rum!) and always wears a warm and genuine smile.
Louise does a great job of the breakfast every morning and it is a pleasure sitting out on the balcony, chatting with new friends and sharing breakfast with the local bullfinches, whilst soaking up the sun and the view. Our favourite part of the day though was the early evening when, with rum punch in hand, we would gather on the front deck and watch the sun setting over the sea. Sheer heaven.
We spent some of our two week holiday elsewhere on the island, returning to the Inn on the Bay at the end of our stay - it was like coming home! Would we stay again? A resounding YES if only there were not so many other places we still want to see.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

My boyfriend and I just returned from a wonderful 9 days at the Inn on the Bay. The Inn is located on a hilltop that offers each guest one of the most scenic views on the island. We enjoyed this lovely view while having breakfast, swimming at the pool and having a cocktail while watching the sunset. The trip was a winner all around – we started each day with a wonderful breakfast and we would either read and sit by the pool or head out for either a snorkeling, hiking or biking trip. Normand arranged all of our activities including dinner reservations which allowed us to enjoy the entire vacation. Normand and Louise we’re great hosts for this wonderful 5 room Inn and I am recommending it to all my friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

This place is truly indescribable. The view was just picture perfect and the owners, Normand and Louise, was amazing. Every morning, we had breakfast outside our room overlooking the beautiful Marigot Bay. Watching the white yachts and sail boats on the clear blue water every morning with a cup of coffee will make you feel like this place is paradise. Then when we are ready to set out to discover the beautiful island of St. Lucia, Normand would always be there to help us with places to go and directions on how to get there. With their warm hospitality, Normand and Louise truly make us feel like The Inn on the Bay is our home away from home. We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn on the Bay and would definitely come back one day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We had a wonderful relaxing vacation at the Inn on the Bay. Normand and Louise are wonderful hosts, full of helpful suggestions on restaurants and activities. Located at the top of a hill, on one side the Inn offers beautiful views of the bay/marina and the busy activity during the day. The other side of the Inn provides wonderful views of the sunset. If you are lucky you get to see the "green flash" at sunset! Thank you Normand and Louise!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.