We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort to your Saves list
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Marigot Bay | St Lucia, Marigot Bay 000123, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fabulous resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

wow,what a setting.found this on-line and loved it.i would reccomend up-grading to a panoramic view because the view is picture-postcard perfect.all the staff are very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.its just such an idyllic caribbean setting.they have a really good dive centre on site and i`ll be going back as they were due to finish a new spa this winter(2012).
it`s in a good posistion on the island,so you can easily drive north to the capital or rodney bay or south to the pitons and rainforest.so a great place because of its fantastic setting and very friendly,helpful staff.

Room Tip: do go on-line to look and then pick a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    72
    15
    18
    16
See reviews for
20
92
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muskego, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We found out about the resort on-line. My wife and I and our three daughters all loved the place. Our room was about ten feet off the water with a great view of the bay and ocean from our wrap-around deck. The staff was very friendly. We spent New Years eve at the Doolittles and had a fantastic time and did not feel taken advantage of with the cost. The staff that was not working that night were invited for the festivities and it was a good opportunity to talk with them in a casual environment. We travelled the island with a driver. I feel that Marigot Bay was one of the most scenic areas of the Island. It is centrally located so heading north up to Pigeon Island or to the Pitons on the South end of the Island is easy. The property is being worked on and improved all the time. If you are looking for all the large resort amenities this place may not be for you, but you will not find a better setting or friendlier staff.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

After finding out this property can only be accessed by boat, eating the food (at the restaurant which was totally terrible), being harassed out at the island area by the hotel, where the only very scary characters in Marigot Bay seem to hang out and finally viewing our room and seeing/feeling beds which were hard as a rock with room decor looking like it was last decorated in 1975...we then asked to have our 50% deposit refunded to move to a different hotel and were flatly refused any type of refund. Nonetheless, we refused to ruin our vacation by staying at this horrible place and we got an awesome rate across the bay at The Discovery which was in all ways beyond FABULOUS!!! Seriously, as a couple who have travelled all over the world, this was the best $1,100 we have spent to NOT stay at a hotel!! Don't miss beautiful Marigot Bay but do miss staying here!!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marigot, Owner at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
I am not surprised about your vicious attack on my hotel !! You booked 7 months in advance but when you arrived in st Lucia you chose to book in another hotel where your friends were staying and you got a deal from the receivers of the hotel . You then , on the same day that you were supposed to check into my hotel came with a bundle of excuses in order to get your deposit returned . You were offered upgrades into our new rooms " Panorama " and we extended every curtesy to make you happy but your minds were set. You then even threatened to report us to trip-advisor if you never got your deposit back . We have reported this incident which is not only incorrect but damning and causing us unnecessary damages. It is as serious as it can get !! , As for decorating and painting of the property ( in your ignorance ) we have to paint just about everything on a yearly basis because of the weather ( sun , rain, salt water, rainwater, hurricanes occasionally ) some of our buildings are less than a year old so your accusations stand for nothing. Let me give you some good advice ! Do your investigations properly before you give a deposit. We have to take the room off of the marketing list and that is what deposits are for ( to reserve them, they cannot be re-let at short notice). As for ferry across the water which is not only on our website but a romantic trip , away from noises traffic and fumes. It is a plus. The unsavory characters you challenged and disrespected are locals trying to make a living , no more no less !! There is a police station only 100 feet away and the police regularly patrol the beach. There is and never has been a threat to any tourist visiting our beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I fell in love with this place the 1st time I seen the website. It looked perfect and I was going to choose the cheaper room but decided it was worth paying for the panoramic view - which indeed it was. The receptionist on welcoming us said what a good choice we'd made and that these were recently completed rooms. Sadly it would appear there was still work to be done to get things right. There was no hot water, which I mentioned the next morning, which apparently was due to the pump. It was to be fixed. This didn't happen and then the reception was closed for Xmas day and Boxing day. We stayed for 9 nights as planned and had no hot water at all. On checking out I was asked if I'd allowed the water to run for sufficient time - I felt 30 minutes was long enough! Chap in next room also had same issue. It's just as well they get so much rainfall there otherwise I'd have felt very guilty about the wastefullness.
Breakfast - took approx 60-90 minutes every day. I know we weren't in any rush but 90 mins is taking the p.....ss.. Dinner was much quicker for some reason but there was nothing special organised for Xmas day only Xmas eve! We found a brilliant restaurant around the corner which provided much better food albeit more expensive. The Rainforest.

Dive centre - there is no dive centre here - well not when I was there. There were signs and a little cabin but nobody in attendance. I think if you want a dive centre you need to go somewhere else as the best you can do here is snorkling.

It's such a shame really that I am writing this review as the location is beautiful and that's what it's got going for it. I would also mention that it's not a place for someone who has difficulty walking - not a problem for me or my partner but I felt it would be useful to others to point this out on the website.

Room Tip: Go for the panoramic rooms they really are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marigot, Owner at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Oh Ooooh! another guest nobbled by my competetors who you mention. NO ONE would wait 9 days to report no hot water, thats just rediculous . The hot water runs off solar panels and is pumped by the same pump as the cold water so if what you were saying was true then we would be smelling you a mile off, whoaa!. The reception was closed but management, maintenance and owner was on the property at all times so there was really no need to feel lonely : ) lol. Breakfast on one occasion was a little slow and was actually 45 minutes because 5 tables of between 6-8 persons sat down just before you, breakfast is alla carte and is not left sweating in chaffing dishes so i'm afraid that you have to sacrifice time for quality, i know, hell isnt it ?
The dive centre is 15 foot by 45 ft so i'm glad it didnt drop on your head otherwise it would have really hurt :)). this "little cabin " is the reception to take dives reservations, as is the hotel reception. it also houses the Kayaks for river adventures, the main bottles and equipment are on a boat and other dive shop acroos the bay because the water is not deep enough for the dive boat and divers are picked up from our ferry dock. It is true to say that the steps to "panorama" are steep but you forgot to mention there is an alternative route which is a lot easier and requires no effort, and in any case we do have beach front studios and much easier accessible rooms than the ones you loved so much. so thanks for your exagerations, have a nice day .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I had emailed this hotel a few days before booking inquiring about availability - they sent me a list of rooms to choose from. I responded with my room choice, only to learn they only had 1 room type left!! Highly disappointing as we have a 7 month old and were looking for a bigger room with a proper kitchen. Regardless, we still booked the smaller room (with kitchenette) even though it cost more. The room was very small, the kitchen was very poorly equipped (two spoons, one small one large, two knives, two plates, not one cutting knife.....etc.). But, the room was cleaned daily.

The staff at this resort were very very friendly, especially the ferry drivers! If you didn't know, you have to take a ferry to get there, its only 1 minute and there is a parking lot a short drive away.

However, the restaurant is way overpriced not to mention that if you want wireless access you're basically forced to sit in there! Of course you get strong signals from neighbouring resorts, but theirs are all locked (for good reason). They also tried to double charge us for a meal (we paid in the restaurant, but they added to the room bill as well) - I'm pretty sure this wasn't an honest mistake. The beers are more expensive than anywhere else we saw on the whole island, except at happy hour.

Marigot bay is beautiful and the location is perfect. Great for swimming and our little one really enjoyed himself. Swimming in the ocean that is, the pool isn't cleaned very well. So overall I'm mixed about this place. The room was good for the price, but we either had to cook for ourselves or head up the hill to Juliette's neither are a deal breaker!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marigot, Owner at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Lindsay, so sorry that we were unable to give you the room that you wanted and galley kitchen was all that was available but the bedroom is of adequate size ( the four poster makes it appear smaller )( having a cot in the room does not help either and would limit your space) does have a decent size balcony too. Had you have asked for anything extra for your Galley kitchen it would have been provided with a smile :))) the fact is you did not. Trust me, the pool is very clean and chemical readings are taken 3 times per day. the problems arises from guests not showering when coming from the sea, the sea water affects the chlorene. There has been no report from you regarding being charged twice, verbally or written, so i really dont know where you are coming from . You chose 50% discount on our promotion so i guess food prices in comparison appeared high but nevertheless no more expensive and in fact a lot less expensive than other restaurants locally and island wise. we have two hour happy hour, two drinks for the price of one so we are actually the cheapest on the island and we have a chosen brand Beer which is popular for only $4-00 e.c. ALL NIGHT. you were obviously on an extremely tight budget to have ate at Julliettas every night ! ouch. whats good ain't cheap, and whats cheap aint
good. The internet Has 4 Routers , one around reception area, two at the restaurant, one at the yacht club. ALL FREE. Guess the baby was keeping you up all night and making you irritable hey ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Wow,what a spectacular location overlooking Marigot Bay.
We arrived on the waterfront to be escorted on the quaint free ferry to the resort,
We were shown round by the friendly staff to the air conditioned rooms with some large villas and also studios for couples.
Love the 4 poster beds.
Located on a small beach the views across to the marina were spectacular when seated at the two waterfront restaurants and bars.
We were shown round the gym/beauty and massage saloon and also the conference facility.
The food was excellent as was the quick and friendly service.
They also have a PADI Scuba diving centre on site.
Internet facilities on site
I will definately be selling this to my clients for relaxing holidays.

Room Tip: go for the higher rooms the views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you want colonial charm in quaint surroundings & shabby chic this is the Hotel for you oozing with character & with a magical atmosphere. At night the hypnotic sounds of the tree-frogs & insects will lull you into to a deep sleep. We enjoyed a spectacular view of the Bay from our elegant balcony.

The new Spa was a blissful experience with a massage from the excellent Julia. The surroundings are simple & there is no horrid tinkly music or inane chatter - peace!

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room on the lower level which was quiet & the four-poster bed was comfortable. L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort

Address: Marigot Bay | St Lucia, Marigot Bay 000123, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort is the place to be if you want to de-stress on your Caribbean holidays, and if you prefer St Lucia hotels and resorts that offer a laid-back and friendly atmosphere where the emphasis is on relaxation and fun. Uniquely situated in a stunning and secluded part of St Lucia that's only accessible by boat, Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort is nestled in lush tropical rainforest overlooking one of the most beautiful and exotic bays in the world. From the veranda of your studio or villa you'll enjoy spectacular St Lucian sunsets, and within a few steps you'll be on our palm-fringed white sand beach, sipping exotic cocktails from Doolittles Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marigot Beach Club And Dive Hotel Marigot Bay
Marigot Beach Hotel Dive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.