We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On The Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marigot Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn On The Bay
Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Marigot Bay
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Inn at the Bay for our 9 days of our honeymoon in April 2013. Having spent 2 weeks travelling around the USA, and before that exhausted ourselves in the lead up to our wedding, the Inn at the Bay was just what we needed. Tranquil, beautiful, welcoming, warm, comfortable, secluded...it was perfect.

Normand and Louise were great, so helpful, good company, and very knowledgable about the island. Oh, and the breakfasts were delicious a fantastic way to start the day - sitting on the balcony surround by the birds, watching the yachts drift into the bay was stunning.

We were so sad to leave, but will always remember the Inn on the Bay with very fond memories. Highly recommended. Highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    497
    19
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
362
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary here and it was a fabulous choice. The room was comfortable, quiet, and the views are spectacular from the pool deck. Breakfast was fresh fruit and homemade bread and I have never felt so healthy! This is not a beachfront experience, so if you are looking for the resort on the beach, choose something else! Normand and Louise were wonderful and always available to shuttle us down to the Bay where the beach and the restaurants are located. I was shocked at the cost of transportation around the island. A water taxi was $200.00 for the two of us to go most anywhere. We opted for a sailing cruise to the volcanos because it was the same price. We also took public transportation to the North side of the island where there is a wonderful national park. Public transportation is cheap but you are crammed into a van and the roads are frightful. We enjoyed the adventure nevertheless...it was one of our favorite excursions. ( I don't recommend driving, especially if you are used to driving on the right side of the road.) There is lots to do right in Marigot Bay, including snorkeling, kayaking, and sailing and Normand and Louise helped us to make arrangements. They are wonderful hosts. We are so happy we chose the Inn on the Bay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good rooms from what we could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

First class hospitality from the wonderful hosts. Comfortable bed, cozy accomodation within wonderful surroundings (sun set on the deck highly recommended). Delicious, varied breakfast. Do not stay anywhere else in St Lucia.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband Dave and I spent 3 nights at the Inn on the Bay and can I tell you, we talk about it all the time. What a wonderful time we had!!!

Normand and Louise invited us into their 'home', they were there if you needed anything at all, a ride down to the down, a recommendation for dinner, or a glass of wine!! The views were unbeatable, we LOVED sitting out on the deck in the mornings having our breakfast (all fresh muffins, juices, and fruits- YUMMY!), or sitting in the front having a glass of wine watching the gorgeous sunset.

We talk about going back all the time, and can't wait for our next stay! Normand, I apologize for the extreme delay in this review, we're just awful about this sort of thing. But we really cherise the memories of our honeymoon trip to your Inn!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theinnonthebay, Owner at The Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review…

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay!

Louise and I were happy to help you in choosing the activities best suited to make your vacation more pleasurable : dinner reservations, island adventure tours as well as excursions and activities such as sailing, diving, snorkeling, horseback riding, ziplining,sightseeing, etc….

We will be on vacation during the next few weeks, opening back in the Fall, ready to offer our new guests a completely different ‘St. Lucia Experience’, peaceful, quiet, relaxed and unpretentious, far from the madding crowd.

See you in Marigot Bay!

Normand and Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a fantastic week here. Read through the reviews posted here and make sure you understand what is and what is not on offer. If you like peaceful, quiet relaxed unfussy and unpretentious - then this is the place for you.

As others have attested, Normand is an excellent and attentive host with a dry sense of humour. His willingness to drive you into and back from the village makes all the difference.

Room Tip: The upstairs room is excellent but access to it from the pool/breakfast area is a bit convoluted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have just returned from 10 wonderful relaxing days at The Inn On The Bay! Chosen purely by the comments made here on Trip Advisor we were looking to avoid the big "all inclusive" hotels and hoping for something small and personal - we certainly were not disappointed in any way!

Words cannot adequately describe our experience, but we have certainly returned home more rested and relaxed than when we left!

From the moment we arrived, Normand and Louise did their utmost to make us feel very welcome and throughout our stay managed to strike the right balance between helpful assistance and leaving us to our own devices - they are true masters.

Normand is invisible until you need him - when you do he is at your side to provide everything from a cold beer, driving guests between the Inn and the Bay when required (just a phone call and he's there waiting!) to a fully personalised day out.

A small team assist in making everything appear seamless - Rose the maid who ensures the accommodation is maintained to the highest standard and Albert & Co the taxi team who provide airport transfers and day trips, doubling up as guides with a vast amount of local knowledge.

At this wonderful Inn you are treated to an incredible view of the beautiful Marigot Bay and a couple who provide a truly wonderful service in a lovely property.

We doubt there is anywhere better fits the requirements of a St Lucia visitor!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

If your interest is all inclusive, glitzy, bustling resorts...read no further. Try Sandals. If you are looking for a gem of a hotel, a bit reminiscent of the small inns we found in Italy - this is it. The rooms are spacious and clean, well maintained and decorated "island style". The lovely overhead fans cool you but don't freeze you, the breeze brings in the lovely smell of flowers and clean air. Just five rooms with interesting people in a relaxed setting.

The pool is great - just the right size, solar heated (very clever!), and in full sun in the morning and a bit shady in the heat of the afternoon. Plenty of lounge chairs and room to spread out and enjoy the amazing, AMAZING view (did I say AMAZING?).

Located high above Marigot Bay, the Inn has views from front and back. The Bay is beautiful both morning and night. Lush foliage is everywhere, the pool is surrounded with beautiful potted plants, small tables dot the patio area, great for breakfast or a glass of wine....

....ah yes, breakfast. Muffins, and nut breads, fresh (RIPE!) fruits...mangos, and grapefruit and bananas....breads and jams, cereals, juices, coffee, tea. A great fresh start to each day, both the breakfast and the greeting of Normand - who is an innkeeper extraordinaire (along with his wife, Louise).

Normand and Louise are as much of an attraction as the comfy beds, the lovely breakfasts, or the amazing views....they are interesting, accommodating and go out of their way to make your stay memorable. No detail is too small for them to respond to. Whether you need an excursion planned, a ride down the hill to dinner, or champagne to celebrate an occasion - Normand will make it happen.

Our stay was memorable for many reasons. Thank you to Normand and Louise - may our paths cross again soon. If you're looking to relax, to enjoy, to have good conversations, beautiful views and NO hustle and bustle....make a reservation. It was wonderful.

Room Tip: Room number 4 was terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Inn On The Bay to your Saves list