We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE FOUND.......A HIDDEN GEM !!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On The Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marigot Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn On The Bay
Save
You added The Inn On The Bay to your Saves list
Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“PARADISE FOUND.......A HIDDEN GEM !!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

It's all been said before, but all the fantastic things that people say about this place are SOOOOOOO TRUE !!!!!!!

We have travelled extensively throughout the world over the last 25 years and the Caribbean for the last 15 and never had a warmer and more personal welcome to a more fantastic place EVER !!!!!

Normand and Louise really are the most wonderful , charming , perfect hosts who welcome you in to their home and make you feel like part of the family.

The views from front and back are STUNNING offering a wonderful experience of both sunrise and sunset.

We were very lucky and were given room 4 upstairs WOW FANTASTIC !!

Breakfast was a perfect start to each day. Muffins to die for !! Thanks Louise x

Normand you are a star, thanks for all the lifts, the great local advice and guideance x

WE SHALL RETURN .

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    21
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
436
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

The Inn provides a wonderful view - sunset from the front decks and the Bay from the pool deck. Normand and Louise are superb hosts - catering to your every need! Normand shuttles you back and forth from town with a smile and witty conversation and helps plan/arrange day trips, water taxi service and dinner reservations. If you travel to the botanical gardens, tour them without the guide. The guide was very informative but we felt rushed. We rented a sail boat for a day and went snorkeling - wonderful time. Everyone we encountered on the island was friendly and helpful. We spent a few days relaxing by the pool at the Inn and playing backgammon between site seeing. We felt like we were leaving "old friends" at the end of our trip.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

I've travled a fair share in my time, and explored many countries. There hotels you stay that are just a place, and then there are accomodations that make the vacation Memorable. In this case Inn on The Bay made our trip memorable thanks to the extreamly hospitable owners. We felt like a family staying at Uncle Norm and Auntie Louise (the owners). They took care of us, made us feel at home and pointed us in the right direction for all our adventures. If I were to go back to St. Lucia it would be for 3 reasons, in this order

Inn on The Bay
The Ocean
The views

Thanks Uncle Norrm and Auntie Louise for making our trip memorable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotchkiss, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

This is the 3rd time we have stayed with Normand and Louise at The Inn On The Bay and just as with our first 2 times it was a wonderful experience! From Louise's terrific breakfasts to the always available helping hand and humor from Normand our 2 weeks were totally enjoyable. Marigot Bay is a gorgeous location and has plenty of restaurants to allow a good variety of different and great foods. Although we rent a car so we can get around and enjoy all of the island, Normand is always available to get you to and from all of the local happenings in Marigot Bay. The Inn On The Bay is always clean, comfortable, relaxing and totally enjoyable with wonderful views and the best service anywhere.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

We thought it had a great location on the bay, both because it's a liitle cooler as it's on the hill - and has great views of both Marigot Bay and the bay on the other side too. Normand and Louise are great and Normand will ferry anyone up and down the hill who needs a lift. It's a friendly place with a stunning view. We loved it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

We could not have been more pleased with our too-brief stay in St. Lucia at the Inn on the Bay. Our host Norman was a genial and energetic guide to the pleasures of this island paradise. His partner Louise was just as pleasant, and also a wonderful breakfast chef. Our room was pristine and spacious--best feature was stepping out on the terrace with a panoramic view of beautiful Marigot Bay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Just back from a week-long stay at Inn on the Bay, even though I am only going to reiterate what all the others have shared, I feel compelled to do so nonetheless. Let me start by saying that after an excruciatingly horrid experience last year with a very shady couple running a business doing sailing trips in the Caribbean, I swore I’d never return to the islands again. Needless to say, I was convinced to give it one more try, and I have to say my faith and love for the islands has been restored. And I have Normand and Louise to thank. Even though I read all the amazing reviews about Inn on the Bay, I had my doubts.

All the spectacular descriptions of the inn and the impeccable service are accurate. But there is something more here which was a little harder to identify that impressed me. And I finally figured it out. PASSION! This couple absolutely loves what they’re doing. Normand is the front man who makes his guests not only feel comfortable with him and the inn, but with all the other guests in the 5 rooms. So you feel as if you are vacationing with friends. Normand is like the perfect party host who is able to connect/join guests with each other in a way that feels seamless and natural.

Anything you’d like to do while on vacation there that will make your dream vacation reality, Normand happily arranges for you. If you are inclined to go off on your own and make your own arrangements, that’s fine too. He tirelessly runs people in his car up and down the .25 mile climb up to the Inn from the marina. Whatever it takes Normand, does it and in such a way that you never, ever know how much effort it actually took for him to make it happen.

Louise is less in the spotlight, but essential just the same. She makes the amazing fresh baked good every morning. Breakfast is normally served from 8-9 am, but one morning we needed to leave the inn at 7:30am to meet our water taxi. We expected just cereal that morning, but we were treated to the usual full spread including her fresh baked muffins. Louise was so sweet to start her morning extra early to make sure we were well fed.

Some things we did while in St. Lucia worth noting:
Hike Gros Piton-Amazing views and a sure fire way to work off the calories from all the great food.
Bike St. Lucia- Mt bike trek through the jungle that was almost impossible, but for avid mt bikers it would be a fun challenge
dinner in the treehouse at Discovery Marigot Bay
Anse Mamin and Anse Chastenet beaches are amazing some of the best snorkeling we did.

As all good things must come to an end, so did our vacation, but we immediately talked about returning. Hopefully we’ll be able to get back before Normand and Louise move on as the inn is up for sale as the couple hopes to do some of their own travelling. Normand assured us they’d still be there for a couple more years. Let’s hope!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.