We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a truly amazing find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On The Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marigot Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn On The Bay
Save
You added The Inn On The Bay to your Saves list
Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a truly amazing find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have just returned from 10 wonderful relaxing days at The Inn On The Bay! Chosen purely by the comments made here on Trip Advisor we were looking to avoid the big "all inclusive" hotels and hoping for something small and personal - we certainly were not disappointed in any way!

Words cannot adequately describe our experience, but we have certainly returned home more rested and relaxed than when we left!

From the moment we arrived, Normand and Louise did their utmost to make us feel very welcome and throughout our stay managed to strike the right balance between helpful assistance and leaving us to our own devices - they are true masters.

Normand is invisible until you need him - when you do he is at your side to provide everything from a cold beer, driving guests between the Inn and the Bay when required (just a phone call and he's there waiting!) to a fully personalised day out.

A small team assist in making everything appear seamless - Rose the maid who ensures the accommodation is maintained to the highest standard and Albert & Co the taxi team who provide airport transfers and day trips, doubling up as guides with a vast amount of local knowledge.

At this wonderful Inn you are treated to an incredible view of the beautiful Marigot Bay and a couple who provide a truly wonderful service in a lovely property.

We doubt there is anywhere better fits the requirements of a St Lucia visitor!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    19
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
380
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

If your interest is all inclusive, glitzy, bustling resorts...read no further. Try Sandals. If you are looking for a gem of a hotel, a bit reminiscent of the small inns we found in Italy - this is it. The rooms are spacious and clean, well maintained and decorated "island style". The lovely overhead fans cool you but don't freeze you, the breeze brings in the lovely smell of flowers and clean air. Just five rooms with interesting people in a relaxed setting.

The pool is great - just the right size, solar heated (very clever!), and in full sun in the morning and a bit shady in the heat of the afternoon. Plenty of lounge chairs and room to spread out and enjoy the amazing, AMAZING view (did I say AMAZING?).

Located high above Marigot Bay, the Inn has views from front and back. The Bay is beautiful both morning and night. Lush foliage is everywhere, the pool is surrounded with beautiful potted plants, small tables dot the patio area, great for breakfast or a glass of wine....

....ah yes, breakfast. Muffins, and nut breads, fresh (RIPE!) fruits...mangos, and grapefruit and bananas....breads and jams, cereals, juices, coffee, tea. A great fresh start to each day, both the breakfast and the greeting of Normand - who is an innkeeper extraordinaire (along with his wife, Louise).

Normand and Louise are as much of an attraction as the comfy beds, the lovely breakfasts, or the amazing views....they are interesting, accommodating and go out of their way to make your stay memorable. No detail is too small for them to respond to. Whether you need an excursion planned, a ride down the hill to dinner, or champagne to celebrate an occasion - Normand will make it happen.

Our stay was memorable for many reasons. Thank you to Normand and Louise - may our paths cross again soon. If you're looking to relax, to enjoy, to have good conversations, beautiful views and NO hustle and bustle....make a reservation. It was wonderful.

Room Tip: Room number 4 was terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanderklutz
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have been a member of Tripadvisor for years and this is the first review I've written (I'm a mooch). So the fact that moochy me was inspired to write my first TA review after staying at the Inn on the Bay should speak volumes about how great this place is.

If you are looking for an all inclusive party-fest, don't stay here. If you are looking for a place to relax and unplug and have access to all sorts of fun adventures on the island, then this is the place for you.

Louise and Normand are beyond amazing - they go out of their way to make your stay special. Normand (who is, as other reviewers mention a total hoot) personally drove me down to the bay every night and arranged taxis for me to visit various other sites on the island.

The rooms are clean and well-maintained. The breakfasts are basic, but always include delicious fresh fruit and home-baked muffins. The pool is great. The view from the inn is worth the trip alone. But the best part of this place is Normand and Louise and how utterly dedicated they are to their guests. I sat down with "Uncle Norm" and talked through things I was interested in and he set up all sorts of excursions that exactly suited my interests.

Seriously I cannot say enough good things about this place - book it now - you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I can't believe it has taken so long to write this review?! I cannot praise or recommend The Inn on the Bay highly enough. Everything about our stay was wonderful, from the first moment you set eyes on Marigot Bay itself, to the end of our visit, Steph and I felt the most relaxed and happy we've ever been. Normand and Louise offer an incredibly warm, friendly and open level of service and their knowledge of the local area and St Lucia as a whole, is invaluable. The Inn on the Bay is afforded one of the most spectacular views imaginable and breakfast on the terrace each morning, eating freshly prepared fruits and cakes (thank you Louise!), sipping coffee and soaking in the whole of the harbour is just the perfect start to the day. Normand is full of enthusiasm and no request is too much, mention his name anywhere down in the Harbour to recieve special rates and the like. This really was the trip of a lifetime and the Inn on the Bay had a huge part to play in making it so memorable. THANK YOU!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms were beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at the Inn on the Bay in Feb 2013, albeit only for 3 nights. We wish this had been for longer once we arrived as the service, room and views were all fantastic. Every morning we enjoyed a great breakfast which included a different freshly baked cake each day by Louise. The service was excellent including the co-owners, Normand, constant shuttle runs into Marigot Bay to help make our, and everyone elses stay even better.

We would highly recommend paying this great little hotel a visit if you are after a little R&R with a great pool and view.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were provided exceptional service from [owners] Normand and Louise. A beautifully laid out, very clean 5-room hotel was the perfect place for us. A quiet place to relax and enjoy the breathtaking view from atop the mountain. The breakfast by Louise was always very fresh and delicious!! We would meet the other hotel guests/couples poolside in the morning for breakfast and get to know them. International couples all providing interesting conversation! We would then go on our separate ways to explore the island or just lay poolside. As with everything at The Inn On The Bay, you do whatever you feel like! Normand is an exceptional host providing so many ideas to accommodate his guests. A Concierge extraordinaire! We thoroughly enjoyed the bay and the restaurants available at the bottom of "Normand's mountain". I highly recommend The Inn On The Bay for those couple's looking for a blend of quiet, nice conversation and of course, the use of the on-property concierge to help you plan your days on St. Lucia!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

No question this little Inn was the right break for us. We were looking for quiet, relaxed and with options to explore and go on our own schedule. Our daughter and Son in law had stayed with Louise and Normand a few years back and their experience matched all the reviews and we were not disappointed. The interaction with the people working with the Inn tells a lot of the story. From Albert (taxi), Rose (maid), Cornelius (water taxi) you pick up they enjoy the relationship and everyone knows Normand in town. We enjoy the occasional glass of Champagne and Normand went out of his way to secure a good deal for us and went and picked up a couple of bottles. This little 5 bedroom Inn functions to perfection and is a clear reflection of the couple running it, each with their area of responsibility. We will be crossing paths with Louise and Normand again and look forward to it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.