We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Che” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mausoleo del Che Guevara

Mausoleo del Che Guevara
Santa Clara, Santa Clara, Cuba
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Attractions in Santa Clara
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks
Attraction details
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Che”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very emotional. The mausoleum is dark and ensures your tought. Unfortunately, no photos ar4e permitted. Security they say!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    129
    44
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Quietly moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Think we learnt more of the Cuban revolution here . Very impressive site

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Interesting memorial and mausoleum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had to come here while we were in Santa Clara. We did get a bit confused as we handed in our bags and were told no photo's and then went we wandered over to the memorial everyone had cameras. We had to go back up there to take photo's after we had been in the museum and mausoleum as you couldn't take the cameras in either of those places.

The actual mausoleum was easy to miss as we saw a door with a woman standing at it but weren't sure what it was or it we could go in there to start with. We were also confused as thought that we would have to pay to visit, a woman came up to us with a clipboard but just asked us our nationality before letting us in but we never paid so maybe it was free?

Other reviewers mentioned how busy it was and that there were long queues. We went in December and it was fairly quiet. We didn't have to queue at all and there were no tour buses while we were there.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gross-Bieberau
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Impressive but - not accessible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were unfortunately only able to visit the attraction from outside because once the guards saw the arrival of three tour buses at 11:30 am they quickly declared the mausoleum as temporarily closed until 2 pm - most likely not to spoil their extended lunch break.
Even the bathrooms were locked to avoid usage!
Very poor tourist focus!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

A must see if your in Cuba. A very important part of history which leaves you asking more questions about the country and wanting to learn more and more about the history.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mausoleo del Che Guevara also viewed

Santa Clara, Villa Clara Province
Vinales, Pinar del Rio Province
 

Been to Mausoleo del Che Guevara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mausoleo del Che Guevara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.