We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort to your Saves list
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Marigot Bay | St Lucia, Marigot Bay 000123, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Colonial Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you want colonial charm in quaint surroundings & shabby chic this is the Hotel for you oozing with character & with a magical atmosphere. At night the hypnotic sounds of the tree-frogs & insects will lull you into to a deep sleep. We enjoyed a spectacular view of the Bay from our elegant balcony.

The new Spa was a blissful experience with a massage from the excellent Julia. The surroundings are simple & there is no horrid tinkly music or inane chatter - peace!

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room on the lower level which was quiet & the four-poster bed was comfortable. L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    72
    15
    18
    16
See reviews for
20
92
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Everything about the stay was great except for one aspect. As with most reviews, you really only hear about the bad items that compel a person to share them. I won't make this review any different. The European owner of the condos didn't seem to take much pride in his rooms nor did he appear to care if his guests were enjoying the stay. One of our rooms had to repeatedly request to have the facecloths changed. Every day, it was like the movie groundhog day with Bill Murray...everything was replaced except for the facecloths. The guests would complain, and sure enough the next day, old and wet facecloths remained in the shower. Who wants to shower with a used facecloth? Another room lost electrical power. When asked to please fix it, the owner (who was easily found every day by simply walking down to the bar) told the guest to go open the breaker box and see if he could resolve the problem?!?!? Since when is a firm grasp on the concepts of electrical wiring a prerequisite to stay at a resort?!?!?
In summation:
The place was beautiful, the rooms were clean, the food was excellent, the locals were indescribably friendly, the dive crew was top notch, the value was great, and the owner of the condo…was a jerk and should consider another career before he wrecks this beautiful slice of heaven.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marigot, Owner at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear sir
Thank you for your very positive comments :). I am very sorry about the face towels and had you have mentioned it to me personally ( but obviously did not want to as you considered me a "jerk" for whatever reason) after getting no response from housekeeping ( and presumably) the front desk then I can assure you that you would have got your face cloths IMMEDIATLY ! As for the breaker box, you obviously overheard a conversation between myself and a friend who was staying for my birthday who I asked if he had checked the breaker box before he came down to save me running up the hill before checking the main breaker room behind the swimming pool , not really a big deal that you make it out to be. As for your slurr About considering another career before I ruin this beautiful slice of heaven, you could not get further from the truth as when I arrived 18 years ago it was a run down property and I have been the instigator of its development and still remain so. The next stage is to make Marigot beach club a spa and wellness resort and are presently building steam rooms, infra red sauna, floatation tanks, and hydro therapy baths. I shall also be introducing meditation ( sounds like it might be an obvious one for you lol!) Thai chi, yoga, water arobics, and much more for your and other guests pleasure. My it is so easy to form opinions about others without either meeting them or talking to them for any period of time and I am sorry you chose to form this opinion for no real reason. What I do have to ponder over is why? Did it take 5 months to post this on tripadvisor if your experience was so irksome?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Oak, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was the best school trip I have been on. The people were very nice and willing to help. The view was amazing and breathtaking. It was my first dive experience and they made it great and enjoyable. There were a lot of opportunities to see and visit other parts of the island that were told to us by the natives. They wanted all of us to have a great time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort was absolutely BEAUTIFUL. I came down with a decent sized group for a study abroad Scuba trip. Diving for the first time was truly an incredible experience, but it was augmented by the beautiful accommodations put up by the resort. Beautiful scenery kept very clean, and delicious food down at the restaurant every night!

Room Tip: I really enjoyed the rooms in the middle where we stayed because we had a great view out over the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loretto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Marigot Beach Club in Marigot Bay, St. Lucia is the place to kick back and relax. And it's easy access to diving with Dive Fair Helen. The reefs are beautiful. And, the food at DooLittles is wonderful! I highly recommend this resort to people that want to get away from a busy life and just relax!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Marigot Beach club was the right choice for us in St. Lucia. The location was ideal since it is a very beautiful and relaxing part of the island. Don’t expect a perfect beach but you will be rewarded in many other ways. The natural beauty of the bay is amazing. About the hotel, the quality/price ratio is excellent. One of the best so far. The rooms are very clean, have a kitchen and are very well decorated. Also, it’s almost impossible for you not to get an ocean view. The restaurant is good but the prices don’t match the room costs since it’s quite expensive. I also didn’t like their cancelation policy. We almost had to cancel and these days, with so many changes on the travel plans, they should be more flexible. Even though I don’t like it, I understand if a hotel charges you for the first night if you don’t show up or cancel in the last 24 hours. This hotel charges you 50% non-refundable when you book. I hope they change this policy. Even though it didn’t affect us, it could have. If we go back, we will stay at the Marigot Beach club again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed during the off season, & it was indeed like having our own resort.

We received great service even ahead of time. Marcia was extremely helpful, answering our questions & making arrangements for us. She was equally helpful once we arrived, as were Flavia & Lorne. How they could remain cheerful while dropping what they were doing to answer our questions still amazes me.

We stayed in one of the Panorama rooms. It was clean & comfortable, & it had a beautiful view. We bought food at the grocery store across the bay for breakfast & lunch, augmented by food we bought at the market in Castries, & kept it in the refrigerator. The housekeeper even found us a knife, so that we could cut the mangos we bought.

The passenger ferry ride across the bay is a nice touch. Make sure you use the hotel ferry, as it is free to the hotel guests, & the other one costs $2 US. Dwight & Joseph provided great service driving the ferry, & we enjoyed visiting with them on our short trips across the bay. We never had to wait long. Although the ferry is available at all hours, it is helpful to make arrangements with the night security person for late nights or early mornings. He is very accommodating, & we had no trouble with this.

We ate at the hotel restaurant, Doolittles, our first night. The food was good, & the wait staff were quick & pleasant. The prices are reasonable for the area on the water in the bay area. We found that we could hike the hill on the other side (it's a heckuva hill) & be at Julietta's or JJ's in about 15-20 minutes & have local catches for less cost. A 30-minute walk takes you to Mama Sheila's on the main road, & its food was comparable to Julietta's or JJ's in quality & price. The chef's specials at Doolittles on the weekend were comparable in price to Julietta's or JJ's, & we should have taken advantage of those.

The walk from the ferry dock to the hotel passes through a public beach. The hotel does not own it, so they cannot control it. Be prepared for local entrepreneurs to try to sell food and coconut palm handicrafts. They backed off when we declined to purchase, but they would try again each time we walked through. I think the fewer potential customers during the off season might have driven them to be more persistent.

There is a beautiful view of the bay from Julietta's. The bay from water level is probably not as beautiful as it once was, due to a lot of building on the south side. The bay area remains a great place to stay, though. It's close enough to Castries to get there easily, but far enough away to avoid the capital's hustle & bustle.

We greatly enjoyed our stay here, for the quality of the room (it's a great value in the off season), but more so for the outstanding people who work here. If we did not have a personal policy of not returning to a place we have been, we would stay in St. Lucia again, & we would definitely stay at the Marigot Beach Club again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort

Address: Marigot Bay | St Lucia, Marigot Bay 000123, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort is the place to be if you want to de-stress on your Caribbean holidays, and if you prefer St Lucia hotels and resorts that offer a laid-back and friendly atmosphere where the emphasis is on relaxation and fun. Uniquely situated in a stunning and secluded part of St Lucia that's only accessible by boat, Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort is nestled in lush tropical rainforest overlooking one of the most beautiful and exotic bays in the world. From the veranda of your studio or villa you'll enjoy spectacular St Lucian sunsets, and within a few steps you'll be on our palm-fringed white sand beach, sipping exotic cocktails from Doolittles Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marigot Beach Club And Dive Hotel Marigot Bay
Marigot Beach Hotel Dive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.