We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Good As It Gets !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On The Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marigot Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn On The Bay
Save Saved
You added The Inn On The Bay to your Saves list
Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Marigot Bay
Hampshire, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“As Good As It Gets !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Another fantastic stay at The Inn On The Bay. We have stayed here several times and it just gets better every time. We were probably the first guests of their new season and Normand & Louise were as charming and welcoming as ever. They really have a knack of making you feel completely at home but on the holiday of your dreams at the same time !!
If you are looking for a really special place that you will never forget you must stay here. The view of Marigot Bay is truly breathtaking but the warmth and hospitality of your hosts is extraordinary and this is what makes this place unique.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    501
    19
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
366
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Our honeymoon at The Inn on the Bay provided just what we were looking for...a laid back atmosphere with an intimate setting! Normand & Louise are the perfect hostesses, but more! They are so genuine and welcoming & truly want you to experience the best of their Inn and of St. Lucia. Louise prepared a lovely fresh breakfast each morning while Normand was ever so efficient & accomodating with great humor to plan our excursions and rides to/from the airport with the best driver ever, Albert & his son. We had never been to a country with the driving on the opposite side and that was an adventure in itself. Normand also planned our zip line outing...pulsating and so happy we did it. Also, a small boat taxi to the South of the old French capital of Soufrière, where we dined at Dasheene Restaurant located at LaDera Resort. We started with cocktails at T’cholit Bar just beneath the restaurant which shares the same unobstructed sea views flanked by St. Lucia’s signature twin volcanic Piton peaks. The local restaurants by the Inn were amazing...our favorites, Hurricane Hole and for a special meal, the Rainforest Hideaway...excellent and both on the water. Pool & drinks at Doolittle's afterwards was fun!
Much thanks to Rose who straigtened our room daily with such grace. Maybe we will run into Normand and Louise on their travels and if so, we would enjoy big hugs! Thank you again, Greg & Glenna

Room Tip: Our Room #1 was the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theinnonthebay, Owner at The Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Greg and Glenna,

Sorry if it took sooooo long to get back to you.

As you know, it is summer time and Louise and I are back in Montreal to visit friends and family.

We really enjoyed having you at The Inn for your honeymoon.

It was a great way for Louise and I to "end our season" with you around!

Louise is working on new muffin receipes and I'll surely get new jokes if you ever come back to The Inn! ;-)

As you know, we'll be opening back at the end of October.

In the meantime, we would like to thank you for posting your review on TA and we wish you all the best in the years to come.

Warmest regards,

Normand.... and Louise who says: "Bonjour!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The other reviews say it all so I will not repeat it. Normand and Louise go out of their way to look after their guests and the Inn on the Bay delivers everything it says on the box. If you want a good rest then this is the place for you. Local restaurants are good; JDs, Hurricane Hole, Chateau Marigot and Rainforest Hideaway all had excellent food, the latter being great for a special meal. We had one good meal and one not so good meal at Doolittle’s. The staff everywhere were incredibly friendly. The place is a bit isolated so many thanks to Normand for running us up and down to the bay and organising trips for us. We took a water taxi (in the rain!) to Soufrieres followed by a tour round the area near the Pitons by land taxi, organised by Normand. This was a very interesting and well put together trip - these trips can work out quite expensive but worth the money. We also took a canopy tour through the rainforest – amazing. We were very lucky to share part of our holiday with a lovely honeymoon couple from London and enjoyed sharing breakfast and trips with them which made our memories more special, including a meal with them on our last night at the Coal Pot in Castries. Thanks Normand and Louise and to Cesca and Andrew for helping us to have a very pleasant holiday.

Room Tip: Room 1 is slightly more private than the others, unless room 5, the smallest room is taken
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

It's very rare to find such a welcoming and accommodating place to stay, The Inn On The Bay is truely unique. Add to that Normand and Louise who together start your day with a healthy and delightful breakast while you soak in the magnificent view together with the splendor of a sunrise, more than that though Normand's jokes and personality will keep you laughing long after you've left St. Lucia. This place is an experience of a lifetime...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

How to keep this review short enough to read while accurately describing how much we enjoyed our stay at the Inn is going to be the biggest challenge. When my trip planning began I did a simple search for St Lucia hotel reviews in google. Obviously if your are reading this you found the long string of reviews for the Inn which is right at the top of the list. This placement comes with good reason. The Inn is hands down the most hospitable environment that both my girlfriend and I have experienced in our lives. Normand arranged for our pick up and transportation from the airport. Upon arrival we had friendly greetings from not only Normand and his lovely wife Louise, but also the other guests at the Inn. Our stay at The Inn was brief, only 3 nights, but that was long enough to leave a lasting impression. This establishment is one like no other and will forever change how i approach both meeting new people and trying new things. Each morning at the Inn was greeted with delicious food and warm conversations. We did adventure down the stairs on each day we are at the Inn and it is most definitely a good workout. The views from both the front and back decks were second to none that i have experienced. What sets the Inn apart in my opinion is the ability of its hosts to make the guests feel like one big family. We had an excellent time and would go back to this establishment in a heartbeat. I would suggest The Inn to anyone, especially those who enjoy a very low key and comfortable environment.

PS Normand & Louise if you are reading this Thank You again for a truly once in a lifetime experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

What an amazing place to stay. It's only small with 5 rooms so has a lovely personal touch. Normand and Louise were so completely accommodating; they would help us with anything we wanted to do and helped to make the day trips cheaper by clubbing together with some of the other guests. The temperature at the Inn is perfect; you can sunbathe and swim but there is a lovely cool breeze flowing in so you don't bake too much! The bat itself is great and there are plenty of v good restaurants. Overall a lovely relaxing stay and highly recommended for people who want a holiday with a personal touch.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from one of the truly great vacations. What made this trip so memorable was the spectacular beauty of St Lucia combined with the equally spectacular accommodation of the Inn on the Bay. You had to pinch yourself each morning to make sure you weren't dreaming when you looked out the window at the view of Marigot Bay. You could not ask for better hosts then Normand and Louise. Each day would start with delicious freshly baked muffins and breads along with fresh fruits and cheese, orange juice, coffee and tea. Getting to Marigot Bay and back was easy as you only had to say " Norm, we would like to go to town now ". Retuning was just as easy as you would ask whoever you were with whether on a boat or at a restaurant to call Norm for a pick up. ( everyone knows Norm and the number to call ). Part of the charm of the Inn was interacting with other couples . You really do feel you are part of a family at the Inn since this is the atmosphere set by Norm and Louise.
We rarely repeat vacations but St Lucia at Inn on the Bay is an exception. We can't wait to come back. Mark and Virginia

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.