We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the World view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Mygo Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marigot Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau Mygo Villas
Save
You added Chateau Mygo Villas to your Saves list
1 Mama Sheila Drive, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Wembley
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top of the World view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here with friends. The villa was suitable for 2 couples and the balcony had a great view of the bay and the multitude of hummingbirds. The breeze kept the humidity down which was a plus compared to the village below.
Doreen was very helpful with ideas for activities and it was great to spend the evening at the restaurant when there was a live band.
The "goat trail" up to the villa was always an interesting drive.
This was a good location to tour the west and north end of the island and take in the Fishfest in Anse La Raye, the market in Castries, the rum distillery and tour Pigeon Island.
We'd certainly recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed in the Sunset Apartment back in 2008 and sailed for a week to St Vincent & the Grenadines!! The people here are as first rate as the accomodations. The view was breaktaking each and every day!!! We took friends for a quick visit on a cruise ship stop some 3 years later and were treated like family. We will get back again someday to St Lucia and here is where we will stay without a doubt.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful holiday on this beautiful Island, made all the better by staying at such a well appointed villa. All mod cons and more plus fantastic views from both the villa and pool area. What better way to spend a warm Carribean evening, than to relax in the hammock, on the balcony, with a bottle of the local brew, watching a fabulous sunset. We could not have found a better place as a base for our holiday. Frank, Doreen and Meta, our maid, as indeed all the staff, made us very welcome and nothing was to much trouble for them. The food in the restaurant is exceptional value and beautifully prepared and presented. An all round excellant venue and a beautiful location. There is nothing bad to say about Chateau Mygo Villas

Room Tip: All Villas are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Chateau Mygo Villas for a belated honeymoon and we couldn't have been happier! The villas are so incredibly charming, the view is out of this world, and Frank and Doreen were very welcoming and helpful with tips of things to do around the island-- I would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants a scenic and peaceful stay. Enjoy the hammock and grill on your balcony as you watch the sunset--well worth the trip!

Room Tip: rent a car- you'll get to explore more, have more fun and it'll be far easier getting into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We both had the mahi mahi in creole sauce and it was delicious. It was sieved with rice and great assortment of vegetables. Shared a fabulous slice of chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream for dessert.

Our hostess and server were so pleasant and attentive all evening.

Make sure you get there in time for sunset, a great place to watch it!

We wouldn't change a thing and highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Recently stayed in one of the Mygo villas and loved our time here. Accommodations were clean and very comfortable, with all of the conveniences of a home away from home.

The views of the bay from the balcony and private pool are lovely. Hammock on the porch and a grill for cooking fresh finds from the local markets...what else could you want?

Frank and Doreen were exceptional hosts, making sure we had everything we needed and providing great tips on things to do around the island.

Per other reviews, visitors will want to rent a car (4x4, if possible) for a stay at Mygo. The road from the town up to the villas is very steep and winding...but it's totally worth it for the views you get at the top!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platteville, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

First let me say that the place is extremely clean and had no smell. Those two things are very important to me. It is small, but yet felt spacious due to the very high vaulted ceiling. The Villa is only 2 rooms, the bathroom and one large room that holds the bed, a small sitting area with TV and the kitchenette. The small kitchenette looked well maintained, but for this being a spot for just two, the pots provided were huge. I was going to warm up a can of corn one night but ended up doing it in 2 cereal bowls in the microwave. The 2 big pots looked to be the same size and had to be about 6 Quarts. The frying pans provided were much better sized and in good shape. We did most of our cooking on the small Weber gas grill out on the patio. There is no table inside to eat on but the weather & temperature were so nice that eating outside on the covered terrace is just fine. And the view from the terrace of Marigot Bay is wonderful.
The road up to the villa is quite steep and rocky. You will definitely want to rent a car if you are staying here as walking up and down this road/hill will get old fast. But be aware that on the island there are very few road signs and no speed limit. Not that you can go very fast with the very curvy roads and numerous pot holes. The main road around the island is in pretty good shape, it is the side roads that are tough. This is typical of all islands.
We only used the pool area two days. The water temp was on the cool side. The lounge chairs around the pool were a great spot to relax and read a book.
They rely on rain water here so when you pick up groceries you will want to get a case of bottled water. The small marina grocery store in Marigot Bay is very, very small and does not carry any fresh meat or seafood and what they do have frozen is limited. It also has very limited fresh vegetables and with this being in the Marina everything is quite high priced. You will want to shop at the Super J grocery store that is about 15-20 minutes from Marigot Bay. We stopped here on our way to the villa the very first day to save us a trip.
We never had a chance to meet Frank as he was very busy with their charter boat business, but Doreen was always available, pleasant and helpful. She loaned us a cooler so that we could take lunch with us a couple of days when going down to Soufriere to SCUBA dive. We were also looking to buy fresh fish so she sold us a fresh whole Red Snapper. We cooked it on the grill and enjoyed a great supper. Her staff who did the cleaning and up-keep of the villa/pool area did an excellent job.
The only suggestion I have for Frank & Doreen is to provide beach towels. They provide pool towels, but you are supposed to bring your own beach towels. It would also be nice if some plastic glasses were provided in case you wanted to take a drink up to the pool area. I do not like to have glass around pools. And the seat cushions on the two indoor sitting area chairs should be replaced. Once you have sat in them awhile, they are not comfortable. However, these are all minor points and, overall, I would highly recommend their “villa.”

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Mygo Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Mygo Villas

Address: 1 Mama Sheila Drive, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Mygo Villas are located on the highest point on the southern side of the bay overlooking the Caribbean Sea and Marigot Bay. Self catering villas with an amazing pool, private romantic & intimate. Locally owned and operated. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Mygo Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.