We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort

Save Saved
You added Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Marigot Bay | St Lucia, Marigot Bay 000123, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Marigot Bay
loretto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Marigot Beach Club in Marigot Bay, St. Lucia is the place to kick back and relax. And it's easy access to diving with Dive Fair Helen. The reefs are beautiful. And, the food at DooLittles is wonderful! I highly recommend this resort to people that want to get away from a busy life and just relax!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    71
    13
    15
    16
See reviews for
17
86
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Marigot Beach club was the right choice for us in St. Lucia. The location was ideal since it is a very beautiful and relaxing part of the island. Don’t expect a perfect beach but you will be rewarded in many other ways. The natural beauty of the bay is amazing. About the hotel, the quality/price ratio is excellent. One of the best so far. The rooms are very clean, have a kitchen and are very well decorated. Also, it’s almost impossible for you not to get an ocean view. The restaurant is good but the prices don’t match the room costs since it’s quite expensive. I also didn’t like their cancelation policy. We almost had to cancel and these days, with so many changes on the travel plans, they should be more flexible. Even though I don’t like it, I understand if a hotel charges you for the first night if you don’t show up or cancel in the last 24 hours. This hotel charges you 50% non-refundable when you book. I hope they change this policy. Even though it didn’t affect us, it could have. If we go back, we will stay at the Marigot Beach club again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed during the off season, & it was indeed like having our own resort.

We received great service even ahead of time. Marcia was extremely helpful, answering our questions & making arrangements for us. She was equally helpful once we arrived, as were Flavia & Lorne. How they could remain cheerful while dropping what they were doing to answer our questions still amazes me.

We stayed in one of the Panorama rooms. It was clean & comfortable, & it had a beautiful view. We bought food at the grocery store across the bay for breakfast & lunch, augmented by food we bought at the market in Castries, & kept it in the refrigerator. The housekeeper even found us a knife, so that we could cut the mangos we bought.

The passenger ferry ride across the bay is a nice touch. Make sure you use the hotel ferry, as it is free to the hotel guests, & the other one costs $2 US. Dwight & Joseph provided great service driving the ferry, & we enjoyed visiting with them on our short trips across the bay. We never had to wait long. Although the ferry is available at all hours, it is helpful to make arrangements with the night security person for late nights or early mornings. He is very accommodating, & we had no trouble with this.

We ate at the hotel restaurant, Doolittles, our first night. The food was good, & the wait staff were quick & pleasant. The prices are reasonable for the area on the water in the bay area. We found that we could hike the hill on the other side (it's a heckuva hill) & be at Julietta's or JJ's in about 15-20 minutes & have local catches for less cost. A 30-minute walk takes you to Mama Sheila's on the main road, & its food was comparable to Julietta's or JJ's in quality & price. The chef's specials at Doolittles on the weekend were comparable in price to Julietta's or JJ's, & we should have taken advantage of those.

The walk from the ferry dock to the hotel passes through a public beach. The hotel does not own it, so they cannot control it. Be prepared for local entrepreneurs to try to sell food and coconut palm handicrafts. They backed off when we declined to purchase, but they would try again each time we walked through. I think the fewer potential customers during the off season might have driven them to be more persistent.

There is a beautiful view of the bay from Julietta's. The bay from water level is probably not as beautiful as it once was, due to a lot of building on the south side. The bay area remains a great place to stay, though. It's close enough to Castries to get there easily, but far enough away to avoid the capital's hustle & bustle.

We greatly enjoyed our stay here, for the quality of the room (it's a great value in the off season), but more so for the outstanding people who work here. If we did not have a personal policy of not returning to a place we have been, we would stay in St. Lucia again, & we would definitely stay at the Marigot Beach Club again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compton, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here.

Pros: We stayed here in June (the low season) and we did not see but only a few people other guests. It was as if we had our own little private resort. We liked how quiet the bay was compared to other parts of the island. The food at the restaurant was very good. Bar made very good drinks.

Cons: (room 52) The bed was very uncomfortable for both of us. I lifted up the mattress after the 2nd night and saw that the frame was broke and was attempted to be poorly spliced back together. This made a hole in the center of mattress and our backs did not feel right for a couple days after leavving. Restaurant was a little pricey, except for breakfast. The bar was not consistent with prices on drinks. The office was not open very often, but that may be due to the slow season.

Conclusion: as for the bed, we could have just asked to stay in another room, 20/20 rear vision on this one. I am sure other rooms are fine. We would easily stay here again and do recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We could see why it's considered the most beautiful bay in St Lucia from the moment our cab came over the hill. The short (free) water taxi hop from the end of the road past the spit of palm-tree lined beach to the hotel must be one of the most scenic boat rides in the Caribbean. We received a warm welcome and free cocktail, and an upgrade to a panoramic room (with a great view from the balcony) as ours was being renovated. Our stay continued in the same positive chilled-out vein, involving little more than a wander to the poolside terrace (with a huge parasol). The food is excellent, the cocktails are generous and there are 3 free pool tables (and BBC News on a big screen!) for entertainment. Sometimes the service was a bit disorganised but the smiles and charm made up for it. We were going to nip back across on the water taxi to the supermarket but were just too relaxed, and a local guy had sold us some fruit (be prepared to haggle - we failed and got ripped off) to keep us going. It did detract a little from the experience to be accosted whenever you headed onto the (public) beach (or even by the private pool in the case of fruit man) by guys wanting to sell you something (usually dope), but it was a minor gripe. At $100 per night this was superb value (though don't expect 5 star luxury or service), and going in June meant sharing with only a few other guests. Just remember insect repellent as they were pretty voracious (we forgot and got punished for it).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Loved the place.........if you want to be away from the hustle bustle of large resorts this is your spot. Serene relaxing lovely views with magical tropical flowers popping around. Doolitlles is the local restaurant which offers nice lounge sofas.......I bet if one happens to nod off while reading on the lounge no one would bother you and you would awake refreshed full of nice dreams. I met the owner David on the night he returned from Wales, he loves meeting the guests and making them happy; he is a rather spirited chap and I think he should visit me when he comes to America-Sound like a plan David?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We spent ten days at Marigot Bay Beach club in May 2012. When we arrived, the room allocated to us was already occupied, so the owner, David, installed us in a superior bungalow with no additional cost to us. All the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful, especially Natadia who was on duty when we arrived and had to endure our disappointment that our original room was not available, but did her best to ensure we were taken care of. In the restaurant, there were times that dishes on the menu were not available, due to non-delivery of supplies, but that is not unusual on the island.
Our accommodation needed some repairs. The shower head in the bathroom kept falling off and when we had torrential rain, the roof leaked, being the last building with a barrel tile roof, all the others appearing to have had replacement metal roofs. The kitchen was poorly stocked. We had four dinner plates, four cereal bowls and two mugs. Cutlery consisted of two knives, two forks, one dessert spoon and two teaspoons. Two large six-quart pots and a frying pan were the only cooking utensils.
On the whole, the resort was kept clean and tidy with maintenance always in progress, but it still needs some TLC. None of the items listed above prevented us from enjoying our vacation, and we thank David for his help in making our vacation memorable.
The resort is set in beautiful surroundings in the most picturesque, natural bay in the whole Caribbean and every visitor should spend at least one day in that area.

As a footnote, and nothing to do with Marigot Beach Club, if any reader is planning to stay on the island, you will need a car to see all the beautiful places, but take our advice, stay away from Fox Car Rental/Guys Car rental. (The same company) Our rental car wasn't available at the airport and had to be delivered to us the next day. The car they delivered was just not powerful enough to take the hills, (all the island is uphill/downhill) and half way through our vacation the lights failed, forcing us to get a replacement, which was no better. Select any other car rental company, but make sure the car you select has enough power to handle the roads.

Room Tip: Depending upon your mobility, ask for a room on the lower levels, as there are many steps to climb t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort

Address: Marigot Bay | St Lucia, Marigot Bay 000123, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort is the place to be if you want to de-stress on your Caribbean holidays, and if you prefer St Lucia hotels and resorts that offer a laid-back and friendly atmosphere where the emphasis is on relaxation and fun. Uniquely situated in a stunning and secluded part of St Lucia that's only accessible by boat, Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort is nestled in lush tropical rainforest overlooking one of the most beautiful and exotic bays in the world. From the veranda of your studio or villa you'll enjoy spectacular St Lucian sunsets, and within a few steps you'll be on our palm-fringed white sand beach, sipping exotic cocktails from Doolittles Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marigot Beach Club And Dive Hotel Marigot Bay
Marigot Beach Hotel Dive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.