We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort

Save Saved
You added Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Marigot Bay | St Lucia, Marigot Bay 000123, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Marigot Bay
Smygehamn, Sweden
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you want a telephone in the shower, 24 hour room service, fancy slippers by the bed or any other so called luxury items. Don´t stay in this place. If you wan´t a piece of a laid back paradise you should definitely go. We spent 4 weeks here last year and 5 weeks this year. After extensive traveling under many years we have at last found this fantastic hideaway. Saint Lucia is populated by mostly very friendly and welcoming people and some of them work here. Live is slow on the Island and don´t expect anything to be swift. But after a couple of days you slow down your tempo yours self and realize that you are not in a hurry. It is OK to wait a while for your food when you can do your waiting in a bar like the one at Doolittle's restaurant. The bartender is professional and serves rum drinks in a lot of varieties. Sometimes David who runs the place visit the bar and he is certainly good company. An interesting man who cares a lot about your well being as guest in the Marigot Beach club. So thanks David and staff for another wonderful winter vacation! see you next year! Therese and Dan

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marigot, Owner at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hey! thanks guys , so kind of you :)) and will be looking forward to seeing you again over Easter. always a pleasure taking care of you as you are so nice and relaxed and without issues. All the staff miss you and looking forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    71
    13
    15
    16
See reviews for
17
87
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatteris, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

For- arrived late and found room clean and comfortable . Nice views. Staff welcoming and friendly. Restaurant very good. Very pretty location.
Against- Lots of steep steps to access room. Room outdated-could do with some remodelling especially kitchen and bathroom. Trickle of water from shower and when we reported it, manager seemed surprised but told us they would get plumber out next day. Following morning (Sunday) no water at all. Asked to see manager and no manager on duty on Sunday! Staff very good but weren't sure what to do. Apparently there had been problems with water all week and they were waiting for the plumber. We had to insist on having another room with working shower and then were told we would have to move back to old room later. Very small swimming pool and beachside (?) quite small also so better for sleep and go stay. Overall very dissapointed and did not stay here for the remainder of our holiday

Room Tip: There are a lot of steps up to the rooms so if you have mobility problems this may not be for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marigot, Owner at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I am SO sorry that you chose to become a liar and especially after what i did for you. It is true that there was a water problem ( caused by a golden apple blocking the pump) it was rectified by me as i was the one you came to. I got the engineer to come out but recommended that you moved rooms ( an upgrade ) to our brand new rooms , which you accepted but wished to go back to your original room after it was fixed. YOU WERE GIVEN A COMPLIMENTARY NIGHT for the inconvenience AND CERTAINLY DID NOT CHECK OUT EARLY unless you did so mentally> read the comment above, Same room category. i just hope that you feel ashamed of yourself. I am so sad for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was our second stay in two years and we returned because our first experience with Marigot Beach club was truly exceptional! The front desk and personnel were EXCEPTIONAL with over-the-top service and helpfulness and made us feel comfortable right from the start. It is actually one of the reasons we were eager to go back the second time around . The Housekeeping staff was awesome also. The rooms were very clean and made us feel like home. The location of marigot Resort is THE BEST - being within walking distance to everything, and personally love the beach and views.it is a true taste of paradise with the warmth of a neighbourhood place I would recommend this hotel to anyone!
It surely won't be our last visit

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marigot, Owner at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments . The staff love taking care of you and you really have a nice attitude that makes it so much more easier for them to serve you and enjoy it. . All the team say HIiiiiii !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our stay at Marigot Beach Club was very pleasurable. The location could not be better as it is convenient to all restaurants, bars, and shopping in the area. We stayed in a Grande Studio Room and had a fantastic veranda with an amazing view. We could watch all the large yachts entering and leaving the bay, as well as the many hummingbirds hovering around the lush vegetation. David, the owner, was a pleasure to talk to. He was very helpful in suggesting things to see and do on the island. He brought to our attention a beautiful walking trail behind the resort which leads to the top of the hill and a great lookout point. We believe that the price of this resort matched very well the value we received. In fact, the convenience combined with the view made it quite a good deal in our eyes. For the same price and more, we have stayed in hotels which were not in nearly as beautiful a setting. Yes, the rooms are a little tired, but the couple of issues which arose were looked after Immediately after we brought it to the hotel's attention. The staff was working hard the whole time we were there quietly cleaning, repainting, repairing. Our unit had a shower that worked great the whole time...never any issues with water. Staff, as well as all St Lucians we met, were very pleasant and would interact with you as much as you wanted. If you did not want to talk to them, they would not bother you. However, if you wanted to know anything, they would be extremely helpful. Give a little respect, get a little respect....

Room Tip: We would choose a Grande Studio room again. The verandas were so comfortable even in the heat of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marigot, Owner at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you , thats what i call a review, very honest and informing, not like some of the twaddle i see on tripadvisors . it seems that overall you were happy with your stay and that is what concerns us most. thank you for your kind remarks. its funny that everyone mistakes tired for authenticity :) we try to give the old colonial feel ( four poster bed etc ) but at the same time these rooms ( not all categories are the same ) are painted and re vamped yearly so as to retain freshness and cleanliness of our product. any way , thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again. hope its not too cold where home is lol come back come back lol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aby, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We got married at Marigot Beach Club,Marigot Bay. The arrangement of the wedding was very good. With special thanks to Marcia,Laura and Nadja,who was a great help on our weddingday.
Marigot Bay is a wonderful place with amazing scenery and climate.
We lived in a Grand studio with great location and from the balcony we had a beautiful wiew of the bay.The staff at the hotel were always friendly and helpful.
However,there was some negativ things too. The shower at the pool did not work during our two weeks stay,and we were without water in the house twice.
There was a romantic cruise in the sunset included in the wedding package,thath cruise was definitely not romantic,it was a highspeed race,together vith some unknown people.
But looking back on our holyday at St.Lucia, on the whole,we are very satisfied.

Room Tip: If you choose Grand studio ,I think you will be satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marigot, Owner at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much. You were wonderful guests. And I wish you a happy marriage forever. Yes there were some glitches with the water which were immediately fixed and compensated with a bottle of champagne . The same thing with the romantic cruise. It was not racing but the yacht has to do 20 knots to get up on to the Plain and is its cruising speed. You showed dissatisfaction and was yet again compensated with another bottle of champagne . I was happy you left with an overall good experience and thank you for your patience. We hope to see you again for your anniversary. God bless you !!

Big love

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is my12th visit to this great resort!

Just the most fantastic place to be on the island! Without doubt! The staff are great really friendly and efficient.

The locals on the beach are harmless and charming and nice people trying to earn a living. Treat them with respect and it will returned many times more.

The food has improved so much and would highly recommend to any one!

Whilst to quality at the Rainforest Hideaway round the corner does seem to not keeping up on its previously mediocre standards.

David the owner is one of the most hospitable hoteliers on the island!



Highly recommend at any time.

Peter from Coleshill UK

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to St Lucia and having previously done a wonderful tour as well as visiting the market, we planned a lazy beach day as we were travelling back to the UK the next day.

Rodney Bay had been recommended, but following our previous experiences of beaches when several cruise ships are in we knew that it would be busy. Sure enough 2 ships were already in as well as our and we had our only tender day. Once ashore I requested to a taxi driver that he take us to Choc Beach, he told me that it was a locals beach and that he would not take us there (fair enough). I spoke to another driver and he said he would take us to a quieter beach, a couple standing next to me asked if they could share the ride and we set off to Marigot Beach Bay. The journey was around 25 minutes and gave us the chance to view some more of this lovely island. We requested that the driver collect us again later and he showed us to the ferry.

The ferry ride is about 1 minute and the vista is stunning it cost £2 each return. The beach was not what I expected, the sun went in and an American guy came over shouting at us as to who had taken his sunbeds. For a while I thought we had made a big mistake. In a flash the attendant arrived to welcome us, he got the man 2 more beds, chatted to us telling us that the film Dr Doolittle was made there, told us where the toilet was, about food etc.

The sun came out, the setting was idyllic and during the day there was a maximum of 20 people on the beach. The water was clear and we saw a lot of beautiful fish. We had our morning coffee in the restaurant, again the view was beautiful and the staff were very welcoming. Throughout the day we had locals selling various items, including bananas which were the best we have had. They were very friendly and helpful, telling us all sorts of info about the place. There were boats coming and going all day so plenty to look at. We had a great day, so thanks to all for your efforts. Plus the taxi driver was waiting for us bang on time so we didn’t miss the ship!

We had a look around the hotel and it looked really lovely, an idyllic setting to get away from it all. But I have just read a few reviews and cannot believe that someone would complain about something so ridiculously trivial as a face cloth??? The phrase ‘get a life’ springs to mind.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort

Address: Marigot Bay | St Lucia, Marigot Bay 000123, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort is the place to be if you want to de-stress on your Caribbean holidays, and if you prefer St Lucia hotels and resorts that offer a laid-back and friendly atmosphere where the emphasis is on relaxation and fun. Uniquely situated in a stunning and secluded part of St Lucia that's only accessible by boat, Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort is nestled in lush tropical rainforest overlooking one of the most beautiful and exotic bays in the world. From the veranda of your studio or villa you'll enjoy spectacular St Lucian sunsets, and within a few steps you'll be on our palm-fringed white sand beach, sipping exotic cocktails from Doolittles Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marigot Beach Club And Dive Hotel Marigot Bay
Marigot Beach Hotel Dive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.