We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As wonderful as ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On The Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marigot Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn On The Bay
Save
You added The Inn On The Bay to your Saves list
Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
EAST SUSSEX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“As wonderful as ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We first stayed at the Inn on the Bay thirteen years ago and had a fantastic two weeks there. The same was true of our stay last weekend (we needed two nights accommodation in St Lucia en route to the UK). The Inn is in a fantastic location at the top of a hill and the rooms, breakfast and facilities are of the highest standard. But the hospitality of Normand and Louise is second to none. Nothing is too much trouble and it was an absolute pleasure to spend time with them. It was wonderful to return to the Inn which has such happy memories and to find that the place had only changed for the better (if that was possible!). We would not hesitate to recommend the Inn and don't worry about the walk to and from the Bay itself - Normand will drive you up and down the hill!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    20
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
428
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Inn On The Bay very recently. The place is beautiful, located on top of a hill overlooking Marigot Bay and providing a magnificent view of the Bay. We stayed in room 5, which provided privacy and comfort. Equally amazing was the hospitality of the owners, Normand and Louise, who really went out of their way to make us feel comfortable (and entertained!- we had many laughs together). They arranged for us day trips to different parts of the island, often shared with other couples, which cut the costs and allowed us to meet other people from around the world. Normand also drove us back and forth to the beach area or restaurants when we asked, even though the Inn is within a walking distance. We highly recommend the Inn on the Bay and definitely plan to go back there in future trips to St. Lucia.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMurray, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My wife and enjoyed our recent stay and certainly are in agreement with the reviews. We stayed in the room on the upper floor and certainly would recommend it due to having the best view and offers the most privacy as not being poolside as the other rooms. The room is very spacious and we loved the double sinks in the bathroom. We did experience very strong winds during our visit. I don't know if this is the norm, but at times I felt the room shake and had to close the windows to lessen the the noise from the wind at night. Normand arranged two days of guided excursions with Anslim who did an exceptional job of showing us around the beautiful island.

Room Tip: the room on the upper floor offers the best view and most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I rely on Trip Advisor to find small hotels and B&Bs and have yet to be disappointed. As a result, most of my reviews rate the hotels and B&Bs highly, which is usually consistent with most other reviewers. I have to say though, that the Inn on the Bay is one of the two best B&Bs we've ever stayed at (the other is in Bonnieux, France). Trip Advisor needs an "Excellent Plus" category. Both have fantastic locations and both have superlative hosts. Norm and Louise make you welcome before you arrive, treat you like friends of long-standing while you're there, and provide superb advice and assistance throughout. The Inn itself is perched on a ridge on the southern entrance of Marigot Bay, and all the pictures on Trip Advisor don't begin to do the location or the Inn itself justice. Our room--the smallest (though very roomy) and most private--was well-appointed and very nice, with a private veranda and an unbelievable view (everyone gets the view). Something to consider when deciding to stay on St Lucia is location--in the north are numerous all-enclusive resorts, but frankly they're indistinguishable from those you find in Mexico, Florida, etc., and have the KFCs, Burger Kings, cruise ship passengers and other accoutrements of civilization to prove it. In the south, around the Pitons, are gorgeous but very expensive and somewhat remote resorts (we dined at Ladera--worth a trip in itself for the view--and swam at Sugar Beach), but once off those resorts your dining options are limited and nightime driving hazardous. In my humble opinion, Marigot Bay is the ideal location from which to explore St Lucia--off the beaten path, yet within easy striking distance of what you want to do in the north and south, especially by boat (which Norm will arrange upon request). There are several great restaurants around the small bay, and the fact that seemingly everyone in town knows Norm ensures you're well taken care of . The boating ambiance and unbeatable location make Marigot Bay truly unique--and staying at the Inn on the Bay is the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My daughter and I spent Thanksgiving week as a mother-daughter joy at the In on the Bay in St Lucia. The stay was excellent. As several reviewers have noted, one has to be clear that this is an Inn, it is not a full service hotel. with that in mind, this is an excellent option for an active vacation. Norm and Louise go out of their way to suggest and arrange visits, excursions and dinner reservations. Norm drives up and down the hill whenever you want. The hill itself is the prerequisite behind the gorgeous view and sunset from the Inn. Highly recommended!

If you don't like the idea of an intimate Inn -- seek out the resorts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skillman, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Inn on the Bay is truly a special place. I recommend it highly and we will certainly be back!
Normand and Louise are exceptional hosts. A lot of people in the hospitality industry give “customer service” lip service and no action. Normand is a master at truly exceptional customer service. He embodies outstanding service by anticipating your every need. He is available at virtually any time of day to organize excursions for you, will offer to drive you up and down the hill to Marigot Bay and provide you with a cell phone so you can call him to pick you up. Normand treats you as a good friend would, and has a great sense of humor.
The views of the Bay from the hotel are simply stunning. The hotel itself is very nice. The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast is served every morning, with Louise's fresh baked muffins and breads. Everything just works.
I highly recommend staying at the Inn on the Bay, a truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We spent the New Year in St. Lucia at the Inn on the Bay and couldn't have been happier. The views from every angle were amazing, Marigot Bay is beautiful!! Norm and Louise were fantastic hosts: friendly and helpful, but never intrusive. They planned out any excursions we were interested in and picked us up in town after dinner each evening - it made exploring the area fun and stress-free. Just keep in mind that the property is up high on a hill, so it was a short walk to get down to the water (but all part of the adventure!), and it had a bed & breakfast feel (so slightly less privacy than in larger hotels). We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.